Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

National Medal of Science

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr., Nobel Prize in Physics, 1989 (1915 - 2011)
    [ . Norman Foster Ramsey, Jr. ] (August 27, 1915 – November 4, 2011) was an American physicist who was awarded the 1989 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with Hans G. Dehmelt from University of W...
  • Glenn T. Seaborg, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1951 (1912 - 1999)
    Glenn Theodore Seaborg (Swedish: Glenn Teodor Sjöberg; April 19, 1912 – February 25, 1999) was an American nuclear chemist who won the 1951 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for "discoveries in th...
  • Phillip A. Anderson, Nobel Prize for Physics, 1977
    Philip Warren Anderson (born December 13, 1923) is an American physicist and Nobel laureate. Anderson has made contributions to the theories of localization, antiferromagnetism, symmetry breaking, high...
  • Nancy Coover Andreasen
    Nancy Coover Andreasen is an American neuroscientist and neuropsychiatrist. She currently holds the Andrew H. Woods Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College ...
  • Chen-Ning Yang 楊振寧
    Chen-Ning Franklin Yang (born October 1, 1922), also known as Yang Zhenning, is a Chinese-born American physicist who works on statistical mechanics and particle physics. He and Tsung-dao Lee received ...

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals in science and engineering who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the fields of behavioral and social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and physics. The twelve member presidential Committee on the National Medal of Science is responsible for selecting award recipients and is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

List of National Medal of Science laureates