Geni Pro Just Got a Whole Lot Better
At Geni, our vision is to empower the genealogy community to create the world family tree, the single largest, most accurate, and comprehensive family tree in existence. Thanks to the efforts of our curators and power users, the world family tree is fast approaching 60 million profiles, and is more accurate, better sourced, and has less duplication than ever. And we’re just getting started.
Today, we announce the release of new permissions that are designed to accelerate the growth and improve the quality of the world family tree. Geni Pro subscribers now have full permission to add on to, edit, and merge profiles in the historical parts of the tree. Non-Pros can no longer add new profiles to the historical tree or merge profiles. By making these permissions more consistent, we ensure that anyone who can add a new profile to the historical tree can immediately merge it with any existing duplicates. These changes will benefit all of us as the world family tree continues to get bigger and better.
With this release, there are a few changes to the way search works as well. All users will continue to be able to find their close relatives, profiles they added, and profiles they follow. A Pro subscription is now required to searching through the 110+ million profiles on Geni to find new relatives to add to your tree.
- View and edit permissions have not changed. You can continue to view your close relatives and the entire historical tree, and you can continue to edit your closer relatives and profiles that you’ve added.
- All users can continue to build a family tree of their close relatives for free, and invite their relatives to view and contribute to that tree.
- Pros do not have any additional privileges on private profiles.
If you are interested in trying out these new Pro features, you can sign up for a free, no-risk two-week trial to Geni Pro by logging into your account and clicking here.
The following FAQ answers some of the more common questions about these account changes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will I still be able to edit my data?
Yes, editing permission is not changing. You can still edit all of the profiles that you manage.
I collaborate on a profile, will I still be able to edit?
Yes, editing permission is not changing. You can still edit all of the profiles managed by your collaborators.
Will I be able to export my family tree?
Yes, you can still export your family tree by visiting http://www.geni.com/gedcom while you are logged in to your Geni account.
Do I need to upgrade to Pro to connect to the world family tree?
Yes, only Pro users can merge their tree into the world family tree.
If you have additional concerns, please visit our help site for additional FAQs and help resources.
Note: Comments are now closed for this thread. Please see the most recent post about Geni’s recent changes, A Message From Geni’s CEO.