Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Montgomeryshire - Historic County of Wales

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • Lord Cydivin, Montgomery Wagles (c.1212 - 1252)
    Cydafael Ynnyd, lord of Cydewain, County Montgomery, and Judge of Powys, i. e. regent under the Prince, of Central Wales, called Powys, or Powys-land. He was a lineal descendant from Urien, Lord of Rhi...

This is the Umbrella project for Montgomeryshire

Related Projects

Montgomeryshire (Sir Drefaldwyn) - Historic County of Wales

Main Page

Succeeded by Powys

Work in Progress

Known in Welsh as Sir Drefaldwyn.

An inland County, bounded N. by Denbighshire, E. and SE. by Shropshire, S. by Radnorshire, SW by Cardiganshire and W. and NW. by Merioneth.

Area 510,111 acres / 1,955.94 square km.

Admin HQ. Montgomery

Chapman County Code MGY

Population 59,474 according to the 2001 census - ( 52 000 at

Motto 'Powys Paradwys Cymru' - Powys paradise of Wales.

The county flower of Montgomeryshire is Spergula arvensis (also called "corn spurrey")

The County is almost wholly mountainous, although there are some fertile valleys on the Shropshire side. The highest point is Mole Sych (2,713 ft). The principal rivers are the Severn and its affluent, the Dovey. Lake Vyrnwy is a reservoir supplying Liverpool. The main towns are Llanfyllin, Machynlleth, Montgomery, Newtown and Welshpool. The main industries are agriculture (mainly hill farming) and tourism.

Places of special interest:

  • Bryn Tail Lead Mine Buildings (SN9186);
  • Centre for Alternative Technology,
  • Machynlleth (SH7504);
  • Dolforwyn Castle (SO1595);
  • Montgomery Castle (SO2296);
  • Powis Castle, Welshpool (SJ2106);
  • Trefeglwys Tumuli (SN8792).

See Table of Welsh Place names (Table listing where places are in Current [Post 1974/1996] Welsh Counties/Historic Counties


  • Llanfyllin
  • Cyfeiliog
  • Caereinion
  • Ystrad Marchell
  • Llanidloes
  • Kerry/Montgomery

The main towns

  • Machynlleth,
  • Llanidloes,
  • Montgomery,
  • Newtown
  • Welshpool.

Parish Map


from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

For full size image see Central Wales - Phillimore - open the full view and use the magnify tool.