Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • David P. Lewis, Governor (1820 - 1884)
    David Peter Lewis (1820 Charlotte County, Virginia – July 3, 1884) was the 23rd Governor of the U.S. state of Alabama, having served from 1872 to 1874. After his term expired, a Republican was not ...
  • Gov. John Murphy, U.S. Congress (1786 - 1841)
    ) John Murphy (1786 – September 21, 1841) was the fourth Governor of the U.S. state of Alabama, serving two terms from 1825 to 1829. Murphy was born in 1786 in Robeson County, North Carolina. He at...
  • Gabriel Moore, Governor, U.S. Senator (c.1785 - 1845)
    Gabriel Moore (c. 1785 – June 9, 1845) was a Democratic-Republican politician and fifth Governor of the U.S. state of Alabama (1829–1831). Life and Politics Moore was born in Stokes County, Nor...
  • William Hugh Smith, Governor (1826 - 1899)
    William Hugh Smith (April 28, 1826 Fayette County, Georgia – January 1, 1899 Birmingham, Alabama) was the first Republican and the 21st Governor of the U.S. state of Alabama, serving from 1868 to 187...
  • Reuben Chapman, Governor (1799 - 1882)
    Reuben Chapman (July 15, 1799 – May 16, 1882) was an American lawyer and politician. Born in 1799 in Bowling Green, Virginia, he represented Alabama in the U.S. House from 1835 to 1847 and served a...

The Governor of Alabama is the chief executive of the U.S. state of Alabama. The governor is the head of the executive branch of Alabama's state government and is charged with enforcing state laws. The governor has the power to either approve or veto bills passed by the Alabama Legislature, to convene the legislature, and to grant pardons, except in cases of impeachment. The governor is also the commander-in-chief of the state's military forces.

There have officially been 54 governors of the state of Alabama; this official numbering skips acting and military governors. In addition, the first governor, William Wyatt Bibb, served as the only governor of Alabama Territory. Five people have served as acting governor, bringing the total number of people serving as governor to 58, spread over 63 distinct terms. Four governors have served multiple non-consecutive terms: Bibb Graves, Jim Folsom, and Fob James each served two, and George Wallace served three non-consecutive periods. Officially, these non-consecutive terms are numbered only with the number of their first term. William D. Jelks also served non-consecutive terms, but his first term was in an acting capacity. The longest-serving governor was George Wallace, who served sixteen years over four terms. The shortest term for a non-acting governor was that of Hugh McVay, who served four and a half months after replacing the resigning Clement Comer Clay. Lurleen Wallace, wife of George Wallace, was the first and so far only woman to serve as governor of Alabama, and the third woman to serve as governor of any state.

List of Governors of Alabama

Governors of the State of Alabama