Define "work with". There are two options:
1) Are these people who are actually closely related to you, or invited to join your Family Group?
2) Are these Collaborators?
Family Group members should be able to see the part of your tree around you.
Collaborators can NOT see this part of the tree, or more specifically, they can only see your PUBLIC profiles, which are generally of deceased people (unless you manually set living people as public). As the people "around you" are, for the most part, alive (presumably), only actual relatives can see and/or edit them.