Tillman H. Erb

Started by Susan Hall on Thursday, December 22, 2011

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Showing all 5 posts
12/22/2011 at 8:15 PM

My name is Susan Hall. I was a student of Mr. Erb's in 1968-69 at the California Youth Authority in Ventura, California. I had been incarcerated for almost three years, first at juvenille hall, then Los Palmas school for girls, and was eventually moved to CYA. My charges for incarceration was "run away" and I was considered a juvenille delinquent and "incorrigible". Tillman H. Erb was one of the most influential persons in my life. I wanted to share with his family my experience with him as a student, and over the years, we became very good friends.

I had completed most of my credits to graduate from high school early. I only needed history credits. I had the opportunity to spend most of my school time in either his class room or his office. Since I had multiple classes with him throughout the day, he allowed me to spend one class with him and all of the other students, and the rest of my class time, I was allowed to spend it in his office reading anything that I wanted that he had in his office. This included books, newspapers, periodicals, and I could also listen to music on his phonograph. My agreement with him was that we would meet individually once a week and discuss what I found to be of interest to me. Everything in his office interested me; my mind was like a sponge, and I read everything I could get my hands on. I listened to classical music and what I remembered most was playing the album of HAIR, the musical. We had amazing discussions about history, politics, political science, theology, philosophy, psychology, literature, poetry and art. I learned more during my time with him then I ever remember learning in all of my years of traditional education. I find myself often repeating to others what he said to me "if you don't understand history, you can't understand the present or contemplate the future".