If You Make a Mistake in Your Family Tree
Per your requests, we’ve made it easier to remove people from your family tree. This happens just like always: just click the little "x" symbol in the top right corner of the person you’d like to remove. However, since we’ve expanded the rules that determine who can be removed, you’ll be asked to confirm this action. Removals cannot be undone, so be sure you really want to remove the person in question!
Because building a family tree is a collaborative process, there are some cases where you will not be able to remove a person:
- That person has joined Geni and "claimed" their profile
- That person has already been invited to join
- That person has other relatives attached to him or her, who would otherwise be disconnected from the tree.
That third situation can be handled by first deleting the attached relatives, which will then make your target person removable.
Remember that you do not have to remove a person to make a correction to his or her information or location. You can click "edit info" to display a dialog that allows you to change things like the person’s name or gender. By selecting an alternate set of parents on that same dialog, you can also change a person’s location in your family tree.
UPDATE: A number of users have reported that they cannot delete some people in their trees who, according to the rules above, should be deletable. We have identified the problem and are working to fix this issue. Also, we are working to make people deletable even if they have been invited to the tree. Finally, we are working to let users delete any email address. So please standby — you will be able to fix your trees soon!