Charlotte Franken

Is your surname Franken?

Research the Franken family

Charlotte Franken's Geni Profile

Share your family tree and photos with the people you know and love

  • Build your family tree online
  • Share photos and videos
  • Smart Matching™ technology
  • Free!


Related Projects

Charlotte Franken

Birthdate: (74)
Birthplace: Greater London, UK
Death: March 16, 1969 (74)
Immediate Family:

Daughter of Joseph Franken
Wife of Jack Burghes; <private> Burghes and J.B.S. Haldane
Mother of <private> Burghes

Managed by: Carlos F. Bunge
Last Updated:
view all

Immediate Family

About Charlotte Franken

Charlotte Haldane (née Franken, first married name Burghes; 27 April 1894–16 March 1969) was a British feminist author. Her second husband was the biologist J.B.S. Haldane.


   * 1 Biography
   * 2 Bibliography
   * 3 References
   * 4 External links

Charlotte Franken was born in Sydenham, London. Her parents were Jewish immigrants, her father, Joseph, a German fur trader. In 1906 the family moved to Antwerp. She enrolled on a typing course in London. During the First World War her parents were interned but immigrated in 1915 to the United States.

She married Jack Burghes in 1918 and they had a son Ronnie. In 1924 however she interviewed the biologist J.B.S. Haldane for the Daily Express and they soon became friends. She then had a scandalous divorce from her husband, before marrying Haldane in 1926.

After a wartime trip to the Soviet Union, she became disillusioned with socialism, which J.B.S. still believed in, writing about it in Russian Newsreel. The Haldanes separated in 1942, divorcing in 1945. J.B.S. later married Helen Spurway.

She died in 1969 of pneumonia.

   * Man's World (1926)
   * Motherhood and Its Enemies (1927)
   * Brother to Bert (1930)
   * I Bring Not Peace (1932)
   * Youth Is A Crime (1934)
   * Melusine (1936)
   * Russian Newsreel (1941)
   * Justice Is Deaf (play)
   * Truth Will Out (autobiography, 1949)
   * Marcel Proust (1951)
   * The Gallyslaves of Love (1957)
   * Mozart (1960)
   * Daughter of Paris (1961)
   * The Last Great Empress of China (1965)
   * Queen of Hearts: Marguerite of Valois (1968)
view all

Charlotte Franken's Timeline

April 27, 1894
Greater London, UK
March 16, 1969
Age 74