Hebrew Title

Started by Jack Solomon Berger on Saturday, December 31, 2011

Participants:

Related Projects:

Showing all 14 posts
12/31/2011 at 10:57 AM

Someone should attend to spelling the Hebrew word for 'head' with the aleph that is missing.

Most of us know that the commentator Rashi lived in the Diaspora of Southern France, in the city of Troyes.

12/31/2011 at 5:33 PM

It's the Aramaic I presume, which does not have an aleph in rashei but does in galuta

Exilarch (Hebrew: ראש גלות Rosh Galut, Aramaic: ריש גלותא Reish Galuta lit. "head of the exile", Greek: Æchmalotarcha)

1/1/2012 at 7:52 AM

Not confirmed by any text from the Talmud.

Even if you were right, you need to get the order of the letter correct.

The Arabic is 'Rais,' رأسا, which also takes an Alif, so why should we believe the Aramaic doesn't?

1/1/2012 at 9:18 AM

Yes, I studied Arabic for 19 years and have a PhD in Semitic languages. Thanks.

1/1/2012 at 9:35 AM

On the Aramaic, the word appears in Daniel, so you can check there. Either both Shmuel and Wikipedia made a mistake or it's spelled variably. Since varieties of Aramaic are still spoken / written, it would be interesting to see how they spell "head".

1/1/2012 at 9:49 AM

It's important to remember that Geni has users at many different skill levels. If you look closely you'll find many other spelling variations in this area of the tree, reflecting entries by different users. If you have editing rights to a particular profile, it's best to quietly correct any mistakes you see than to make a fuss.

1/1/2012 at 2:38 PM

Jack Solomon Berger,
I created the "typo" that you refer to. As a native Israeli I can assure you that I know how to spell ראש or ראשי, but as my friends have already pointed out, this isn't Hebrew so much as Aramaic, which I also know reasonably well. I would not be surprised if the Jastro dictionary is still THE leading source, and... he agrees (although he also brings the form רישי).