Daniel Brainerd (1641 - 1715) MP

‹ Back to Brainerd surname

Is your surname Brainerd?

Research the Brainerd family

Deacon Daniel Brainerd's Geni Profile

Share your family tree and photos with the people you know and love

  • Build your family tree online
  • Share photos and videos
  • Smart Matching™ technology
  • Free!

Share

Nicknames: "Brainard"
Birthplace: Braintree, Essex, England
Death: Died in Haddam, New London County, Connecticut Colony
Managed by: Jocelynn Elaine Oakes
Last Updated:

About Daniel Brainerd

New England families, genealogical and memorial: a record of the ..., Volume 1 p 72

edited by William Richard Cutter

Daniel Brainerd, father of Elijah Brainerd, and the immigrant ancestor, was born probably at Braintree, county Essex, England, about 1641, and was brought to this country when about eight years old and lived with the Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connecticut. He remained there until 1662, when with others he took up land and made Haddam his permanent home, although at that time it was an unbroken wilderness. His children were baptized in the Middletown church, eight miles from home. He married (first) Hannah Spencer, born about 1641, at Lynn, Massachusetts, daughter of Gerrard and Hannah Spencer, of Cambridge and Lynn, Massachusetts, and Haddam, Connecticut. She died about 1691. Daniel Brainerd married (second) March 30, 1693, Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Wakeman, both natives of England. Samuel Wakeman died at the Bahama Islands in 1641. Daniel Brainerd married (third) November 29, 1698, Hannah (Spencer) Sexton, born April 25, 1653, daughter of Thomas and Sarah Spencer, and widow of George Sexton. Deacon Daniel Brainerd died April i, 1715, and is buried in the old burial ground at Haddam. His home was on Lot No. 554 and was bounded west by the main street, north by land of John Bailey, east by the river and south by Joseph Stannard's place. Deacon Brainerd was • constable, surveyor, fence viewer, assessor, justice of the peace and on town committees to lay out land, etc.. deputy to the general assembly in Hartford and he was elected by that body in 1669 a commissioner. He was deacon of the old church at Haddam. Children by first wife: Daniel, born March 2. 1665-66; Hannah, November 20, 1667; James. June 2, 1669: Joshua, July 20, 1671-72; William, March 30, 167374; Caleb, November 20, 1675-76; Elijah, about 1677-78; Hezekiah, May 24, 1680-81.

--------------------

Progenitor of nearly all who bear the name of Brainerd. He was brought to New England when about 8 years old and lived with with Wadsworth family in Hartford, remaining there until 1662 when, with others, he took up land and made Haddam, Connecticut his permanent home, where was then the stillness of the unbroken wilderness. He and the others had to fell trees for their houses.

His eight children were born in Middletown, about 8 miles away, before permission was granted to the citizens of Haddam by the General Court of Connecticut to build a church. Deacon Daniel Brainerd died in 1715; he is buried in the ancient burying ground in Haddam, a few rods east of the Courthouse. His home is town plot No. 5 1/2 and bounded on the west by Main Street, north by John Bailie, east by the river and south by Joseph Stannard. Home lot was 4 acres. He held many public offices of the day.

A Brief History of Haddam

   Early Settlement Map1845 MapClick on map for larger image
   (91k)Click on map for larger image
   (194k)The Town of Haddam is located in Middlesex County, in the south-central part of Connecticut in the lower Connecticut River Valley. Middletown and East Hampton border the town to the north, East Haddam to the east, Chester and Killingworth to the south, and Killingworth and Durham to the west. With approximately 7,200 residents (2000 census) the town covers 46.7 square miles. Haddam has the distinction of being the only town in the state of Connecticut that is bisected by the Connecticut River, with residents on both sides; Haddam and Higganum are on the west side and Haddam Neck is on the east side.
   Plantation at Thirty Mile Island
   In 1660 the Connecticut Colonial Legislature sent Matthew Allyn and Samuel Willys down the Connecticut River from Hartford to purchase land from the Wangunk Indian Tribe at the place the English called 'Land of Thirty Mile Island'. The island, now known as Haddam Island was thought to be thirty miles from the mouth of the "Grate River" at Long Island Sound (it is only 17 miles from the mouth of river). In May 1662 the Englishmen finally purchased land comprising approximately 104 square miles and extending in six miles on each side of the river from the straits at "Pattyquonck" (now Chester) to the Mattabeseck-Mill River (now Middletown) across to the line of Chatham (now East Hampton). The English paid 30 coats (worth approximately $100) for the land from four Native American chiefs, two queens and others. The Native Americans did set aside some property for their own use including 40 acres at Cove Meadow (Chester) and Haddam Island as well reserving the right to hunt and fish where they pleased.
   The first settlers were twenty-eight men and their families from Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor:
   Nicholas & Mariam (Moore) AckleyJohn & Martha (Steele) HannisonJoseph & Elizabeth (Wakeman) ArnoldRichard & Elizabeth (Carpenter) JonesJames & Hannah (Withington) BatesStephen Luxford (No Wife Listed)John & Lydia (Backus) BaileyJohn Parents (No Wife Listed)Daniel & Hannah (Spencer) BrainerdThomas & Alice (Spencer) ShaylerThomas & Alice (Spencer) BrooksSimon & Elizabeth (Wells) SmithSamuel & Elizabeth (Olmsted) ButlerThomas Smith (No Wife Listed)William & Katherine (Bunce) ClarkGerrard & Hannah (Hills) SpencerDaniel & Rebecca (Spencer) ConeJohn & Rebecca (Howard) SpencerWilliam Corby (No Wife Listed)Joseph & Elizabeth (Spencer) StannardAbraham & Lydia (Tefft) DibbleWilliam & Elizabeth (No Maiden Name Listed) VentresSamuel & Anna (Burnham) GainesJohn & Hannah (No Maiden Name Listed) WebbGeorge & Sarah (Olmstead GatesJames & Elizabeth (Clark) WellsJohn & Mary (Bronson) Wyatt
   Originally there were two small settlements on the west bank of the river, the Town Plot was laid out along the southern end of what is presently Walkley Hill Road and extended to the old burying ground (Burial Yard at Thirty Mile Island Plantation) and the Lower Plantation was settled south of the Mill Creek in the area now known as Shailerville. Each proprietor was given a home lot and land for farming. There was also land set aside for a meetinghouse and ministers lot. In October 1668 town was incorporated and given the name Haddam after Much Hadham in England. Haddam had very little tillable agricultural land and the best farming land was located along the river. Early residents utilized all of the natural resources available to them including water, fish, timber and granite in order to survive. The Connecticut River was a major source of income and transportation for the first 200 years of the town existence. Shipyards were built along the river, while many other small tributaries provided waterpower for mills and eventually factories.
   In 1685 a group of residents moved across the river to settle East Haddam including the Gates, Ackley and Bates families. In 1700 East Haddam formed their own ecclesiastical society and became a separate town in 1734. Haddam Neck, which is also located on the east side of the river, was settled around 1712 but remained a part of Haddam and continues so today.
   By 1720 the population of Haddam had grown to 500 and continued to grow steadily, forcing new settlers and younger generations to expand inland to the less fertile areas. Families that came to Haddam in the late 17th century included Walkley, Scovil, Dickinson, Hubbard, Hazelton, Higgins, Knowles, Lewis, Ray, Thomas, Tyler, Burr and Smith, some of which settled in the interior portions of town including Ponsett, Candlewood Hill, Little City, Burr and Turkey Hill.
   During the Revolutionary War Haddam men served in the local militia and many citizens participated in privateering, the state sanctioned practice of capturing enemy ships. Privateering gave United State ships permission to capture British ships to cut off their supply lines and furnish our Navy with needed vessels and supplies. Once a ship was captured, it was brought to the nearest friendly port where the ship owner, captain and crew all benefited financially from the seized cargo. It is recorded that in 1779 two British ships, the York and Tryon were captured on the Connecticut River by Haddam made ships captained by Simon Tyler and Samuel Shaylor. Haddam, like many other Connecticut towns, served as a provisionary town during the war supplying troops with food including fish, beef and pork. During the winter of 1778 the horses of Washington's dragoons (cavalry) were housed in Haddam and Durham, which seriously depleted the residents' stock of hay and feed. The following year residents protested and the dragoons were moved to Colchester.
   After the Revolution many of the town's local farmers were left with farms that were so small in acreage that they were no longer profitable. Because it was common practice for the family farm to be split off to form homesteads for sons, there was a marked decrease in the size of farms in town. As a result of this land shortage, many of the descendants of local farming families emigrated west to places such as New York and Ohio. Despite the land shortage, there was a brief building boom in Haddam after the Revolution. Trade and industry grew and those families involved in local industry built large and ornate homes. Middlesex Turnpike opened in 1802 and as the main road from Saybrook to Hartford it ran directly through the center of Haddam Village. This allowed for easier communication and commercial growth for the town.
   Churches: For the first hundred years the Congregational Church was the only organized church in town and the first meetinghouse was erected in 1673-74. Haddam Neck residents joined with Middle Haddam residents to form their own ecclesiastical society in 1740 and the Higganum Congregational Church was formed in 1844. In 1791 the Methodists began to meet in the western part of town and a Methodist Church stood in the Burr District for a number of years. In 1792 a Baptist Congregation was formed and it erected a church in the Shailerville section of town. The Rev. William C. Knowles started the Episcopal Church in the Ponsett section of town in 1861 and the present St. James's Episcopal Church was erected in 1871-73. In 1756 a small group of Catholics settled here but unable to find a priest they returned to Nova Scotia. In 1876 the first mass of local Catholics was held in a private home and a year later Mission Church of St. Peter was erected in Higganum.
   Higganum Union SchoolSchools: The first record of schools was in 1750 when Nathaniel Spencer, John Ventres and Thomas Brooks were tapped to sit on the school board. Residents paid the schoolmaster for teaching all the male children between 5 and 12 and females between 5 and 7 whether they attended school or not. Early lessons were held in private homes and by 1728 a school was erected near the old burying ground. In 1732 the town voted that lessons would be taught at the schoolhouse for 3 to 5 months of the year and for the remaining part of the year the teacher would travel to outlying districts. Men taught classes in the winter and women taught in the summer months. By 1814 thirteen school districts had been established in town. Each district erected a small (many one-room) schoolhouse to serve area students. District schoolhouses remained in use until the early 20th century. In the mid-19th century Higganum village's population warranted that a new larger schoolhouse be built. This two-story schoolhouse, which still stands on the south side of Candlewood Hill Road, was known as the "Green School". This building once stood on the Higganum Green and was replaced in 1894 by the Higganum Union School, which was used until 1948. In 1948 Haddam Elementary was erected on the east side of Saybrook Road and currently houses grades 1 through 6. The Haddam Junior High School (now HK Middle School) was completed in 1960 and in 1970 the town erected a second elementary school off Killingworth Road in the Burr District. Haddam and Killingworth became Regional School District #17 in 1970s and the High School was built on the same campus as the Junior High and completed by 1978.
   Civil War: During the Civil War Haddam sent 90 men of service age to join Connecticut Regiments and 23 perished. Most local men served with Company D of the 20th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry and Company A of the 24th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. General Alexander Shailer, a Union general who lead his regiment in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac was a native of Haddam.
   Haddam Center. In 1785 Middlesex County was created from towns from Hartford and New London counties and Haddam and Middletown were selected to share the county seat, an arrangement that lasted over 100 years. As a half-shire town Haddam Village grew as the commercial and institutional center of town. Haddam became a regional center with a county courthouse located in the heart of town and a jailhouse not too far away. The granite jailhouse is one of the town's most impressive structures and continued to be used as a jail until the mid 20th century. Court trials during this era were a form of public entertainment and the presence of a courthouse and jail brought judges, lawyers and visitors to Haddam's center, a great boost for the economy. Roger Sherman and John Trumbull were among the notable lawyers who worked at the Haddam Court. During much of the 19th century Haddam village was a bustling community and institutional center of town. Shipbuilding was done on a small scale and the granite quarries became a prominent business in the 1800's supplying curb and building stone to New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia. The county court left Haddam in the 1880's and the industrialization of Higganum to the north drew much of the commercial business from the village. Steamboat traffic replaced carriages as the primary means of traveling north and south and the Middlesex Turnpike declined as a major thoroughfare. Following the steamboat was the Connecticut Valley Railroad in 1871, which provided an easy and quick route from Old Saybrook to Hartford that bypassed local businesses.
   With the invention of the automobile, the old Middlesex Turnpike saw an increase in traffic again and small roadside eateries and shops opened to cater to travelers. The village of Haddam remained the institutional center of town with the town hall, library, county orphanage and jail onto the 20th century.
   Sources for Haddam History:

--------------------

BRAINARD-BRAINERD-BRAYNARD FAMILY

This website is dedicated to preserving the genealogical history of all Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard family members world-wide. The family has only one immigrant ancestor--Daniel Braynerd/Braynard/Brainerd--who came from England to Connecticut in 1649 as a lad of eight or nine years of age.The name, in its variant spellings, does not exist in England, and may have been spelled very differently. We must remember most people could not read, write or spell, and local dialects sounded quite different to outsiders.

Daniel grew up in Hartford, most likely in the home of William Wadsworth, as an indentured servant, or apprentice. At age twenty-one, he relocated to Haddam, CT, prospered, and married Hannah Spencer. They had eight children--Daniel, Hannah, James, Joshua, William, Caleb, Elijah and Hezekiah.

In addition to all who have received the family name by birthright, many have received the name through adoption, marriage, or other reason. Some were bestowed the name at the time of their immigration into the United States, as a stage name, as the mother's birth name, or by missionaries in their country of origin.

The Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard family genealogy has been recorded in numerous publications since the late 1700's. It was first compiled in writing by a Rev. Elijah Brainerd. This so-called "Brainerd Manuscript" is kept in the archives of the New England Historical & Genealogical Society in Boston, MA. It is written very simply on 6-inch by 3-inch sheets of paper, and contains a listing of Daniel and his children. The cover is titled "A Genealogical Synopsis of the Brainerds." It is dated 20 January 1786.

In the "Brainerd Family Genealogy" loose files in the library of the Connecticut Historical Society in Hartford, CT, is a four-page letter from an Elijah Brainerd to Rev. David Dudley Field, dated 6 Dec. 1813, which lists an additional two generations of some family members. A somewhat complete family genealogy was compiled by Rev. David Dudley Field, titled The Genealogy of the BRAINERD FAMILY in the United States, and was published in New York by John F. Trow, Printer, in 1857. However, many families were left out, as they were not members of the church, did not contribute (financially or otherwise) to the effort, or had moved beyond contact into the wilderness.

A very comprehensive family genealogy was researched and compiled between 1880 and 1907 by Lucy Abigail Brainard (53iii. Daniel[2] line). It is The Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America, 1649-1908 , in three volumes, published by the Hartford Press of the Case, Lockwood & Brainard Company, Hartford, CT, in 1908. It was later printed in seven separate volumes--one for each son.

A Supplement to the Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America was compiled from 1985 to 1990, and privately published by Richard David Brainard, Portland, OR, in 1990. This was followed by a two volume 1990 Update to The Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America, 1649-1908, also privately published by Richard David Brainard, Portland, OR, in 1990.

A Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard Family Newsletter has been published quarterly since 1991 by Richard David Brainard. It includes current and historical information, as well as current births, marriages, and obituaries, as provided to the editor by family members. A subscription is $15 per calendar year, from Richard Brainard, 813 SW Alder St. #700, Portland, OR 97205.

Mr. Brainard acts as the family genealogical historian, keeping lineages up to date as information is received from family members. In addition to the mailing address above, he can be reached at 503-243-2652, or by email at dickbrainard@qwest.net.

http://www.palhbooks.com/danielhistory.html

Additional information about this story

Description Information on the history of Brainerd family - complete with website. Incuded are pictures of gravestone and letters written to England to try to ascertain lineage of Deacon Daniel Brainerd

Date

Location

Family Origins.com

Daniel BRAINARD was born in 1641 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1072)(1073) He Stolen as a child about 1649 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1074) When Daniel was 8 years old, he was stolen and brought to America where he was sold as an indentured servant to a farmer Wadsworth in Hartford "to be learned to read and write and at the time of his freedom when twenty-one years old to be given two suits of clothes." Daniel served 13 years for Wadsworth until he was freed in 1662 at age 21 whereupon he moved to Haddam. He moved in 1662 to Haddam, Hartford, CT.(1075) He died on 1 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT. (1076) He left, according to his inventory, £834 on 19 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT.(1077) He was a merchant.(1078)


http://www.familyorigins.com/users/b/l/o/Peter-E-Blood /FAMO5-0001/d8.htm#P2889

Personal note from family research: Daniel Brainard was one of the first people in the Haddam, Connecticut. He was a surveyor there who helped establish the township and became a well- respected town leader.

Brainerd Biography
  According to Lucy Abigail Brainard, Daniel Brainerd arrived in Hartford, Connecticut in or about the year 1649 at or around the age of eight. Unfortunately, there is no documentation to support this or the widely accepted belief that Daniel was from Braintree, England. There are a few family stories concerning Daniel's arrival at such a young age. One, that he was kidnapped from England and sold for his passage to the Wadsworth family of Hartford. Daniel was to live with and work for the Wadsworths until he reached the age of 21. Another version has it that Daniel's parents sent him to America due to unrest in England. We may never know the true story of his early years, but at the age of twenty one, Daniel would begin to forge a history that would still be known 10 generations later. 

   In 1662, Daniel, along with 27 other men settled in an area now known as Haddam, Connecticut. Daniel's first home was reported to have been a cave. Soon, however Daniel became the largest land owner and one of the most influential men in Haddam, serving as constable, deacon, town assessor, justice of the peace, surveyer, plotter of land and roads, along with other offices. Daniel was also appointed Commisioner to the General Assembly in Hartford. 

   Visiting the Haddam area today, one could view the Brainerd Family burial plot where Daniel is buried, the Brainerd Memorial Library, Brainerd Hall and the plaque honoring the Original Proprietors of Haddam, to name a few of the Brainerd family historical sites. 

   In 1663-4 Daniel married Hannah Spencer, of Lynn, MA. From that marriage eight children were born and the Brainerd family roots began to take hold in America.

Additional information about this story

Description From the Brainard-Brainard Website. http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~brainerd/

Date

Location

Daniel Brainerd and wives

Daniel Brainerd was probably born in Braintree, Essex Co., England about 1641. He was brought to the American colonies about 1649, when he was eight years old, and sold into indenture to pay for his passage to America. He lived with the Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connecticut, until about 1662 when he moved to Haddam, Connecticut, where he remained the rest of his life. Daniel Brainerd died 1 April 1715 at 74 years of age. He is buried at the old cemetery at Haddam, near the court house.

He served as ".... constable, surveyor, fence viewer, town assessor, collector, and justice of the peace, and with others was one appointed to stake out land and to lay out highways. He was elected Commissioner by the General Court in Hartford, Conn., in 1669. .... He was one of a committee to secure a minister, 1 January 1682, and was elected deacon of the Congregational Church in that place, serving in that capacity through life.

Daniel Brainerd owned a four acre lot in the town of Haddam. This lot (No. 5 1/2) was east of main street, south of John Bailie's lot, west of the Connecticut River and north of Joseph Stannard's lot.

An inventory of the estate of Daniel Brainerd was made on 18-19 April 1715. Included in the inventory was a great deal of land, livestock, furniture, tools, horns, needles, flints, lead, powder, nails, buttons, pad locks with keys, candlesticks, posts, seed, books, barrels, feather beds, curtains, towels, table cloths, blankets and a variety of other items.

In 1663 or 1664 Daniel Brainerd married Hannah Spencer. She was born in about 1641 in Lynn, Massachusetts and died some time around 1691 in Haddam, Connecticut. . The eight children of Hannah Spencer and Daniel Brainerd were all baptized in Middletown, Connecticut, since there was no church in Haddam at that time.

On 30 March 1693, Daniel Brainerd married Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold. Her parents were Samuel (who died in the Bahamas, West Indies, in 1641) and Elizabeth Wakeman of England. She was the widow of Joseph Arnold.

On 29 November 1698, Daniel Brainerd married Hannah (Spencer) Sexton. She was born 25 April 1653. Her parents were Thomas Spencer and Sarah Bearding. She was the widow of George Sexton.

Additional information about this story

Description

Date

Location

First Settlers of Haddam

1st Settlers of Haddam Conn.

Added by DeniseKlein700 on 20 Jan 2008

A Brief History of Haddam

Early Settlement Map1845 MapClick on map for larger image

(91k)Click on map for larger image

(194k)The Town of Haddam is located in Middlesex County, in the south-central part of Connecticut in the lower Connecticut River Valley. Middletown and East Hampton border the town to the north, East Haddam to the east, Chester and Killingworth to the south, and Killingworth and Durham to the west. With approximately 7,200 residents (2000 census) the town covers 46.7 square miles. Haddam has the distinction of being the only town in the state of Connecticut that is bisected by the Connecticut River, with residents on both sides; Haddam and Higganum are on the west side and Haddam Neck is on the east side.

Plantation at Thirty Mile Island

In 1660 the Connecticut Colonial Legislature sent Matthew Allyn and Samuel Willys down the Connecticut River from Hartford to purchase land from the Wangunk Indian Tribe at the place the English called 'Land of Thirty Mile Island'. The island, now known as Haddam Island was thought to be thirty miles from the mouth of the "Grate River" at Long Island Sound (it is only 17 miles from the mouth of river). In May 1662 the Englishmen finally purchased land comprising approximately 104 square miles and extending in six miles on each side of the river from the straits at "Pattyquonck" (now Chester) to the Mattabeseck-Mill River (now Middletown) across to the line of Chatham (now East Hampton). The English paid 30 coats (worth approximately $100) for the land from four Native American chiefs, two queens and others. The Native Americans did set aside some property for their own use including 40 acres at Cove Meadow (Chester) and Haddam Island as well reserving the right to hunt and fish where they pleased.

The first settlers were twenty-eight men and their families from Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor:

Nicholas & Mariam (Moore) AckleyJohn & Martha (Steele) HannisonJoseph & Elizabeth (Wakeman) ArnoldRichard & Elizabeth (Carpenter) JonesJames & Hannah (Withington) BatesStephen Luxford (No Wife Listed)John & Lydia (Backus) BaileyJohn Parents (No Wife Listed)Daniel & Hannah (Spencer) BrainerdThomas & Alice (Spencer) ShaylerThomas & Alice (Spencer) BrooksSimon & Elizabeth (Wells) SmithSamuel & Elizabeth (Olmsted) ButlerThomas Smith (No Wife Listed)William & Katherine (Bunce) ClarkGerrard & Hannah (Hills) SpencerDaniel & Rebecca (Spencer) ConeJohn & Rebecca (Howard) SpencerWilliam Corby (No Wife Listed)Joseph & Elizabeth (Spencer) StannardAbraham & Lydia (Tefft) DibbleWilliam & Elizabeth (No Maiden Name Listed) VentresSamuel & Anna (Burnham) GainesJohn & Hannah (No Maiden Name Listed) WebbGeorge & Sarah (Olmstead GatesJames & Elizabeth (Clark) WellsJohn & Mary (Bronson) Wyatt

Originally there were two small settlements on the west bank of the river, the Town Plot was laid out along the southern end of what is presently Walkley Hill Road and extended to the old burying ground (Burial Yard at Thirty Mile Island Plantation) and the Lower Plantation was settled south of the Mill Creek in the area now known as Shailerville. Each proprietor was given a home lot and land for farming. There was also land set aside for a meetinghouse and ministers lot. In October 1668 town was incorporated and given the name Haddam after Much Hadham in England. Haddam had very little tillable agricultural land and the best farming land was located along the river. Early residents utilized all of the natural resources available to them including water, fish, timber and granite in order to survive. The Connecticut River was a major source of income and transportation for the first 200 years of the town existence. Shipyards were built along the river, while many other small tributaries provided waterpower for mills and eventually factories.

In 1685 a group of residents moved across the river to settle East Haddam including the Gates, Ackley and Bates families. In 1700 East Haddam formed their own ecclesiastical society and became a separate town in 1734. Haddam Neck, which is also located on the east side of the river, was settled around 1712 but remained a part of Haddam and continues so today.

By 1720 the population of Haddam had grown to 500 and continued to grow steadily, forcing new settlers and younger generations to expand inland to the less fertile areas. Families that came to Haddam in the late 17th century included Walkley, Scovil, Dickinson, Hubbard, Hazelton, Higgins, Knowles, Lewis, Ray, Thomas, Tyler, Burr and Smith, some of which settled in the interior portions of town including Ponsett, Candlewood Hill, Little City, Burr and Turkey Hill.

During the Revolutionary War Haddam men served in the local militia and many citizens participated in privateering, the state sanctioned practice of capturing enemy ships. Privateering gave United State ships permission to capture British ships to cut off their supply lines and furnish our Navy with needed vessels and supplies. Once a ship was captured, it was brought to the nearest friendly port where the ship owner, captain and crew all benefited financially from the seized cargo. It is recorded that in 1779 two British ships, the York and Tryon were captured on the Connecticut River by Haddam made ships captained by Simon Tyler and Samuel Shaylor. Haddam, like many other Connecticut towns, served as a provisionary town during the war supplying troops with food including fish, beef and pork. During the winter of 1778 the horses of Washington's dragoons (cavalry) were housed in Haddam and Durham, which seriously depleted the residents' stock of hay and feed. The following year residents protested and the dragoons were moved to Colchester.

After the Revolution many of the town's local farmers were left with farms that were so small in acreage that they were no longer profitable. Because it was common practice for the family farm to be split off to form homesteads for sons, there was a marked decrease in the size of farms in town. As a result of this land shortage, many of the descendants of local farming families emigrated west to places such as New York and Ohio. Despite the land shortage, there was a brief building boom in Haddam after the Revolution. Trade and industry grew and those families involved in local industry built large and ornate homes. Middlesex Turnpike opened in 1802 and as the main road from Saybrook to Hartford it ran directly through the center of Haddam Village. This allowed for easier communication and commercial growth for the town.

Churches: For the first hundred years the Congregational Church was the only organized church in town and the first meetinghouse was erected in 1673-74. Haddam Neck residents joined with Middle Haddam residents to form their own ecclesiastical society in 1740 and the Higganum Congregational Church was formed in 1844. In 1791 the Methodists began to meet in the western part of town and a Methodist Church stood in the Burr District for a number of years. In 1792 a Baptist Congregation was formed and it erected a church in the Shailerville section of town. The Rev. William C. Knowles started the Episcopal Church in the Ponsett section of town in 1861 and the present St. James's Episcopal Church was erected in 1871-73. In 1756 a small group of Catholics settled here but unable to find a priest they returned to Nova Scotia. In 1876 the first mass of local Catholics was held in a private home and a year later Mission Church of St. Peter was erected in Higganum.

Higganum Union SchoolSchools: The first record of schools was in 1750 when Nathaniel Spencer, John Ventres and Thomas Brooks were tapped to sit on the school board. Residents paid the schoolmaster for teaching all the male children between 5 and 12 and females between 5 and 7 whether they attended school or not. Early lessons were held in private homes and by 1728 a school was erected near the old burying ground. In 1732 the town voted that lessons would be taught at the schoolhouse for 3 to 5 months of the year and for the remaining part of the year the teacher would travel to outlying districts. Men taught classes in the winter and women taught in the summer months. By 1814 thirteen school districts had been established in town. Each district erected a small (many one-room) schoolhouse to serve area students. District schoolhouses remained in use until the early 20th century. In the mid-19th century Higganum village's population warranted that a new larger schoolhouse be built. This two-story schoolhouse, which still stands on the south side of Candlewood Hill Road, was known as the "Green School". This building once stood on the Higganum Green and was replaced in 1894 by the Higganum Union School, which was used until 1948. In 1948 Haddam Elementary was erected on the east side of Saybrook Road and currently houses grades 1 through 6. The Haddam Junior High School (now HK Middle School) was completed in 1960 and in 1970 the town erected a second elementary school off Killingworth Road in the Burr District. Haddam and Killingworth became Regional School District #17 in 1970s and the High School was built on the same campus as the Junior High and completed by 1978.

Civil War: During the Civil War Haddam sent 90 men of service age to join Connecticut Regiments and 23 perished. Most local men served with Company D of the 20th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry and Company A of the 24th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. General Alexander Shailer, a Union general who lead his regiment in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac was a native of Haddam.

Haddam Center. In 1785 Middlesex County was created from towns from Hartford and New London counties and Haddam and Middletown were selected to share the county seat, an arrangement that lasted over 100 years. As a half-shire town Haddam Village grew as the commercial and institutional center of town. Haddam became a regional center with a county courthouse located in the heart of town and a jailhouse not too far away. The granite jailhouse is one of the town's most impressive structures and continued to be used as a jail until the mid 20th century. Court trials during this era were a form of public entertainment and the presence of a courthouse and jail brought judges, lawyers and visitors to Haddam's center, a great boost for the economy. Roger Sherman and John Trumbull were among the notable lawyers who worked at the Haddam Court. During much of the 19th century Haddam village was a bustling community and institutional center of town. Shipbuilding was done on a small scale and the granite quarries became a prominent business in the 1800's supplying curb and building stone to New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia. The county court left Haddam in the 1880's and the industrialization of Higganum to the north drew much of the commercial business from the village. Steamboat traffic replaced carriages as the primary means of traveling north and south and the Middlesex Turnpike declined as a major thoroughfare. Following the steamboat was the Connecticut Valley Railroad in 1871, which provided an easy and quick route from Old Saybrook to Hartford that bypassed local businesses.

With the invention of the automobile, the old Middlesex Turnpike saw an increase in traffic again and small roadside eateries and shops opened to cater to travelers. The village of Haddam remained the institutional center of town with the town hall, library, county orphanage and jail onto the 20th century.

Sources for Haddam History:

Additional information about this storyDescriptionWEBSITE: http://www.haddamhistory.org/history_haddam.htm

Additional information about this story

Description

Date

Location -------------------- Orphaned in England, he came to America to live with the Wadsworth Family from the time he was eight years until adulthood. From the "Dictionary of the Heads of New England Families" Brainerd or Brainard: Place name, originally spelled Brandewood or Brandewode. Tradition says, the family came from Braine in France; the family founded in England 1350. Daniel b. Braintree, England, 1641, lived as early as 1649 with Wadworth Family at Hartford, CT; removed to Haddam, CT, prior to 1665. ***From the application of Katharine Arnold Nettleton to the Sons and Daughters of the Pilgrims: Services: Constable, Surveyor, Town Assessor, Justice of the Peace, 1669; Commissoner to General Court; Deputy to General Court and Deacon. Source: NEHGR Oct 1941, #95, p: 352 Daniel Brainerd, a native of England, who as a lad of eight years, was brought to Haddam, CT, in 1649, was a proprietor of Haddam, CT, where he settled about 1662, served as justice of the peace, deacon, town assessor, constable, surveyor, collector, and a deputy in the General Court, married first Hannah Spencer, daughter of Gerard Spencer. Daniels' 3rd wife, Hannah was the daughter of Sgt Thomas Spencer, 1607-1687. Daniel Brainerd was the co-admin. of Gerard's estate along with Willima Spencer -------------------- New England families, genealogical and memorial: a record of the ..., Volume 1 p 72

edited by William Richard Cutter Daniel Brainerd, father of Elijah Brainerd, and the immigrant ancestor, was born probably at Braintree, county Essex, England, about 1641, and was brought to this country when about eight years old and lived with the Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connecticut. He remained there until 1662, when with others he took up land and made Haddam his permanent home, although at that time it was an unbroken wilderness. His children were baptized in the Middletown church, eight miles from home. He married (first) Hannah Spencer, born about 1641, at Lynn, Massachusetts, daughter of Gerrard and Hannah Spencer, of Cambridge and Lynn, Massachusetts, and Haddam, Connecticut. She died about 1691. Daniel Brainerd married (second) March 30, 1693, Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Wakeman, both natives of England. Samuel Wakeman died at the Bahama Islands in 1641. Daniel Brainerd married (third) November 29, 1698, Hannah (Spencer) Sexton, born April 25, 1653, daughter of Thomas and Sarah Spencer, and widow of George Sexton. Deacon Daniel Brainerd died April i, 1715, and is buried in the old burial ground at Haddam. His home was on Lot No. 554 and was bounded west by the main street, north by land of John Bailey, east by the river and south by Joseph Stannard's place. Deacon Brainerd was • constable, surveyor, fence viewer, assessor, justice of the peace and on town committees to lay out land, etc.. deputy to the general assembly in Hartford and he was elected by that body in 1669 a commissioner. He was deacon of the old church at Haddam. Children by first wife: Daniel, born March 2. 1665-66; Hannah, November 20, 1667; James. June 2, 1669: Joshua, July 20, 1671-72; William, March 30, 167374; Caleb, November 20, 1675-76; Elijah, about 1677-78; Hezekiah, May 24, 1680-81.

--------------------

Progenitor of nearly all who bear the name of Brainerd. He was brought to New England when about 8 years old and lived with with Wadsworth family in Hartford, remaining there until 1662 when, with others, he took up land and made Haddam, Connecticut his permanent home, where was then the stillness of the unbroken wilderness. He and the others had to fell trees for their houses.

His eight children were born in Middletown, about 8 miles away, before permission was granted to the citizens of Haddam by the General Court of Connecticut to build a church. Deacon Daniel Brainerd died in 1715; he is buried in the ancient burying ground in Haddam, a few rods east of the Courthouse. His home is town plot No. 5 1/2 and bounded on the west by Main Street, north by John Bailie, east by the river and south by Joseph Stannard. Home lot was 4 acres. He held many public offices of the day.

A Brief History of Haddam

Early Settlement Map1845 MapClick on map for larger image (91k)Click on map for larger image (194k)The Town of Haddam is located in Middlesex County, in the south-central part of Connecticut in the lower Connecticut River Valley. Middletown and East Hampton border the town to the north, East Haddam to the east, Chester and Killingworth to the south, and Killingworth and Durham to the west. With approximately 7,200 residents (2000 census) the town covers 46.7 square miles. Haddam has the distinction of being the only town in the state of Connecticut that is bisected by the Connecticut River, with residents on both sides; Haddam and Higganum are on the west side and Haddam Neck is on the east side. Plantation at Thirty Mile Island In 1660 the Connecticut Colonial Legislature sent Matthew Allyn and Samuel Willys down the Connecticut River from Hartford to purchase land from the Wangunk Indian Tribe at the place the English called 'Land of Thirty Mile Island'. The island, now known as Haddam Island was thought to be thirty miles from the mouth of the "Grate River" at Long Island Sound (it is only 17 miles from the mouth of river). In May 1662 the Englishmen finally purchased land comprising approximately 104 square miles and extending in six miles on each side of the river from the straits at "Pattyquonck" (now Chester) to the Mattabeseck-Mill River (now Middletown) across to the line of Chatham (now East Hampton). The English paid 30 coats (worth approximately $100) for the land from four Native American chiefs, two queens and others. The Native Americans did set aside some property for their own use including 40 acres at Cove Meadow (Chester) and Haddam Island as well reserving the right to hunt and fish where they pleased. The first settlers were twenty-eight men and their families from Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor: Nicholas & Mariam (Moore) AckleyJohn & Martha (Steele) HannisonJoseph & Elizabeth (Wakeman) ArnoldRichard & Elizabeth (Carpenter) JonesJames & Hannah (Withington) BatesStephen Luxford (No Wife Listed)John & Lydia (Backus) BaileyJohn Parents (No Wife Listed)Daniel & Hannah (Spencer) BrainerdThomas & Alice (Spencer) ShaylerThomas & Alice (Spencer) BrooksSimon & Elizabeth (Wells) SmithSamuel & Elizabeth (Olmsted) ButlerThomas Smith (No Wife Listed)William & Katherine (Bunce) ClarkGerrard & Hannah (Hills) SpencerDaniel & Rebecca (Spencer) ConeJohn & Rebecca (Howard) SpencerWilliam Corby (No Wife Listed)Joseph & Elizabeth (Spencer) StannardAbraham & Lydia (Tefft) DibbleWilliam & Elizabeth (No Maiden Name Listed) VentresSamuel & Anna (Burnham) GainesJohn & Hannah (No Maiden Name Listed) WebbGeorge & Sarah (Olmstead GatesJames & Elizabeth (Clark) WellsJohn & Mary (Bronson) Wyatt Originally there were two small settlements on the west bank of the river, the Town Plot was laid out along the southern end of what is presently Walkley Hill Road and extended to the old burying ground (Burial Yard at Thirty Mile Island Plantation) and the Lower Plantation was settled south of the Mill Creek in the area now known as Shailerville. Each proprietor was given a home lot and land for farming. There was also land set aside for a meetinghouse and ministers lot. In October 1668 town was incorporated and given the name Haddam after Much Hadham in England. Haddam had very little tillable agricultural land and the best farming land was located along the river. Early residents utilized all of the natural resources available to them including water, fish, timber and granite in order to survive. The Connecticut River was a major source of income and transportation for the first 200 years of the town existence. Shipyards were built along the river, while many other small tributaries provided waterpower for mills and eventually factories. In 1685 a group of residents moved across the river to settle East Haddam including the Gates, Ackley and Bates families. In 1700 East Haddam formed their own ecclesiastical society and became a separate town in 1734. Haddam Neck, which is also located on the east side of the river, was settled around 1712 but remained a part of Haddam and continues so today. By 1720 the population of Haddam had grown to 500 and continued to grow steadily, forcing new settlers and younger generations to expand inland to the less fertile areas. Families that came to Haddam in the late 17th century included Walkley, Scovil, Dickinson, Hubbard, Hazelton, Higgins, Knowles, Lewis, Ray, Thomas, Tyler, Burr and Smith, some of which settled in the interior portions of town including Ponsett, Candlewood Hill, Little City, Burr and Turkey Hill. During the Revolutionary War Haddam men served in the local militia and many citizens participated in privateering, the state sanctioned practice of capturing enemy ships. Privateering gave United State ships permission to capture British ships to cut off their supply lines and furnish our Navy with needed vessels and supplies. Once a ship was captured, it was brought to the nearest friendly port where the ship owner, captain and crew all benefited financially from the seized cargo. It is recorded that in 1779 two British ships, the York and Tryon were captured on the Connecticut River by Haddam made ships captained by Simon Tyler and Samuel Shaylor. Haddam, like many other Connecticut towns, served as a provisionary town during the war supplying troops with food including fish, beef and pork. During the winter of 1778 the horses of Washington's dragoons (cavalry) were housed in Haddam and Durham, which seriously depleted the residents' stock of hay and feed. The following year residents protested and the dragoons were moved to Colchester. After the Revolution many of the town's local farmers were left with farms that were so small in acreage that they were no longer profitable. Because it was common practice for the family farm to be split off to form homesteads for sons, there was a marked decrease in the size of farms in town. As a result of this land shortage, many of the descendants of local farming families emigrated west to places such as New York and Ohio. Despite the land shortage, there was a brief building boom in Haddam after the Revolution. Trade and industry grew and those families involved in local industry built large and ornate homes. Middlesex Turnpike opened in 1802 and as the main road from Saybrook to Hartford it ran directly through the center of Haddam Village. This allowed for easier communication and commercial growth for the town. Churches: For the first hundred years the Congregational Church was the only organized church in town and the first meetinghouse was erected in 1673-74. Haddam Neck residents joined with Middle Haddam residents to form their own ecclesiastical society in 1740 and the Higganum Congregational Church was formed in 1844. In 1791 the Methodists began to meet in the western part of town and a Methodist Church stood in the Burr District for a number of years. In 1792 a Baptist Congregation was formed and it erected a church in the Shailerville section of town. The Rev. William C. Knowles started the Episcopal Church in the Ponsett section of town in 1861 and the present St. James's Episcopal Church was erected in 1871-73. In 1756 a small group of Catholics settled here but unable to find a priest they returned to Nova Scotia. In 1876 the first mass of local Catholics was held in a private home and a year later Mission Church of St. Peter was erected in Higganum. Higganum Union SchoolSchools: The first record of schools was in 1750 when Nathaniel Spencer, John Ventres and Thomas Brooks were tapped to sit on the school board. Residents paid the schoolmaster for teaching all the male children between 5 and 12 and females between 5 and 7 whether they attended school or not. Early lessons were held in private homes and by 1728 a school was erected near the old burying ground. In 1732 the town voted that lessons would be taught at the schoolhouse for 3 to 5 months of the year and for the remaining part of the year the teacher would travel to outlying districts. Men taught classes in the winter and women taught in the summer months. By 1814 thirteen school districts had been established in town. Each district erected a small (many one-room) schoolhouse to serve area students. District schoolhouses remained in use until the early 20th century. In the mid-19th century Higganum village's population warranted that a new larger schoolhouse be built. This two-story schoolhouse, which still stands on the south side of Candlewood Hill Road, was known as the "Green School". This building once stood on the Higganum Green and was replaced in 1894 by the Higganum Union School, which was used until 1948. In 1948 Haddam Elementary was erected on the east side of Saybrook Road and currently houses grades 1 through 6. The Haddam Junior High School (now HK Middle School) was completed in 1960 and in 1970 the town erected a second elementary school off Killingworth Road in the Burr District. Haddam and Killingworth became Regional School District #17 in 1970s and the High School was built on the same campus as the Junior High and completed by 1978. Civil War: During the Civil War Haddam sent 90 men of service age to join Connecticut Regiments and 23 perished. Most local men served with Company D of the 20th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry and Company A of the 24th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. General Alexander Shailer, a Union general who lead his regiment in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac was a native of Haddam. Haddam Center. In 1785 Middlesex County was created from towns from Hartford and New London counties and Haddam and Middletown were selected to share the county seat, an arrangement that lasted over 100 years. As a half-shire town Haddam Village grew as the commercial and institutional center of town. Haddam became a regional center with a county courthouse located in the heart of town and a jailhouse not too far away. The granite jailhouse is one of the town's most impressive structures and continued to be used as a jail until the mid 20th century. Court trials during this era were a form of public entertainment and the presence of a courthouse and jail brought judges, lawyers and visitors to Haddam's center, a great boost for the economy. Roger Sherman and John Trumbull were among the notable lawyers who worked at the Haddam Court. During much of the 19th century Haddam village was a bustling community and institutional center of town. Shipbuilding was done on a small scale and the granite quarries became a prominent business in the 1800's supplying curb and building stone to New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia. The county court left Haddam in the 1880's and the industrialization of Higganum to the north drew much of the commercial business from the village. Steamboat traffic replaced carriages as the primary means of traveling north and south and the Middlesex Turnpike declined as a major thoroughfare. Following the steamboat was the Connecticut Valley Railroad in 1871, which provided an easy and quick route from Old Saybrook to Hartford that bypassed local businesses. With the invention of the automobile, the old Middlesex Turnpike saw an increase in traffic again and small roadside eateries and shops opened to cater to travelers. The village of Haddam remained the institutional center of town with the town hall, library, county orphanage and jail onto the 20th century. Sources for Haddam History: --------------------

BRAINARD-BRAINERD-BRAYNARD FAMILY

This website is dedicated to preserving the genealogical history of all Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard family members world-wide. The family has only one immigrant ancestor--Daniel Braynerd/Braynard/Brainerd--who came from England to Connecticut in 1649 as a lad of eight or nine years of age.The name, in its variant spellings, does not exist in England, and may have been spelled very differently. We must remember most people could not read, write or spell, and local dialects sounded quite different to outsiders.

Daniel grew up in Hartford, most likely in the home of William Wadsworth, as an indentured servant, or apprentice. At age twenty-one, he relocated to Haddam, CT, prospered, and married Hannah Spencer. They had eight children--Daniel, Hannah, James, Joshua, William, Caleb, Elijah and Hezekiah.

In addition to all who have received the family name by birthright, many have received the name through adoption, marriage, or other reason. Some were bestowed the name at the time of their immigration into the United States, as a stage name, as the mother's birth name, or by missionaries in their country of origin.

The Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard family genealogy has been recorded in numerous publications since the late 1700's. It was first compiled in writing by a Rev. Elijah Brainerd. This so-called "Brainerd Manuscript" is kept in the archives of the New England Historical & Genealogical Society in Boston, MA. It is written very simply on 6-inch by 3-inch sheets of paper, and contains a listing of Daniel and his children. The cover is titled "A Genealogical Synopsis of the Brainerds." It is dated 20 January 1786.

In the "Brainerd Family Genealogy" loose files in the library of the Connecticut Historical Society in Hartford, CT, is a four-page letter from an Elijah Brainerd to Rev. David Dudley Field, dated 6 Dec. 1813, which lists an additional two generations of some family members. A somewhat complete family genealogy was compiled by Rev. David Dudley Field, titled The Genealogy of the BRAINERD FAMILY in the United States, and was published in New York by John F. Trow, Printer, in 1857. However, many families were left out, as they were not members of the church, did not contribute (financially or otherwise) to the effort, or had moved beyond contact into the wilderness.

A very comprehensive family genealogy was researched and compiled between 1880 and 1907 by Lucy Abigail Brainard (53iii. Daniel[2] line). It is The Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America, 1649-1908 , in three volumes, published by the Hartford Press of the Case, Lockwood & Brainard Company, Hartford, CT, in 1908. It was later printed in seven separate volumes--one for each son.

A Supplement to the Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America was compiled from 1985 to 1990, and privately published by Richard David Brainard, Portland, OR, in 1990. This was followed by a two volume 1990 Update to The Genealogy of the BRAINERD-BRAINARD Family in America, 1649-1908, also privately published by Richard David Brainard, Portland, OR, in 1990.

A Brainard-Brainerd-Braynard Family Newsletter has been published quarterly since 1991 by Richard David Brainard. It includes current and historical information, as well as current births, marriages, and obituaries, as provided to the editor by family members. A subscription is $15 per calendar year, from Richard Brainard, 813 SW Alder St. #700, Portland, OR 97205.

Mr. Brainard acts as the family genealogical historian, keeping lineages up to date as information is received from family members. In addition to the mailing address above, he can be reached at 503-243-2652, or by email at dickbrainard@qwest.net.

http://www.palhbooks.com/danielhistory.html

Additional information about this story

Description Information on the history of Brainerd family - complete with website. Incuded are pictures of gravestone and letters written to England to try to ascertain lineage of Deacon Daniel Brainerd

Date

Location

Family Origins.com Daniel BRAINARD was born in 1641 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1072)(1073) He Stolen as a child about 1649 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1074) When Daniel was 8 years old, he was stolen and brought to America where he was sold as an indentured servant to a farmer Wadsworth in Hartford "to be learned to read and write and at the time of his freedom when twenty-one years old to be given two suits of clothes." Daniel served 13 years for Wadsworth until he was freed in 1662 at age 21 whereupon he moved to Haddam. He moved in 1662 to Haddam, Hartford, CT.(1075) He died on 1 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT. (1076) He left, according to his inventory, £834 on 19 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT.(1077) He was a merchant.(1078)

http://www.familyorigins.com/users/b/l/o/Peter-E-Blood /FAMO5-0001/d8.htm#P2889

Personal note from family research: Daniel Brainard was one of the first people in the Haddam, Connecticut. He was a surveyor there who helped establish the township and became a well- respected town leader.

Brainerd Biography According to Lucy Abigail Brainard, Daniel Brainerd arrived in Hartford, Connecticut in or about the year 1649 at or around the age of eight. Unfortunately, there is no documentation to support this or the widely accepted belief that Daniel was from Braintree, England. There are a few family stories concerning Daniel's arrival at such a young age. One, that he was kidnapped from England and sold for his passage to the Wadsworth family of Hartford. Daniel was to live with and work for the Wadsworths until he reached the age of 21. Another version has it that Daniel's parents sent him to America due to unrest in England. We may never know the true story of his early years, but at the age of twenty one, Daniel would begin to forge a history that would still be known 10 generations later. �

In 1662, Daniel, along with 27 other men settled in an area now known as Haddam, Connecticut. Daniel's first home was reported to have been a cave. Soon, however Daniel became the largest land owner and one of the most influential men in Haddam, serving as constable, deacon, town assessor, justice of the peace, surveyer, plotter of land and roads, along with other offices. Daniel was also appointed Commisioner to the General Assembly in Hartford. �

Visiting the Haddam area today, one could view the Brainerd Family burial plot where Daniel is buried, the Brainerd Memorial Library, Brainerd Hall and the plaque honoring the Original Proprietors of Haddam, to name a few of the Brainerd family historical sites. �

In 1663-4 Daniel married Hannah Spencer, of Lynn, MA. From that marriage eight children were born and the Brainerd family roots began to take hold in America. Additional information about this story

Description From the Brainard-Brainard Website. http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~brainerd/

Date

Location

Daniel Brainerd and wives

Daniel Brainerd was probably born in Braintree, Essex Co., England about 1641. He was brought to the American colonies about 1649, when he was eight years old, and sold into indenture to pay for his passage to America. He lived with the Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connecticut, until about 1662 when he moved to Haddam, Connecticut, where he remained the rest of his life. Daniel Brainerd died 1 April 1715 at 74 years of age. He is buried at the old cemetery at Haddam, near the court house.

He served as ".... constable, surveyor, fence viewer, town assessor, collector, and justice of the peace, and with others was one appointed to stake out land and to lay out highways. He was elected Commissioner by the General Court in Hartford, Conn., in 1669. .... He was one of a committee to secure a minister, 1 January 1682, and was elected deacon of the Congregational Church in that place, serving in that capacity through life.

Daniel Brainerd owned a four acre lot in the town of Haddam. This lot (No. 5 1/2) was east of main street, south of John Bailie's lot, west of the Connecticut River and north of Joseph Stannard's lot.

An inventory of the estate of Daniel Brainerd was made on 18-19 April 1715. Included in the inventory was a great deal of land, livestock, furniture, tools, horns, needles, flints, lead, powder, nails, buttons, pad locks with keys, candlesticks, posts, seed, books, barrels, feather beds, curtains, towels, table cloths, blankets and a variety of other items.

In 1663 or 1664 Daniel Brainerd married Hannah Spencer. She was born in about 1641 in Lynn, Massachusetts and died some time around 1691 in Haddam, Connecticut. . The eight children of Hannah Spencer and Daniel Brainerd were all baptized in Middletown, Connecticut, since there was no church in Haddam at that time.

On 30 March 1693, Daniel Brainerd married Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold. Her parents were Samuel (who died in the Bahamas, West Indies, in 1641) and Elizabeth Wakeman of England. She was the widow of Joseph Arnold.

On 29 November 1698, Daniel Brainerd married Hannah (Spencer) Sexton. She was born 25 April 1653. Her parents were Thomas Spencer and Sarah Bearding. She was the widow of George Sexton.

Additional information about this story

Description

Date

Location

First Settlers of Haddam

1st Settlers of Haddam Conn.

Added by DeniseKlein700 on 20 Jan 2008

A Brief History of Haddam

Early Settlement Map1845 MapClick on map for larger image

(91k)Click on map for larger image

(194k)The Town of Haddam is located in Middlesex County, in the south-central part of Connecticut in the lower Connecticut River Valley. Middletown and East Hampton border the town to the north, East Haddam to the east, Chester and Killingworth to the south, and Killingworth and Durham to the west. With approximately 7,200 residents (2000 census) the town covers 46.7 square miles. Haddam has the distinction of being the only town in the state of Connecticut that is bisected by the Connecticut River, with residents on both sides; Haddam and Higganum are on the west side and Haddam Neck is on the east side.

Plantation at Thirty Mile Island

In 1660 the Connecticut Colonial Legislature sent Matthew Allyn and Samuel Willys down the Connecticut River from Hartford to purchase land from the Wangunk Indian Tribe at the place the English called 'Land of Thirty Mile Island'. The island, now known as Haddam Island was thought to be thirty miles from the mouth of the "Grate River" at Long Island Sound (it is only 17 miles from the mouth of river). In May 1662 the Englishmen finally purchased land comprising approximately 104 square miles and extending in six miles on each side of the river from the straits at "Pattyquonck" (now Chester) to the Mattabeseck-Mill River (now Middletown) across to the line of Chatham (now East Hampton). The English paid 30 coats (worth approximately $100) for the land from four Native American chiefs, two queens and others. The Native Americans did set aside some property for their own use including 40 acres at Cove Meadow (Chester) and Haddam Island as well reserving the right to hunt and fish where they pleased.

The first settlers were twenty-eight men and their families from Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor:

Nicholas & Mariam (Moore) AckleyJohn & Martha (Steele) HannisonJoseph & Elizabeth (Wakeman) ArnoldRichard & Elizabeth (Carpenter) JonesJames & Hannah (Withington) BatesStephen Luxford (No Wife Listed)John & Lydia (Backus) BaileyJohn Parents (No Wife Listed)Daniel & Hannah (Spencer) BrainerdThomas & Alice (Spencer) ShaylerThomas & Alice (Spencer) BrooksSimon & Elizabeth (Wells) SmithSamuel & Elizabeth (Olmsted) ButlerThomas Smith (No Wife Listed)William & Katherine (Bunce) ClarkGerrard & Hannah (Hills) SpencerDaniel & Rebecca (Spencer) ConeJohn & Rebecca (Howard) SpencerWilliam Corby (No Wife Listed)Joseph & Elizabeth (Spencer) StannardAbraham & Lydia (Tefft) DibbleWilliam & Elizabeth (No Maiden Name Listed) VentresSamuel & Anna (Burnham) GainesJohn & Hannah (No Maiden Name Listed) WebbGeorge & Sarah (Olmstead GatesJames & Elizabeth (Clark) WellsJohn & Mary (Bronson) Wyatt

Originally there were two small settlements on the west bank of the river, the Town Plot was laid out along the southern end of what is presently Walkley Hill Road and extended to the old burying ground (Burial Yard at Thirty Mile Island Plantation) and the Lower Plantation was settled south of the Mill Creek in the area now known as Shailerville. Each proprietor was given a home lot and land for farming. There was also land set aside for a meetinghouse and ministers lot. In October 1668 town was incorporated and given the name Haddam after Much Hadham in England. Haddam had very little tillable agricultural land and the best farming land was located along the river. Early residents utilized all of the natural resources available to them including water, fish, timber and granite in order to survive. The Connecticut River was a major source of income and transportation for the first 200 years of the town existence. Shipyards were built along the river, while many other small tributaries provided waterpower for mills and eventually factories.

In 1685 a group of residents moved across the river to settle East Haddam including the Gates, Ackley and Bates families. In 1700 East Haddam formed their own ecclesiastical society and became a separate town in 1734. Haddam Neck, which is also located on the east side of the river, was settled around 1712 but remained a part of Haddam and continues so today.

By 1720 the population of Haddam had grown to 500 and continued to grow steadily, forcing new settlers and younger generations to expand inland to the less fertile areas. Families that came to Haddam in the late 17th century included Walkley, Scovil, Dickinson, Hubbard, Hazelton, Higgins, Knowles, Lewis, Ray, Thomas, Tyler, Burr and Smith, some of which settled in the interior portions of town including Ponsett, Candlewood Hill, Little City, Burr and Turkey Hill.

During the Revolutionary War Haddam men served in the local militia and many citizens participated in privateering, the state sanctioned practice of capturing enemy ships. Privateering gave United State ships permission to capture British ships to cut off their supply lines and furnish our Navy with needed vessels and supplies. Once a ship was captured, it was brought to the nearest friendly port where the ship owner, captain and crew all benefited financially from the seized cargo. It is recorded that in 1779 two British ships, the York and Tryon were captured on the Connecticut River by Haddam made ships captained by Simon Tyler and Samuel Shaylor. Haddam, like many other Connecticut towns, served as a provisionary town during the war supplying troops with food including fish, beef and pork. During the winter of 1778 the horses of Washington's dragoons (cavalry) were housed in Haddam and Durham, which seriously depleted the residents' stock of hay and feed. The following year residents protested and the dragoons were moved to Colchester.

After the Revolution many of the town's local farmers were left with farms that were so small in acreage that they were no longer profitable. Because it was common practice for the family farm to be split off to form homesteads for sons, there was a marked decrease in the size of farms in town. As a result of this land shortage, many of the descendants of local farming families emigrated west to places such as New York and Ohio. Despite the land shortage, there was a brief building boom in Haddam after the Revolution. Trade and industry grew and those families involved in local industry built large and ornate homes. Middlesex Turnpike opened in 1802 and as the main road from Saybrook to Hartford it ran directly through the center of Haddam Village. This allowed for easier communication and commercial growth for the town.

Churches: For the first hundred years the Congregational Church was the only organized church in town and the first meetinghouse was erected in 1673-74. Haddam Neck residents joined with Middle Haddam residents to form their own ecclesiastical society in 1740 and the Higganum Congregational Church was formed in 1844. In 1791 the Methodists began to meet in the western part of town and a Methodist Church stood in the Burr District for a number of years. In 1792 a Baptist Congregation was formed and it erected a church in the Shailerville section of town. The Rev. William C. Knowles started the Episcopal Church in the Ponsett section of town in 1861 and the present St. James's Episcopal Church was erected in 1871-73. In 1756 a small group of Catholics settled here but unable to find a priest they returned to Nova Scotia. In 1876 the first mass of local Catholics was held in a private home and a year later Mission Church of St. Peter was erected in Higganum.

Higganum Union SchoolSchools: The first record of schools was in 1750 when Nathaniel Spencer, John Ventres and Thomas Brooks were tapped to sit on the school board. Residents paid the schoolmaster for teaching all the male children between 5 and 12 and females between 5 and 7 whether they attended school or not. Early lessons were held in private homes and by 1728 a school was erected near the old burying ground. In 1732 the town voted that lessons would be taught at the schoolhouse for 3 to 5 months of the year and for the remaining part of the year the teacher would travel to outlying districts. Men taught classes in the winter and women taught in the summer months. By 1814 thirteen school districts had been established in town. Each district erected a small (many one-room) schoolhouse to serve area students. District schoolhouses remained in use until the early 20th century. In the mid-19th century Higganum village's population warranted that a new larger schoolhouse be built. This two-story schoolhouse, which still stands on the south side of Candlewood Hill Road, was known as the "Green School". This building once stood on the Higganum Green and was replaced in 1894 by the Higganum Union School, which was used until 1948. In 1948 Haddam Elementary was erected on the east side of Saybrook Road and currently houses grades 1 through 6. The Haddam Junior High School (now HK Middle School) was completed in 1960 and in 1970 the town erected a second elementary school off Killingworth Road in the Burr District. Haddam and Killingworth became Regional School District #17 in 1970s and the High School was built on the same campus as the Junior High and completed by 1978.

Civil War: During the Civil War Haddam sent 90 men of service age to join Connecticut Regiments and 23 perished. Most local men served with Company D of the 20th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry and Company A of the 24th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. General Alexander Shailer, a Union general who lead his regiment in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac was a native of Haddam.

Haddam Center. In 1785 Middlesex County was created from towns from Hartford and New London counties and Haddam and Middletown were selected to share the county seat, an arrangement that lasted over 100 years. As a half-shire town Haddam Village grew as the commercial and institutional center of town. Haddam became a regional center with a county courthouse located in the heart of town and a jailhouse not too far away. The granite jailhouse is one of the town's most impressive structures and continued to be used as a jail until the mid 20th century. Court trials during this era were a form of public entertainment and the presence of a courthouse and jail brought judges, lawyers and visitors to Haddam's center, a great boost for the economy. Roger Sherman and John Trumbull were among the notable lawyers who worked at the Haddam Court. During much of the 19th century Haddam village was a bustling community and institutional center of town. Shipbuilding was done on a small scale and the granite quarries became a prominent business in the 1800's supplying curb and building stone to New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia. The county court left Haddam in the 1880's and the industrialization of Higganum to the north drew much of the commercial business from the village. Steamboat traffic replaced carriages as the primary means of traveling north and south and the Middlesex Turnpike declined as a major thoroughfare. Following the steamboat was the Connecticut Valley Railroad in 1871, which provided an easy and quick route from Old Saybrook to Hartford that bypassed local businesses.

With the invention of the automobile, the old Middlesex Turnpike saw an increase in traffic again and small roadside eateries and shops opened to cater to travelers. The village of Haddam remained the institutional center of town with the town hall, library, county orphanage and jail onto the 20th century. --------------------

Daniel BRAINARD was born in 1641 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1072)(1073) He Stolen as a child about 1649 in Braintree, Essex, England. (1074) When Daniel was 8 years old, he was stolen and brought to America where he was sold as an indentured servant to a farmer Wadsworth in Hartford "to be learned to read and write and at the time of his freedom when twenty-one years old to be given two suits of clothes." Daniel served 13 years for Wadsworth until he was freed in 1662 at age 21 whereupon he moved to Haddam. He moved in 1662 to Haddam, Hartford, CT.(1075) He died on 1 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT. (1076) He left, according to his inventory, £834 on 19 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT.(1077) He was a merchant.(1078)


http://www.familyorigins.com/users/b/l/o/Peter-E-Blood /FAMO5-0001/d8.htm#P2889

Personal note from family research: Daniel Brainard was one of the first people in the Haddam, Connecticut. He was a surveyor there who helped establish the township and became a well- respected town leader.

Daniel Brainerd was probably born in Braintree, Essex Co., England about 1641. He was brought to the American colonies about 1649, when he was eight years old, and sold into indenture to pay for his passage to America. He lived with the Wadsworth family in Hartford, Connecticut, until about 1662 when he moved to Haddam, Connecticut, where he remained the rest of his life. Daniel Brainerd died 1 April 1715 at 74 years of age. He is buried at the old cemetery at Haddam, near the court house.

He served as ".... constable, surveyor, fence viewer, town assessor, collector, and justice of the peace, and with others was one appointed to stake out land and to lay out highways. He was elected Commissioner by the General Court in Hartford, Conn., in 1669. .... He was one of a committee to secure a minister, 1 January 1682, and was elected deacon of the Congregational Church in that place, serving in that capacity through life.

Daniel Brainerd owned a four acre lot in the town of Haddam. This lot (No. 5 1/2) was east of main street, south of John Bailie's lot, west of the Connecticut River and north of Joseph Stannard's lot.

An inventory of the estate of Daniel Brainerd was made on 18-19 April 1715. Included in the inventory was a great deal of land, livestock, furniture, tools, horns, needles, flints, lead, powder, nails, buttons, pad locks with keys, candlesticks, posts, seed, books, barrels, feather beds, curtains, towels, table cloths, blankets and a variety of other items.

In 1663 or 1664 Daniel Brainerd married Hannah Spencer. She was born in about 1641 in Lynn, Massachusetts and died some time around 1691 in Haddam, Connecticut. . The eight children of Hannah Spencer and Daniel Brainerd were all baptized in Middletown, Connecticut, since there was no church in Haddam at that time.

On 30 March 1693, Daniel Brainerd married Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold. Her parents were Samuel (who died in the Bahamas, West Indies, in 1641) and Elizabeth Wakeman of England. She was the widow of Joseph Arnold.

On 29 November 1698, Daniel Brainerd married Hannah (Spencer) Sexton. She was born 25 April 1653. Her parents were Thomas Spencer and Sarah Bearding. She was the widow of George Sexton.

Deacon Daniel1 Brainerd1 was born Abt. 1641, and died 01 Apr 1715 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT. He married (1) Hannah Spencer3,4 Abt. 1664, daughter of Gerard Spencer and Hannah ?. She was born Abt. 1640, and died Bef. 1691. He married (2) Elizabeth Wakeman5,6 30 Mar 1693, daughter of Samuel Wakeman and Elizabeth ?. She was born Abt. 16408. He married (3) Hannah Spencer9,10 29 Nov 1698, daughter of Thomas Spencer and Sarah Bearding. She was born 15 Apr 1653 in Hartford, Hartford, CT.

Daniel Brainard, or Brainerd, Hartford; removed to Haddam; as early settler there, married, about 1665, Hannah, daughter of Jared Spencer; had Daniel, born 1665 or 6; Hannah, 20 November 1667; James, 1669; Joshua, 1671; William, 1673; Caleb, 1675; Hezekiah, 1682; and Elijah, 1686; was a deacon; and died 1 April 1715 aged 74. Who was his father or where he was born is uncertain. Hannah married, about 1692, Thomas Gates. - A Genealogical Dictionary of the First Families of New England, Vol. I., p. 237.

-------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------

Daniel Brainerd, * the progenitor of nearly all of those who bear the name of Brainerd in America, was probably born in Braintree, Essex County, England, near the year 1641 and was brought to this country when about 8 years old and lived with the Wadsworth † family in Hartford, Ct., remaining there until 1662 when with others he took up land and made Haddam his permanent home. . . .

Daniel Brainerd's children were baptized in Middletown, about eight miles distant, before permission was granted to the citizens of Haddam by the General Court of Connecticut to build a church and with a settled minister to maintain independent worship, to baptize the children, to perform the marriage ceremony, and to bury the dead. The journey thither was on horseback, following the Indian trail, which became a bridle path, with the wife seated on a pillion, carrying the child in her arms. The children were baptized as "children of ye church of Christ in Lyn (Lynn, Massachusetts) received ye Initiatory seal of ye covenant baptism by virtue of Communion of Churches."

Daniel Brainerd, of Haddam, Middlesex County, Connecticut, married about 1663 or '64, Hannah Spencer, born about 1641 at Lynn, Massachusetts, daughter of Gerrard and Hannah Spencer of Lynn, Massachusetts, formerly of "The New Town," Cambridge, Massachusetts, afterwards, about 1663 or '64, one of the settlers of Haddam, Connecticut. Mrs. Hannah (Spencer) Brainerd died before 1691, or about that time. He married, second, 30 March 1693, Mrs. Elizabeth (Wakeman) Arnold, born -----, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (-----)Wakeman, formerly of England. Samuel Wakeman died at the Bahama Islands in 1641. Mrs. Arnold was mother of Deacon Arnold. Mrs. Elizabeth (Wakeman) (Arnold) Brainerd died -----. He married, third, 29 November 1698 Mrs. Hannah (Spencer) Sexton, born probably 25 April 1653, and daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Bearding) Spencer, and widow of George Sexton, who was son of George Sexton of Windsor, Connecticut. Deacon Daniel Brainerd died 1 April 1715, æ. 74 years, and is buried in the ancient burying grounds in Haddam, a few rods east of the Court House. Mrs. Hannah (Spencer) (Sexton) Brainerd died -----.


Daniel Brainerd's home lot in the town plot was Number 5 1/2 and was bounded west on the main street, north by John Bailie, east on the river, south by Joseph Stannard. The home lots contained about four acres. . . .


Daniel Brainerd held many public offices of that day. He was repeatedly honored by reappointment to the office of constable, surveyor, fence viewer, town assessor, collector and justice of the peace, and with others was one appointed to stake out land and to lay out highways. He was elected Commissioner by the General Court in Hartford, Conn., in 1669. . . . He was one of a committee to secure a minister, 1 January 1682, and was elected deacon of the Congregational Church in that place, serving in that capacity through life. . . .


The Colonial Records of Connecticut . . . show that Daniel Brainard was present as a deputy to the General Court at the May session, 1692, special session, June, 1692, October session, 1692, 26 sessions between May, 1692 and May, 1706. The same volume also shows that Mr. Daniel Brainard was chosen Justice of the Peace for the county of Hartford at the May session in 1701 and again in May, 1704 and a third time in May 1705. May session, 1692. "This Court do for the present upon good considerations and until further order free Daniel Braynard from training."


  • The late D. D. Field, in the Brainerd genealogy printed in 1857, stated that the Brained boy lived in the Wyllys family in Hartford. Excepting this statement I (Lucy Abigail Brainerd) have found nothing whatever to support it. Mr. Cephas Brainerd of New York city once said to me that he did not doubt the statement, as Hezekiah Brainerd, who died in Hartford while a member of the Connecticut Legislature, was taken to the house of Hezekiah Wyllis for funeral obsequies. As Hezekiah Wyllis and Hezekiah Brainerd married sisters it was very natural that his body be taken there. He probably stopped there while attending the legislature. I have once seen it in print that he was in the Wadsworth family, but did not take the title of the book in which it was found. Others have seen it, but are unable to state in what book.

† The manuscript to which reference is made in other places said he lived in the Wadsworth family. The manuscript was deposited in “The Antiquarian Society of Worcester, Massachusetts,” by J. W. Thornton, Esq., 18 June 1862.


The Genealogy of the Brainerd-Brainard Family in America, 1649-1908, Vol. I. (Daniel), pp. 31-33, 40.

--------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------

Daniel Brainerd, the ancestor of the Brainerds in this country, was brought from England when eight years old, to Hartford, Connecticut, where he lived in the Wyllys family until he was of age. He became a proprietor and settler of Haddam about 1662, and was a prosperous, influential, and very respectable man; a justice of the peace in the town, and a deacon in the church.


After his settlement here he received a letter from his mother, in which she spelt her name Brainwood, which renders it probable that such was the original name. I have also seen the name thus written in a few instances in old records in this country. He, however, had called his name Brainerd, and this name prevailed. It is most generally spelled Brainerd, both in the records of Haddam and East Haddam; though, like other names, it is spelled sometimes with a difference of one or two letters, as Brainard, Braynard. The pronunciation is more generally uniform than the spelling, Brainerd.


The ancestor was twice married; first to Hannah Spencer, daughter of Gerrard Spencer of Lynn, Mass., afterward of Haddam, and after her decease, to the widow Hannah Saxton; and it is tradition that the entire maiden name of this wife was the same as that of the first.


He became the greatest landholder in Haddam; owning, besides rights in other places in the Township, about a mile in the northeast part of what lies west of Connecticut river, including what is covered by the present village of Higganum. He died 1 April 1715, and is buried in the ancient burying-ground a few rods east of the Court House.


The Genealogy of the Brainerd Family (1857), pp. 9-10

-------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------


More About Deacon Daniel Brainerd:

Inventory of Estate: Bet. 18 - 19 Apr 1715, £834-10-03, by Nathan Spencer, Gerrard Spencer, Joseph Arnold13


More About Daniel Brainerd and Hannah Spencer:

Marriage: Abt. 166414


Notes for Elizabeth Wakeman:

---------------------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two husbands: Joseph Arnold; and Deacon Daniel Brainerd, widower of Hannah Spencer.

---------------------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------

By the manuscript, Deacon Arnold’s mother married Daniel Brainwood and Deacon Arnold’s father was Joseph Arnold; and the town records state that his widow married, 30 March 1693, but it does not state who she married. - The Genealogy of the Brainerd-Brainard Family in America, 1649-1908, Vol. I. (Daniel), p. 32.

--------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------


More About Daniel Brainerd and Elizabeth Wakeman:

Marriage: 30 Mar 169315


Notes for Hannah Spencer:

---------------------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------

. . . said to have married (1) George Sexton, (2) Daniel Brainerd and (3) Jonathan Chapman, but the secondary sources are vague and uncertain, and the evidence for these marriages has not been found. - The Great Migration Begins, Vols. I-III., pp.1718-1721.

----------------------- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There were three early Sextons who had wives of the name of Hannah. Mr. H. W. Brainard, in searching for Sexton records, found that Richard Sexton married, 20 June 1706, Hannah, daughter of Peter Buel (Simsbury records). Richard died 27 March 1714, and his estate was distributed 4 April 1727, at which date the widow Hannah had not married again.


Joseph Sexton, son of Thomas the miller at Boston, born 9 May 1656, at Boston, died 1715 Stonington, Connecticut. He married, 15 July 1680, Mrs. Hannah Cheeseboro, born 20 May 1643, daughter of Captain George and Bridget (Thompson) Denison, and widow of Nathaniel Cheeseboro, who died 22 November 1678. Joseph Sexton died the same year that Daniel Brainerd died. Not either of these two Hannahs could have been the third wife of Daniel Brainerd.


Hannah, the widow of George Sexton, Junior, of Hartford, Westfield, and Newtown, Long Island, and probably daughter of Sergeant Thomas Spencer, was undoubtedly the third wife of Daniel Brainerd. I have so placed it. Other investigators may be able to find facts I have been unable to discover to prove or disprove the statement.


The Genealogy of the Brainerd-Brainard Family in America, 1649-1908, Vol. I. (Daniel), p. 32.

--------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------


More About Daniel Brainerd and Hannah Spencer:

Marriage: 29 Nov 169815

     

Children of Daniel Brainerd and Hannah Spencer are:

+ 2 i. Deacon Daniel2 Brainerd, born 02 Mar 1665/66 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 28 Jan 1742/43.

+ 3 ii. Hannah Brainerd, born 20 Nov 1667 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 07 Sep 1750 in East Haddam, Middlesex, CT.

+ 4 iii. Deacon James Brainerd, born 02 Jun 1669 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 10 Feb 1742/43 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT.

+ 5 iv. Captain Joshua Brainerd, born 20 Jul 1672 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 13 May 1755 in East Haddam, Middlesex, CT.

+ 6 v. Lieutenant William Brainerd, born 30 Mar 1674 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died Aft. 11 Sep 1747.

+ 7 vi. Sergeant Caleb Brainerd, born 20 Nov 1675 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 11 Aug 1742 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT.

+ 8 vii. Elijah Brainerd, born Bef. 26 May 1678 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 20 Apr 1740.

+ 9 viii. Hon. Hezekiah Brainerd, born 24 May 1681 in Haddam, Middlesex, CT; died 24 May 1727 in Hartford, Hartford, CT

A Brief History of Haddam Early Settlement Map1845 MapClick on map for larger image (91k)Click on map for larger image (194k)The Town of Haddam is located in Middlesex County, in the south-central part of Connecticut in the lower Connecticut River Valley. Middletown and East Hampton border the town to the north, East Haddam to the east, Chester and Killingworth to the south, and Killingworth and Durham to the west. With approximately 7,200 residents (2000 census) the town covers 46.7 square miles. Haddam has the distinction of being the only town in the state of Connecticut that is bisected by the Connecticut River, with residents on both sides; Haddam and Higganum are on the west side and Haddam Neck is on the east side.

Plantation at Thirty Mile Island In 1660 the Connecticut Colonial Legislature sent Matthew Allyn and Samuel Willys down the Connecticut River from Hartford to purchase land from the Wangunk Indian Tribe at the place the English called 'Land of Thirty Mile Island'. The island, now known as Haddam Island was thought to be thirty miles from the mouth of the "Grate River" at Long Island Sound (it is only 17 miles from the mouth of river). In May 1662 the Englishmen finally purchased land comprising approximately 104 square miles and extending in six miles on each side of the river from the straits at "Pattyquonck" (now Chester) to the Mattabeseck-Mill River (now Middletown) across to the line of Chatham (now East Hampton). The English paid 30 coats (worth approximately $100) for the land from four Native American chiefs, two queens and others. The Native Americans did set aside some property for their own use including 40 acres at Cove Meadow (Chester) and Haddam Island as well reserving the right to hunt and fish where they pleased.

The first settlers were twenty-eight men and their families from Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor:

Nicholas & Mariam (Moore) AckleyJohn & Martha (Steele) HannisonJoseph & Elizabeth (Wakeman) ArnoldRichard & Elizabeth (Carpenter) JonesJames & Hannah (Withington) BatesStephen Luxford (No Wife Listed)John & Lydia (Backus) BaileyJohn Parents (No Wife Listed)Daniel & Hannah (Spencer) BrainerdThomas & Alice (Spencer) ShaylerThomas & Alice (Spencer) BrooksSimon & Elizabeth (Wells) SmithSamuel & Elizabeth (Olmsted) ButlerThomas Smith (No Wife Listed)William & Katherine (Bunce) ClarkGerrard & Hannah (Hills) SpencerDaniel & Rebecca (Spencer) ConeJohn & Rebecca (Howard) SpencerWilliam Corby (No Wife Listed)Joseph & Elizabeth (Spencer) StannardAbraham & Lydia (Tefft) DibbleWilliam & Elizabeth (No Maiden Name Listed) VentresSamuel & Anna (Burnham) GainesJohn & Hannah (No Maiden Name Listed) WebbGeorge & Sarah (Olmstead GatesJames & Elizabeth (Clark) WellsJohn & Mary (Bronson) Wyatt

Originally there were two small settlements on the west bank of the river, the Town Plot was laid out along the southern end of what is presently Walkley Hill Road and extended to the old burying ground (Burial Yard at Thirty Mile Island Plantation) and the Lower Plantation was settled south of the Mill Creek in the area now known as Shailerville. Each proprietor was given a home lot and land for farming. There was also land set aside for a meetinghouse and ministers lot. In October 1668 town was incorporated and given the name Haddam after Much Hadham in England. Haddam had very little tillable agricultural land and the best farming land was located along the river. Early residents utilized all of the natural resources available to them including water, fish, timber and granite in order to survive. The Connecticut River was a major source of income and transportation for the first 200 years of the town existence. Shipyards were built along the river, while many other small tributaries provided waterpower for mills and eventually factories.

In 1685 a group of residents moved across the river to settle East Haddam including the Gates, Ackley and Bates families. In 1700 East Haddam formed their own ecclesiastical society and became a separate town in 1734. Haddam Neck, which is also located on the east side of the river, was settled around 1712 but remained a part of Haddam and continues so today.

By 1720 the population of Haddam had grown to 500 and continued to grow steadily, forcing new settlers and younger generations to expand inland to the less fertile areas. Families that came to Haddam in the late 17th century included Walkley, Scovil, Dickinson, Hubbard, Hazelton, Higgins, Knowles, Lewis, Ray, Thomas, Tyler, Burr and Smith, some of which settled in the interior portions of town including Ponsett, Candlewood Hill, Little City, Burr and Turkey Hill.

During the Revolutionary War Haddam men served in the local militia and many citizens participated in privateering, the state sanctioned practice of capturing enemy ships. Privateering gave United State ships permission to capture British ships to cut off their supply lines and furnish our Navy with needed vessels and supplies. Once a ship was captured, it was brought to the nearest friendly port where the ship owner, captain and crew all benefited financially from the seized cargo. It is recorded that in 1779 two British ships, the York and Tryon were captured on the Connecticut River by Haddam made ships captained by Simon Tyler and Samuel Shaylor. Haddam, like many other Connecticut towns, served as a provisionary town during the war supplying troops with food including fish, beef and pork. During the winter of 1778 the horses of Washington's dragoons (cavalry) were housed in Haddam and Durham, which seriously depleted the residents' stock of hay and feed. The following year residents protested and the dragoons were moved to Colchester.

After the Revolution many of the town's local farmers were left with farms that were so small in acreage that they were no longer profitable. Because it was common practice for the family farm to be split off to form homesteads for sons, there was a marked decrease in the size of farms in town. As a result of this land shortage, many of the descendants of local farming families emigrated west to places such as New York and Ohio. Despite the land shortage, there was a brief building boom in Haddam after the Revolution. Trade and industry grew and those families involved in local industry built large and ornate homes. Middlesex Turnpike opened in 1802 and as the main road from Saybrook to Hartford it ran directly through the center of Haddam Village. This allowed for easier communication and commercial growth for the town.

Churches: For the first hundred years the Congregational Church was the only organized church in town and the first meetinghouse was erected in 1673-74. Haddam Neck residents joined with Middle Haddam residents to form their own ecclesiastical society in 1740 and the Higganum Congregational Church was formed in 1844. In 1791 the Methodists began to meet in the western part of town and a Methodist Church stood in the Burr District for a number of years. In 1792 a Baptist Congregation was formed and it erected a church in the Shailerville section of town. The Rev. William C. Knowles started the Episcopal Church in the Ponsett section of town in 1861 and the present St. James's Episcopal Church was erected in 1871-73. In 1756 a small group of Catholics settled here but unable to find a priest they returned to Nova Scotia. In 1876 the first mass of local Catholics was held in a private home and a year later Mission Church of St. Peter was erected in Higganum.

Higganum Union SchoolSchools: The first record of schools was in 1750 when Nathaniel Spencer, John Ventres and Thomas Brooks were tapped to sit on the school board. Residents paid the schoolmaster for teaching all the male children between 5 and 12 and females between 5 and 7 whether they attended school or not. Early lessons were held in private homes and by 1728 a school was erected near the old burying ground. In 1732 the town voted that lessons would be taught at the schoolhouse for 3 to 5 months of the year and for the remaining part of the year the teacher would travel to outlying districts. Men taught classes in the winter and women taught in the summer months. By 1814 thirteen school districts had been established in town. Each district erected a small (many one-room) schoolhouse to serve area students. District schoolhouses remained in use until the early 20th century. In the mid-19th century Higganum village's population warranted that a new larger schoolhouse be built. This two-story schoolhouse, which still stands on the south side of Candlewood Hill Road, was known as the "Green School". This building once stood on the Higganum Green and was replaced in 1894 by the Higganum Union School, which was used until 1948. In 1948 Haddam Elementary was erected on the east side of Saybrook Road and currently houses grades 1 through 6. The Haddam Junior High School (now HK Middle School) was completed in 1960 and in 1970 the town erected a second elementary school off Killingworth Road in the Burr District. Haddam and Killingworth became Regional School District #17 in 1970s and the High School was built on the same campus as the Junior High and completed by 1978.

Civil War: During the Civil War Haddam sent 90 men of service age to join Connecticut Regiments and 23 perished. Most local men served with Company D of the 20th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry and Company A of the 24th Connecticut Volunteer Infantry. General Alexander Shailer, a Union general who lead his regiment in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac was a native of Haddam.

Haddam Center. In 1785 Middlesex County was created from towns from Hartford and New London counties and Haddam and Middletown were selected to share the county seat, an arrangement that lasted over 100 years. As a half-shire town Haddam Village grew as the commercial and institutional center of town. Haddam became a regional center with a county courthouse located in the heart of town and a jailhouse not too far away. The granite jailhouse is one of the town's most impressive structures and continued to be used as a jail until the mid 20th century. Court trials during this era were a form of public entertainment and the presence of a courthouse and jail brought judges, lawyers and visitors to Haddam's center, a great boost for the economy. Roger Sherman and John Trumbull were among the notable lawyers who worked at the Haddam Court. During much of the 19th century Haddam village was a bustling community and institutional center of town. Shipbuilding was done on a small scale and the granite quarries became a prominent business in the 1800's supplying curb and building stone to New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia. The county court left Haddam in the 1880's and the industrialization of Higganum to the north drew much of the commercial business from the village. Steamboat traffic replaced carriages as the primary means of traveling north and south and the Middlesex Turnpike declined as a major thoroughfare. Following the steamboat was the Connecticut Valley Railroad in 1871, which provided an easy and quick route from Old Saybrook to Hartford that bypassed local businesses.

With the invention of the automobile, the old Middlesex Turnpike saw an increase in traffic again and small roadside eateries and shops opened to cater to travelers. The village of Haddam remained the institutional center of town with the town hall, library, county orphanage and jail onto the 20th century.

Sources for Haddam History:

http://www.haddamhistory.org/history_haddam.htm

According to Lucy Abigail Brainard, Daniel Brainerd arrived in Hartford, Connecticut in or about the year 1649 at or around the age of eight. Unfortunately, there is no documentation to support this or the widely accepted belief that Daniel was from Braintree, England. There are a few family stories concerning Daniel's arrival at such a young age. One, that he was kidnapped from England and sold for his passage to the Wadsworth family of Hartford. Daniel was to live with and work for the Wadsworths until he reached the age of 21. Another version has it that Daniel's parents sent him to America due to unrest in England. We may never know the true story of his early years, but at the age of twenty one, Daniel would begin to forge a history that would still be known 10 generations later.

 
   In 1662, Daniel, along with 27 other men settled in an area now known as Haddam, Connecticut. Daniel's first home was reported to have been a cave. Soon, however Daniel became the largest land owner and one of the most influential men in Haddam, serving as constable, deacon, town assessor, justice of the peace, surveyer, plotter of land and roads, along with other offices. Daniel was also appointed Commisioner to the General Assembly in Hartford. 
 
   Visiting the Haddam area today, one could view the Brainerd Family burial plot where Daniel is buried, the Brainerd Memorial Library, Brainerd Hall and the plaque honoring the Original Proprietors of Haddam, to name a few of the Brainerd family historical sites. 
 
   In 1663-4 Daniel married Hannah Spencer, of Lynn, MA. From that marriage eight children were born and the Brainerd family roots began to take hold in America. 

-------------------- Stolen from his native town, Brantrie, England, in the county of Essex when he was eight years old. Judging from his clothes, he came from a family of nobility. Royal crests were found on his clothes, but no names were found. He was sold for his passage in Hartford, Connecticut to Mr. Wadsworth, a farmer. Later he lived with the Wyllys family until he became of age. As nearly can be ascertained, he was born in 1640. in 1662, he became a proprietor and settler of Haddam, CT a very influential, respectable and prosperous man. He was Justice of Peace and Decon in the church. Daniel had seven sons. -------------------- Daniel Brainerd arrived in Hartford, Connecticut in or about the year 1649 at or around the age of eight. Unfortunately, there is no documentation to support this or the widely accepted belief that Daniel was from Braintree, England. There are a few family stories concerning Daniel's arrival at such a young age. One, that he was kidnapped from England and sold for his passage to the Wadsworth family of Hartford. Daniel was to live with and work for the Wadsworths until he reached the age of 21. Another version has it that Daniel's parents sent him to America due

view all 23

Deacon Daniel Brainerd's Timeline

1641
1641
Braintree, Essex, England
1665
March 2, 1665
Age 24
East Haddam, Middlesex, CT
1667
November 20, 1667
Age 26
Haddam, New London County, Connecticut Colony
1669
June 2, 1669
Age 28
Haddam, Middlesex, Connecticut
1670
1670
Age 29
Haddam , Connecticut, United States
1672
July 20, 1672
Age 31
Haddam, Middlesex, Ct., Usa
1673
March 30, 1673
Age 32
Haddam,Middlesex,Connecticut
1675
November 20, 1675
Age 34
Haddam, Middlesex, Connecticut, United States
1678
May 26, 1678
Age 37
Haddam, Middlesex, Connecticut, United States
1681
May 24, 1681
Age 40
Haddam, Middlesex, CT