Monica Enid Stratton

Is your surname Stratton?

Research the Stratton family

Monica Enid Stratton's Geni Profile

Share your family tree and photos with the people you know and love

  • Build your family tree online
  • Share photos and videos
  • Smart Matching™ technology
  • Free!


Related Projects

Monica Enid Stratton (Dickens)

Birthdate: (77)
Birthplace: London, England
Death: December 25, 1992 (77)
Reading, Berkshire, England
Immediate Family:

Daughter of Henry Charles Dickens and Fanny Dickens
Wife of Roy Stratton
Sister of Gerald Charles Dickens and Doris Danby

Managed by: Private User
Last Updated:
view all

Immediate Family

About Monica Enid Stratton

Monica Enid Dickens was an English writer, the great-granddaughter of Charles Dickens.

She was born in an upper middle class London family to Henry Charles Dickens (1882-1966), a barrister, and Fanny Runge. She was the grand-daughter of Sir Henry Fielding Dickens KC, the eminent judge. Having become disillusioned with the world she was brought up in — she was expelled from St Paul's Girls' School in London before she was presented at court as a debutante — she decided to go into service despite coming from the privileged class; her experiences as a cook and general servant would form the nucleus of her first book, One Pair Of Hands in 1939. One Pair Of Feet (1942) recounted her work as a nurse, and subsequently she worked in an aircraft factory and on a local newspaper — her experiences in the latter field of work inspired her 1951 book My Turn To Make The Tea.

Soon after this, she moved to the United States after marrying a US Marine Corps officer, Roy Stratton, and adopting two girls, Pamela and Prudence. She lived in Washington, D.C. and Falmouth, Massachusetts and continued to write, most of her books being set in Britain. She was also a regular columnist for the British women's magazine Woman's Own for twenty years.

Monica Dickens had strong humanitarian interests which were manifested in her work with the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (reflected in her 1953 book No More Meadows and her 1964 work Kate and Emma), the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (coming to the fore in her 1963 book Cobbler's Dream), and the Samaritans, the subject of her 1970 novel The Listeners — she helped to found the first American branch of the Samaritans in Massachusetts in 1974. From 1970 onwards she wrote a number of children's books; the Follyfoot series of books followed on from her earlier adult novel Cobbler's Dream, and were the basis of a children's TV series, also called Follyfoot, produced by Yorkshire Television for the UK's ITV network between 1971 and 1973 (and popular around the world for many years thereafter).

In 1978 Monica Dickens published her autobiography, An Open Book. In 1985 she returned to the UK after the death of her husband, and continued to write until her death on Christmas Day 1992, her final book being published posthumously. She was also an occasional broadcaster for most of her writing career.

view all

Monica Enid Stratton's Timeline

May 10, 1915
London, England
December 25, 1992
Age 77
Reading, Berkshire, England