Can not Remove some Profiles that I manage???

Started by Private User on Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Participants:

Showing 1-30 of 37 posts
Private User
12/14/2010 at 6:36 PM

Why I Can not "Remove" some Profiles , (that I am the manager ) , from the Tree?
It only let me "move" them.
How can I "remove" these?
Thanks

Private User
12/14/2010 at 10:59 PM

You really need to post the profile ID so we can know what you mean, I think.

Private User
12/14/2010 at 11:15 PM

I don't know how to do that..

Private User
12/14/2010 at 11:15 PM

I don't know how to do that..

Private User
12/14/2010 at 11:19 PM

1. Go to the profile.
2. Highlight the address (URL) in the browser address bar.
3. Select "edit - copy" or CTRL-C. This copies it.
4. Go to this discussion, start a new message.
5. Select "edit - paste" or CTRL-V. This pastes it.

Hope this helps.

Private User
12/14/2010 at 11:41 PM

I see what you mean.
But this does not show the little window which pops up , and the profile is
not my problem. It is the "remove" which I don't see on the pop-up , to remove the person.
Thanks

Private User
12/15/2010 at 12:42 AM

Right -- but unless I can see the profile in question, I can't analyze any possible reason why this might be happening. So if you can post the profile maybe I can help (no promises):) Otherwise I cannot.

Private User
12/15/2010 at 1:06 AM

* If you by remove means delete, just hit the [x] in the top left corner of the profile in the tree-view. You might however have to use the Standard tree layout to get this option. Check your Preferences at the bottom of the tree-view window.

* If you by remove means cutting a connection to another profile(s) you click edit and open the Relationships tab, wait a while and then you get options to cut connections. You have however have to be a Pro user to do this, - if not you can ask a Curator or a Pro collaborator to do that for you.

Private User
12/15/2010 at 7:18 AM

Hi Bjorn,
On tree mode , when hover over profile of a person , a window pops up.

In this window ,some have "remove" in them which give option of removing and deleting it.

But some have "move" and you can not delete that profile.
Thanks

Private User
12/15/2010 at 7:18 AM

Hi Bjorn,
On tree mode , when hover over profile of a person , a window pops up.

In this window ,some have "remove" in them which give option of removing and deleting it.

But some have "move" and you can not delete that profile.
Thanks

Private User
12/15/2010 at 9:13 AM

There is no popups in standard tree view.

Private User
12/15/2010 at 10:21 AM

I have the Pro.
When on tree , profile of a person......where you add photo...edit...remove...etc...
On some which I manage , there is no "remove" and instead there is "move"
I am having difficulty in editing it/deleting , and although I am the manager , I am limited in what I can do.

Private User
12/15/2010 at 12:03 PM

Check your Preferences at the bottom of the tree-view window.

Preferences, Display, Tree layout: Standard, and make sure that "Flip nodes" is unchecked.

Private User
12/15/2010 at 4:28 PM

I did ...Standard , unchecked "Flip node" , still can not see "remove" , I see
"move" , photo ...etc....
Thanks,

Private User
12/15/2010 at 4:29 PM

Do you have any profiles with only "move" option?

Private User
12/16/2010 at 9:13 AM

What are looking for remove?

As I wrote in my first answer: If you by remove means delete, just hit the [x] in the top left corner of the profile in the tree-view.

Private User
12/16/2010 at 9:26 AM

I got it.......Only thing is that I'll have to also delete his kids/wife etc....And may be start all over again inviting him , hopefully he will receive Geni's
invitation e-mail.....because this is the reason I want to delete him.

Private User
12/16/2010 at 10:50 AM

That is a totally different problem and has nothing to do with removal or deletions,- what you need is a way to re-invite him to the tree?

What is the status on his profile?

1) If you have edit-access and there is no email or you can change the email, just enter his email and invite him, or hit the remind button if present and email is correct.

2) If you have edit-access but cannot edit or delete his email he have accepted the invitation but not set a permanent password. Ask him to try to recover his password, - there is an option for that on the login page.

3) If you don't have edit access he have both accepted the invitation and set permanent password. If email is correct he can recover the password. If the email is not valid anymore a close relative (you?) have to ask help@geni.com to change the email or release his profile so you can re-invite him with a correct password.

In any case you could just ask help@geni.com for help to re-invite him.

Private User
12/18/2010 at 5:22 PM

I have e-mail Amanda @ Geni.
Will take a few week for her to reply!!!!!!!
Thanks,

6/3/2013 at 10:18 PM

Just lately I have started having a similar problem with some profiles. There shouldn't be anything preventing me as manager of these profiles from removing them , ie, children, spouse etc that may prevent this unless removed first. The ability to "move" is there but no "remove". It's bizarre. I've tried going into the profile "relationships" section and checking relationships to remove in the hope it may "unlock" the profile however this is not working either, it just goes red and refuses - or tells me it will split the tree. These glitches are really frustrating, as it means things that are known to be incorrect are just stuck there. Are there any other tricks to unlock a profile for removal? Thanks.

Private User
6/3/2013 at 10:54 PM

That is not a glitch, it's a design issue.

Splitting the tree means that you will get "floaters", i.e profiles without any connections and only Pro users and curators can do that.

Try to connect the profiles to correct position before you try to cut them loose. It's wise doing that anyhow to avoid getting profiles just floating around.

6/3/2013 at 11:03 PM

Since it won't allow me to change anything, there's not much I can do about it except move them around which just creates more issues.

6/6/2013 at 11:08 PM

Since I am not getting a solution with this, is there any other method to unlocking or moving unwanted profiles? I don't want things that are incorrect in my tree as it's misleading for all other members.

Private User
6/7/2013 at 12:04 AM

The solution is to become a Pro user or ask a Pro user or curator to help you.

Private User
6/7/2013 at 12:11 AM

Secondly: No access to make changes might be as simple as missing permissions from the profile managers. If not your profile or not within your own family group you need to collaborate with one of the profile managers to be able to cut a connection. You find a request to collaborate in the actions menu of the user profiles.

I did also suggest above that you connect that branch to the new location before trying to cut it loose because such an action does not bring you into the "splitting the tree" situation which require access rights you as a basic user does not have.

6/7/2013 at 12:27 AM

Hi Bjørn, thanks for the answers.
What I keep saying is, nobody else is a manager of these profiles except for me so there should not be an issue, no "missing permissions" are possible. I've had situation where this problem has happened where it appears someone else is suddenly managing the profile I've added - ergo I cannot edit or remove them. In an instance when the person has been dead for decades and doesn't exist they cannot possibly be suddenly managing their profile, if you get my drift. So I would call that a "glitch". Either that or someone has come back from the dead...I wasn't aware we were that advanced scientifically yet!

6/7/2013 at 12:29 AM

I have managed to in the past recreated a profile at a new location and then merge the incorrect one onto it, making it editable and solving the problem - removal if necessary. In these instances that solution will not work as I have tried that trick.

Private User
6/7/2013 at 1:14 AM

As I said: You are not a Pro/Paying user, - some advantages must Pro users have compare to basic users. I would call that design, not a glitch ;-)

Anyhow: Geni is based on collaboration, and if you have a collaborator which is a Pro user he/she can help you.

Curators like me can also help you if you tell in details what you want to get fixed.

6/7/2013 at 4:07 AM

Hi Bjørn, thanks for the answer. Likewise I only call something a "design" if it has been consciously created by design.

6/12/2013 at 2:30 AM

Thankyou, this problem is now resolved with assistance from Nathan Luke Cowdrey and Erica Howton.

Showing 1-30 of 37 posts

Create a free account or login to participate in this discussion