Nils Petter Molvær MP

Oslo, Norge

View Nils Petter Molvær's complete profile:

  • See if you are related to Nils Petter Molvær
  • Request to view Nils Petter Molvær's family tree


Related Projects

Nicknames: "NPM"
Location: Oslo, Norge
Birthdate: (52)
Birthplace: Sula, Møre og Romsdal, Norway
Occupation: Jazz trumpeter, Composer
Managed by: Anne M Berge
Last Updated:
tamamını gör

Yakın Aile

    • Vibeke
    • Vilde
    • Maja
    • Marit Eldrid
    • Jens Arne
    • Aslak

About Nils Petter Molvær

Nils Petter Molvær also known as NPM (born September 18, 1960) is a Norwegian jazz trumpeter, composer, and producer. Molvær is considered a pioneer in nu jazz and especially the fusion of jazz and electronic music, showcased on his best-selling album Khmer, released by the German record label ECM in October 1997 in Europe and early 1998 in North America.




Molvær was born and grew up on the island of Sula, Norway, and left at the age of nineteen to study music at the conservatory in Trondheim. He joined the band Masqualero, alongside Arild Andersen, Jon Christensen and Tore Brunborg. Masqualero (named after a Wayne Shorter composition originally recorded by Miles Davis) recorded several albums for ECM Records, and Molvær recorded with other ECM artists before his 1997 debut solo album, Khmer. The record was a fusion of jazz, rock, electronic soundscapes, and hip-hop beats – and quite unlike the delicate "chamber jazz" typically associated with ECM [1]. Molvær's muted trumpet sound, sometimes electronically processed, had an obvious debt to Miles Davis's work of the 1970s and 1980s, but without being a slavish copy. For the first time, ECM released singles - "Song of Sand", backed with three remixes, and "Ligotage". In 2000, a second album followed, Solid Ether, after which Molvær left ECM. He has recorded several albums since, and has also produced film and theater music.


In Masqualero

   * 1985: Bande À Part[2]
   * 1987: Aero
   * 1990: Re-Enter


Original albums

   * 1997: Khmer
   * 2000: Solid Ether
   * 2002: NP3
   * 2005: Er [3]
   * 2005: Edy (soundtrack to the film by Guérin-Tillié)
   * 2008: Re-Vision (OST outtakes merged into an album) [4]
   * 2009: Hamada [5]

Reprise albums

   * 2001: Recoloured (remixes)
   * 2004: Streamer (2002, live versions of previous tracks)
   * 2005: Remakes (remixes)
   * 2005: An American Compilation(compilation)

With others

   * 1990: So I Write (Sidsel Endresen)
   * 1990: Nonsentration (Jon Balke)
   * 1993: Exile (Sidsel Endresen)
   * 1994: Small Labyrinths (Marilyn Mazur)
   * 1995: Hastening Westward (Robyn Schulkowsky and Nils Petter Molvær)
   * 2001: Radioaxiom – A Dub Transmission (Bill Laswell and Jah Wobble)
   * 2003: Electra (Arild Andersen)
   * 2004: Seafarer's Song (Ketil Bjørnstad)
   * 2007: A Pure Land (Sienna)
   * 2008: Dome (Johannes Enders)
   * 2008: Corps Electriques (Hector Zazou)


  1. ^ Pronounced approximately "MOL-vair".
  2. ^ Also listed as Bande à Part and Bande à part.
  3. ^ The title is er, the common suffix for the names of the tracks ("Hover", "Softer", "Dancer", etc.) and their author.
  4. ^ Re-Vision press release
  5. ^ Hamada info
tamamını gör

Nils Petter Molvær's Timeline

September 18, 1960
Sula, Møre og Romsdal, Norway