Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

American Motorsports Hall of Fame

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Dan Gurney
    Daniel Sexton Gurney (born April 13, 1931) is a retired American racing driver, race car constructor, and team owner. The son of a Metropolitan Opera star, he was born in Port Jefferson, New York, bu...
  • Mario Andretti
    Mario Andretti Aktivne godine 1968. - 1972., 1974. - 1982. Momčad(i) Lotus, March, Ferrari, Parnelli, Alfa Romeo, Williams Utrke 131 (128 startova) Prvenstva 1 (1978.) Pobjede 12 ...
  • George Bignotti (1918 - 2013)
    The Los Angeles Times George Bignotti Chief mechanic for 7 Indy 500 winners George Bignotti, 97, who set a record as the chief mechanic for seven winners of the Indianapolis 500, died in his slee...
  • A J Foyt
    Anthony Joseph Foyt, Jr., or as he is universally known as in motorsports circles, A. J. Foyt (born January 16, 1935, in Houston, Texas), is a retired American automobile racing driver. He raced in n...
  • Cannonball Baker (1882 - 1960)
    Cannonball Baker Sea-To-Shining-Sea Memorial Trophy Dash Find a Grave Birth: Mar. 12, 1882 Death: May 10, 1960 Motorcycle and Race Car Driver. Born in Dearborn County, Indiana, he was a motor...

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is a Hall of Fame and museum for American motorsports legends. The museum hosts over forty motorports-related vehicles. The collection is constantly changing. There are exhibits and displays of racing personalities, vehicles, and memorabilia.

Eligibility for induction is extended to "any person who has driven, piloted, owned, designed, built, supported, maintained, prepared or promoted motorized vehicles in pursuit of speed, distance or other records." An inductee must either be retired for at least three years, or engaged in the top level for their area of motorsports for at least twenty years.

A panel of prior inductees, historians, journalists, and retired competitors vote for the final selections. Inductees receive the "Horsepower" trophy upon induction held annually in August.