Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Caernarfonshire - Historic County of Wales

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • Sir John Wynn, MP, 1st Baronet Wynn of Gwydir (1553 - 1627)
    Family and Education b. 1554, 1st s. of Maurice Wynn of Gwydir by his 1st w. Jane (Siân), and bro. of Ellis. educ. All Souls, Oxf. 1570, BA 1578; Furnival’s Inn 1572; I. Temple 1576. m. S...

Caernarfonshire (Sir Gaernarfon) - Historic County of Wales

Main Page

Work in Progress'

For Historical information about Caernarfonshire visit Historic Caernarfonshire Link to follow - including connections to Historical figures, Gentry and political people connected with Caernarfonshire.

For Information about research in the County and Families Researched on Geni (Including Emigrants) go to Caernarfonshire - Family Heads

For Famous or Notable People from Caernarfonshire visit Caernarfonshire - Famous People

Also known as Carnarvonshire or, in Welsh, as Sir Gaernarfon.

A maritime County bounded N. by the Irish Sea, E. by Denbighshire, S. by Cardigan Bay and Merioneth, and W. by Caernarfon Bay and the Menai Straits, which separates it from Anglesey.

Area 1961 - 364,108 acres (1,473.49

Population 1961 - 121 767

Admin. Headquarters Caernarfon

Chapman code CAE

Motto: Cadernid Gwynedd (The strength of Gwynedd)

County Flower Snowdon Lily - Lloydia serotina

The surface is mountaineous. A large part of the Snowdonia National Park lies in the County including Snowdon, the highest mountain in Wales (3560 ft). The Lleyn Peninsula is less mountaineous and contains many bays and sandy beaches. Bardsey Island is a major site for nesting seabirds. The River Conwy runs north along the E. boundary. Sheep rearing and tourism are the main industries, the coast being much developed for the latter.

Places of special interest:

  • Bardsey Island (SH1221);
  • Caernarfon Castle (SH4762);
  • Conwy Castle (SH7877);
  • Cricceith Castle (SH4937);
  • Great Orme Tramway (SH7883);
  • Gwydir Castle, nr. Llanrwst (SH7961);
  • Penrhyn Castle (SH6071);
  • Swallow Falls, Betws-y-Coed (SH7657);
  • Snowdon Mountain Railway, Llanberis (SH5859);
  • Ty Mawr Wybrnant (SH7752).

Principal towns

  • Bangor,
  • Betws-y-Coed,
  • Caernarfon,
  • Conwy,
  • Llandudno
  • Porthmadog
  • Pwllheli.

See Table of Welsh Place names (Table listing where places are in Current [Post 1974/1996] Welsh Counties/Historic Counties


The county was divided into ten hundreds based on the existing Welsh commotes: * Cymydmaen (anglicised as Commitmaen),

  • Creuddyn,
  • Dinllaen,
  • Eifionydd (Evionydd),
  • Cafflogion (Gaflogion),
  • Llechwedd Isaf (...Isav),
  • Llechwedd Uchaf (...Uchav),
  • Nant Conwy (Nant-Conway),
  • Is Gwyrfai (Isgorvai) a
  • Uwch Gwyrfai (Uchgorvai).

Read more:

Parish Map


from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

For full size image see North Wales - Phillimore - open the full view and use the magnify tool.