reducing profiles added and managed

Started by Private User on Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Participants:

Showing all 11 posts
Private User
6/1/2010 at 9:34 PM

HI
Have anyone run into my situation?
The number of the profile I added and Managing is reducing, (not always synchronized which each other), with out me getting any noticed from Geni why and who or by whom.
I asked Geni about it – they wanted that I will supply them the names. With over 5000 profiles- I can not tell them who is missing !!!!.

6/2/2010 at 8:25 AM

Alisa, are you in the process of having your tree merged with the trees of other users? Probably so, or I wouldn't be connected to you...

Whenever a profile is merged, these two counters can also change. Sometimes you become the primary manager and sometime the other manager does. Sometimes you retain status as "Added By". Sometimes they do.

As a general rule, the manager of the merged profile with the more information becomes primary manager. The "Added By" usually goes to the person who added it first.

Private User
6/2/2010 at 10:28 AM

שמואל
תודה

Private User
6/2/2010 at 11:30 AM

p/s
Is there a notification on the profile one loose?

6/2/2010 at 12:10 PM

You don't loose it. You are STILL a manager, just not the first one listed. Some historical profiles have more than 100 managers!

There are only two real differences between the first manager and the rest,
1) by default merge requests are sent to them (but now the merger can pick who to send it to).
2) only the first manager has the profile shown in their merge-issue list.

Private User
6/2/2010 at 2:14 PM

what about the "added" ?
do I get a notice of "loosing" them

6/2/2010 at 2:32 PM

nope. why would you even care?

6/2/2010 at 6:24 PM

Alisa, I'm no expert, but I think when you send an invitation to someone (alive) to view the tree, when they "accept" they also "claim their profile" according to the Geni protocols. Once a living person claims his/her profile, you are no longer the Manager of the profile, but you are still the person who originated the profile on the tree. So the more you successfully involve people by inviting them to the tree, the fewer profiles you will be responsible to manage. In fact, once someone claims their profile, you will no longer be able to change it. Said differently, you "lose" them when you invite them to have a look. If I've got this wrong, I hope the Geni experts will straighten me out. Cheers, Dave//

Private User
6/2/2010 at 10:17 PM

David and Shmuel- thanks.
I am more conserned about the "added" ,
That if I "loose" them, they might be deletted with out me knowing about it..

6/3/2010 at 1:05 AM

Alisa,
I may be wrong, but I THINK that all managers are notified when a profile is deleted.

6/4/2010 at 8:47 AM

Yes you do get informed by Geni.
This is a message I got.
Dear Shloimie Schwartz,

************ has deleted the profile of Leah Chana **********, a profile you manage.
If you'd like to add the profile back, edit your tree:

http://www.geni.com/family-tree

You may also contact ********** via his profile:

http://www.geni.com/people/*************************************************

-The Geni Team

Showing all 11 posts

Create a free account or login to participate in this discussion