Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Brecknockshire - Historic County of Wales

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog) - Historic Counties of Wales

Main Page

Work in Progress

For Historical information about Brecknockshire visit Historic Brecknockshire Link to follow - including connections to Historical figures, Gentry and political people connected with Brecknockshire.

For Information about research in the County and Families Researched on Geni (Including Emigrants) go to Brecknockshire - Family Heads

For Famous or Notable People from Brecknockshire visit Brecknockshire - Famous People

Also known as Breconshire or, in Welsh, as Sir Frycheiniog. An inland County bounded N. by Radnorshire, E. by Herefordshire and Monmouthshire, S. by Monmouthshire and Glamorgan, and W. by Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire.


  • Origin Brycheiniog
  • Created 1535
  • Abolished 1974
  • Succeeded by Brecknock, Powys

Area 1961 - 469,281 acres (1,899.11

Population 53,381 (1971)

Admin. Headquarters Brecon

Motto 'Undeb Hedd Llwyddint' - Unity, peace, success

County Flower Cuckooflower - Cardimine Pratensis

The County is predominantly rural and mountainous. The Black Mountains occupy the SE of the County, the Brecon Beacons the central region, Fforest Fawr the SW and Mynydd Eppynt the North. Most of the Brecon Beacons National Park lies within the County. The highest point is Pen-y-Fan (2907 ft). The River Wye traces nearly the whole of the N. boundary, and the Usk flows in an easterly direction through the central valley. Of the many waterfalls in the County, Henrhyd Falls are particularly spectacular. The most important industries are agriculture, forestry and tourism.

Places of special interest:

  • Brecon Beacons Mountains Centre, Libanus (SO0428);
  • Brecknock Musuem, Brecon (SN9726);
  • Dan-yr-Ogof Caves, Glyntawe (SN8316);
  • Tretower Castle and Court (SO1821);
  • Y Gaer Roman Fort (SO0029).

The main towns

  • Brecon,
  • Brynmawr,
  • Builth Wells,
  • Hay-on-Wye,
  • Llanwrtyd Wells
  • Ystradgynlais.


  • Builth,
  • Crickhowell,
  • Devynnock,
  • Merthyr,
  • Penkelly,
  • Talgarth

Parish Map


from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

For full size image see South Wales - Phillimore - open the full view and use the magnify tool.