"Based on user feedback, trees can no longer be merged without the permission of someone in that tree. This means that your tree will no longer be merged into the world family tree, or any other tree, until you, or someone else in your tree, is ready to merge your tree. Users in other trees can send merge requests to other trees, but someone in that tree will need to approve before the profiles and trees are merged."
WHAT IF that "someone in that tree" is a non-PRO and the ONLY active user having created several houndred profiles (both public and private) before the famous geni-rulechange of august 2011 when non-PRO's no longer can perform or approve a merge? How can this "someone" give permission ?