Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Sleepy Hollow, New York

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Jacob Odell (1815 - 1880)
  • Capt. William Dutcher (1741 - 1794)
    In 1775 organized the Upper Philipsburgh Associated Company of Militia, which he equipped at his own expense and commanded from 13 September 1776 until 16 June 1778 when he was succeeded by Lieutenant ...
  • Lea Van Tassel (1731 - c.1788)
    Lea Van Tassel. Born ca 1731 in Philipsburgh, Westchester Co., NY. Lea was baptized in Sleepy Hollow Reformed Church, on 21 Aug 1731.193 Lea, daughter of Derck & Crestena Van Texel, witnesses Ary Buys ...
  • Lt. Abraham Storm (1735 - d.)
    Lieut. Abraham Storm. Born in 1735 in Philipsburgh, Westchester Co., NY. Abraham was baptized in Sleepy Hollow Reformed Church, on 1 Apr 1735.193 Abraham, son of Class Storm & Raghel his wife, witnesse...
  • Capt. John Buckhout (1682 - 1785)
    familytreemaker.genealogy... ; Jan Boeckhout (son of Matthys Janszen Boeckhout and Elizabeth Ellsworth)67, 67 was born 18 Aug 1683 in New York,Kings,New York,USA, and died 10 Apr 1785 in Sleepy Hollo...

Sleepy Hollow, previously known as North Tarrytown, is a village in the town of Mount Pleasant in Westchester County, New York, United States. It is located on the eastern bank of the Hudson River, about 30 miles (48 km) north of midtown Manhattan in New York City.

Significant events

  • 1609: Henry Hudson claims the Hudson River Valley for Holland
  • 1655: Adriaen Van der Donck publishes Description of New Netherland. Van der Donck publishes Beschryvinge van Nieuw-Nederlant (Description of New Netherland), his life's work detailing colonial New Netherland.
  • 1664: British conquest of New Netherland. British seize the colony of New Netherlands and rename it New York.
  • 1680: Pocantico Purchase. Gaining influence with early English governors of New York. Dutchman Frederick Philipse purchases large tracts of land from tribes along the east side of the Hudson including the Pocantico Purchase, which covered virtually all of present-day Sleepy Hollow.
  • 1693: Construction of Philipse Manor. Frederick Philipse builds Philipse Manor at the confluence of the Pocantico and Hudson Rivers, creating it as a provisioning plantation for the Atlantic sea trade and as headquarters for a worldwide shipping operation.
  • 1697: Construction of the Dutch Reformed Church. Frederick Philipse builds the Dutch Reformed Church at the the site of an existing cemetery.
  • 1702: Death of Frederick Philipse
  • 1783: Philipse family flee to England. At the end of the American Revolutionary War the Philipse family flee to England and many local farmers purchase their tenant farms.
  • 1779: Gerard Beekman purchases Philipseburgh. Land speculator Gerard Beekman purchases the Upper Mills of Philipseburgh.

Name timeline

  • 1680-1683: Philipseburgh (Philipsburg, Philipseburg, Philipsburgh), New York
  • 1683-1776: Philipseburgh (Philipsburg, Philipseburg, Philipsburgh), Westchester, New York
  • 1776-1779: Philipseburgh (Philipsburg, Philipseburg, Philipsburgh), Westchester, New York, United States
  • 1779-1874: Beekmantown (Beekman Town), Westchester, New York, United States
  • 1874-1996: North Tarrytown (North Tarry Town), Westchester, New York, United States
  • 1996-present: Sleepy Hollow, Westchester, New York, United States

Places of interest

  • Philipsburg Manor House
  • Dutch Reformed Church
  • Sleepy Hollow Cemetery
  • Rockefeller State Park Preserve
  • The 1883 Lighthouse
  • Kingsland Point Park
  • Philips Manor Beach Club
  • Patriot's Park

Mayors of Sleepy Hollow

  • 1870-1872: Jacob Odell
  • 1905-1907: John Wirth
  • 1927-1929: Harry B. Decker
  • 1929-1932: Frederick W. Gross
  • 1933-1934: John Carney
  • 1937-1938: Edward A. Martin
  • 1947: H. Tilden Swan
  • 1949: Edward T Gorman
  • 1950-1961: Gabriel P. Hayes
  • 1963-1965: Joseph J. Galgano
  • 1973-1977: James F. Galgano
  • 1979-1987: Phillip E. Zegarelli
  • 1990-1992: Frank Rey
  • 1993-1996: Sean Treacy
  • 1999-2009: Phillip E. Zegarelli
  • 2011: Ken Wray
  • William McBride

Notable residents

External links