Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Wigtownshire, Historic County of Scotland

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Wigtownshire, Historic County of Scotland

Main Page

Work in Progress - to be enlarged/expanded - place holder


Some links are not yet active

  • Administrative centre Historically Wigtown, with the administrative centre moving to Stranraer, the largest town, on the creation of a county council in 1890.
  • Chapman County Code - WIG
  • Gaelic Name Siorrachd Bhaile na h-Uige
  • Famous for:
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • Torhousekie Stone Circle, dating from the 2nd millennium BC, this is one of the best preserved sites in Britain. The circle is around 60 feet (18 m) in diameter and comprises 19 stones up to 5 feet (1.5 m) high.
  • Sorbie Tower
  • Castle of St. John, Stranraer, now a Visitor Centre and museum.
  • Wigtown Castle
  • Glenluce Abbey
  • Castle of Park - 16th-century L-plan tower house near Glenluce,
  • Area
  • Population
  • Succeeded by now administered as part of the council area of Dumfries and Galloway
  • County Flower - Yellow Iris

Wigtownshire (Anglicised) or the County of Wigtown is a registration county and lieutenancy area of Scotland.

Wigtownshire borders the Irish Sea to the west, the Solway Firth to the south, Ayrshire to the north, and the Stewartry of Kirkcudbright to the east. Together the Stewartry and Wigtownshire are referred to as Galloway. The western area of Wigtownshire is known as Rhinns of Galloway, and the eastern area is known as Machars. Wigtownshire includes the southernmost point in Scotland, the Mull of Galloway, the Machars and the Rhins of Galloway peninsula.

Parishes of Wigtownshire


  • Glasserton
  • Inch
  • Kirkcolm
  • Kirkcowan
  • Kirkinner
  • Kirkmaiden
  • Leswalt
  • Mochrum
  • New Luce (formerly northern part of Glenluce)
  • Old Luce (formerly southern part of Glenluce)
  • Penninghame
  • Portpatrick
  • Sorbie
  • Stoneykirk
  • Whithorn
  • Wigtown

Royal burghs in the county

  • Wigtown,
  • Stranraer,
  • Whithorn;

Burghs of barony

  • Newton Stewart,
  • Glenluce, and
  • Portpatrick

Related projects

For Historical information about XXX visit Historical Wigtownshire Link to follow - including connections to Historical figures, Gentry and political people connected with Wigtownshire.

For Information about research in the County and Families Researched on Geni (Including Emigrants) go to Wigtownshire - Family Heads

For Famous or Notable People from Wigtownshire visit Wigtownshire - Famous People

People prepared to Help

If you have Wigtownshire connections please join the project and if you live in the area and are prepared to offer advice or help of any kind please add yourself to the list above.

To participate in any project

- you do need to first be a collaborator - so please join the project using the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page. Visit Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance. See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!

Resources and Related web pages