Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • The Right Honourable John Turner, PC, CC, QC
    John Napier Wyndham Turner , PC, CC, QC (born June 7, 1929) is a Canadian lawyer and politician, who served as the 17th Prime Minister of Canada from June 30 to September 17, 1984. In his political c...
  • Rt. Hon. John G. Diefenbaker PC, CH, QC (1895 - 1979)
    John George Diefenbaker PC, CH, QC (/ˈdiːfənˌbeɪkər/; September 18, 1895 – August 16, 1979) was the 13th Prime Minister of Canada, serving from June 2...
  • Louis-Hippolyte Lafontaine (deceased)
    Notes Location info: Sainte-Famille-de-Boucherville (birth), Québec (marriage), Montréal (marriage,death) 3e premier ministre du Canada-Est
  • Rt. Hon. Stephen Harper, 22nd Prime Minister of Canada
    Ancestral path to Christopher Harper is detailed in the 45th newsletter of the Tantramar Heritage Trust: --- Stephen Joseph Harper PC MP (born April 30, 1959) is the twenty-second and current Pri...
  • Rt. Hon. Paul Martin, 21st Prime Minister of Canada
    Paul Edgar Philippe Martin, PC, CC (born August 28, 1938), also known as Paul Martin, Jr., is a Canadian politician who was the 21st Prime Minister of Canada and leader of the Liberal Party of Canada...

Canadian Prime Ministers

This project is focused on Prime Ministers of Canada and their families. The family trees of the more recent prime ministers can be a challenge to merge due to the number of living/private profiles.

This project contains two lists: 1) the Joint Premiers of the Province of Canada, who were the heads of government of the Province of Canada from the 1841 unification of Upper Canada and Lower Canada until Confederation in 1867, and 2) the Prime Ministers since the Confederation.

Joint Premiers of the Province of Canada ~ Premiers ministres du Canada-Uni

Canada West Premier ~ Premier-ministre du Canada-Ouest

  • Robert Baldwin
  • William Henry Draper
  • Henry Sherwood
  • Sir Francis Hincks
  • Sir Allan Napier MacNab
  • Sir John Alexander Macdonald
  • George Brown

Canada East Premier ~ Premier-ministre du Canada-Est

  • Samuel Bealey Harrison
  • Charles Richard Ogden 2
  • Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine
  • Denis-Benjamin Viger
  • Augustin-Norbert Morin
  • Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché
  • Sir George-Étienne Cartier
  • Sir Antoine-Aimé Dorion
  • Louis-Victor Sicotte
  • Sir Narcisse-Fortunat Belleau

West and East Temporarily ~ Ouest et Est provisoirement

  • Sir Dominick Daly (27 nov - 12 dec 1843)

Canadian Prime Ministers ~ Premers ministres du Canada

  1. Sir John A. Macdonald 1867–73, 1878–91
  2. Alexander Mackenzie 1873–78
  3. Sir John J. C. Abbott 1891–92
  4. Sir John S. D. Thompson 1892–94
  5. Sir Mackenzie Bowell 1894–96
  6. Sir Charles Tupper 1896
  7. Sir Wilfred Laurier 1896–1911
  8. Sir Robert L. Borden 1911–20
  9. Arthur Meighen 1920–21, 1926
  10. W. L. M. King 1921–26, 1926–30, 1935–48
  11. Richard B. Bennett 1930–35
  12. Louis St. Laurent 1948–57
  13. John G. Diefenbaker 1957–63
  14. Lester B. Pearson 1963–68
  15. Pierre Elliott Trudeau 1968–79, 1980–84
  16. Joseph Clark 1979–80
  17. John Turner 1984
  18. Brian Mulroney 1984–93
  19. Kim Campbell 1993
  20. Jean Chrétien 1993–2003
  21. Paul Martin 2003–06
  22. Stephen Harper 2006–