Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Denbighshire - Historic County of Wales

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych) - Historic County of Wales

Main Page

The historic county of Denbighshire was abolished in the re-organisation of 1974, and was absorbed into the newly created county of Clwyd.

The county of Clwyd was itself abolished on 31st March 1996, after an existence of twenty-two years. At the same time, four new "unitary" authorities were created. These were given the names: Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham County Borough and Conwy County Borough.

Denbighshire was an administrative county until 1974, and re-established as a county council in 1996

Work in Progress

For Historical information about Denbighshire visit Historic Denbighshire Link to follow - including connections to Historical figures, Gentry and political people connected with Denbighshire.

For Information about research in the County and Families Researched on Geni (Including Emigrants) go to Denbighshire - Family Heads

For Famous or Notable People from Denbighshire visit Denbighshire - Famous People

Known in Welsh as Sir Ddinbych.

A maritime County bounded N. by the Irish Sea, E. by Flintshire, Cheshire and Shropshire, S. by Montgomeryshire and Merioneth, and W. by Caernarfonshire.

Area 427,978 acres (1,731.97

Population 174,151 1961

Admin. Headquarters Denbigh and Ruthin

Chapman code DEN

Succeeded by Clwyd and Gwynedd

Motto: 'Duw a Digon' - With God, enough

County Flower Limestone Woundwort - Stachys alpina

In the S. and W. of the County the mountains of the Clwydian Range rise from 1000 to 2500ft high. The E. of the County if hilly. There is some level ground along the coastal strip. The highest points are Moel Sych and Cader Berwyn at 2,713 feet. Pistyll-y-Rhaeader is a spectacular 240 feet waterfall. The chief rivers are the Clwyd and the Dee. The River Conwy runs north along the W. boundary. The most important industries are agriculture and tourism.

Places of special interest:

  • Bodnant Gardens, Tal-y-Cafn (SH7972);
  • Chirk Castle (SJ2638);
  • Denbigh Castle (SJ0565);
  • Eliseg's Pillar (SJ2044);
  • Plas Newydd, Llangollen (SJ2241);
  • Valle Crucis Abbey (SJ2044).

The main towns

  • Abergele,
  • Denbigh,
  • Colwyn Bay,
  • Llangollen,
  • Llanrwst,
  • Ruthin
  • Wrexham.

List of places in Denbighshire


For purposes of civil government it is divided into the six hundreds of -

  • Bromfield,
  • Chirk,
  • Isaled,
  • Isdulas,
  • Ruthin,
  • Yale.

Parish Map


from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

For full size image see North Wales - Phillimore - open the full view and use the magnify tool.