Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Buteshire - Historic County of Scotland

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Buteshire, Historic County of Scotland

Main Page

This is the Umbrella project for Buteshire



Please do not link profiles to this project - its purpose is to inform!

Go to People Connected to Buteshire //

Related Projects

Still to come

  • Buteshire Genealogical Resources
  • Buteshire Historical Page



HELP is always welcome!!


  • Administrative centre Rothesay
  • Chapman County Code - BUT
  • Famous for:
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • St. Blane's Chapel (ruin)
  • Rothesay Castle was built 800 years ago by the hereditary High Steward of Scotland.
  • Area 583 (225 sq mi)
  • Population
  • Succeeded by
  • County Flower - Thrift

The County of Bute (Siorrachd Bhòid in Gaelic) or Buteshire is a registration county on the western coast of Scotland. It was a local government county of Scotland with its own elected county council from 1890 to 1975. The council area consisted of the isles of Bute and Arran and the small isles of Inch-Marnock, and Great and Little Cumbray [mostly uninhabited], in the Firth of Clyde.

The area is separated on the north from Argyllshire by the straits called the Kyles of Bute, and on the west, from the penisula of Cantyre, by the Kilbrannan Sound.

The county town was Rothesay, located on the Isle of Bute.

In 1975 the county administratives area was divided between the councils of Argyll and Cunninghame districts of the Strathclyde region. The Isle of Bute became part of Argyll while the Isle of Arran and the Cumbraes became part of Cunninghame.

As a result of local government council reorganisation in 1996, when unitary council areas were created, the Isle of Bute is now part of Argyll and Bute, and the other islands are within North Ayrshire.

The Isle of Bute was for centuries the property of the Stuarts, descendants of Sir John Stuart, son of King Robert II. The Isle of Arran was for centuries the property of the Hamiltons. There are seven parishes. The civil business of the county is transacted at the royal burgh of Rothesay on the isle of Bute, which was the only town in the county. There are several villages.

The island of Bute is diversified with hills for pasture and valleys for cultivation. Arran is rugged and mountainous, interspersed with glens. Both islands have fine bays.

The Historic Parishes of Buteshire

  • Cumbraes
  • Kilbride
  • Kilmory
  • Kingarth
  • Lochranza (see also Kilmory)
  • North Bute (see also Rothesay)
  • Rothesay
  • Shisken -- see Kilmory



  • Arran
  • Bute
  • Cumbraes
  • Holy Isle
  • Inchmarnock
  • Pladda

Parishes of Buteshire


  • Cumbraes 4
  • Kilbride 5
  • Kilmory 6
  • Kingarth 3
  • Lochranza (see Kilbride or Kilmory)
  • North Bute 1
  • Rothesay 2
  • Shiskin (see Kilmory)

If you have Buteshire connections please join the project.

Useful web links

To participate in any project

- you do need to first be a collaborator - so please join the project using the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page. Visit Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance. See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!