Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Appanoose County, Iowa

Project Tags

view all


  • Harmon Francis Boylan (1898 - 1955)
    Name: Harmon F Boylan Event Type: Military Discharge Event Date: 18 Dec 1918 Event Place: Appanoose, Iowa, United States Event Place (Original): Camp Zachary Taylor, Ky Age: 19 Military Service B...
  • Henderson C. Baker (1838 - 1919)
  • Dr Earl Emmanuel Dale (1891 - 1950)
    World War 2 Army Veteran, Col Medical Corp.
  • Eli Harrison Turk (1843 - 1916)
    Civil War Service: Rank: Private, 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry Service: 1864, 100 days "United States Veterans Administration Pension Payment Cards, 1907-1933," database with images, FamilySea...
  • Victoria Adelaide Turk (1840 - 1878)
    Page 27 Huldah Tanner Brown, Huldah, Abel, William, William; William, dau. of Daniel and Huldah (Tanner) Brown (of Abel Tanner, 18), b. July 25th, 1803, in Stephentown, N. Y.; m: Daniel Heath, b.____,...

Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Appanoose County, Iowa.


Appanoose County was formed on February 17, 1843, from open territory. It was named for the Meskwaki Chief Appanoose, who did not engage in war against Black Hawk, advocating peace. The present county seat was formerly called Chaldea, and was later renamed to Senterville in honor of Congressman William Tandy Senter of Tennessee. In April 1848, the courthouse, constructed at the expense of $160, was put into use and served as such until 1857. The second courthouse was opened in 1864, and was burned down to the first floor during an explosive Fourth of July fireworks demonstration. The third courthouse was dedicated on May 21, 1903, and remains in use.

Adjacent Counties

Cities & Townships

  • Bellair
  • Caldwell
  • Centerville (County Seat)
  • Chariton
  • Cincinnati
  • Douglas
  • Exline
  • Franklin
  • Independence
  • Johns
  • Lincoln
  • Moravia
  • Moulton
  • Mystic
  • Numa
  • Plano
  • Pleasant
  • Rathbun
  • Sharon
  • Taylor
  • Udell
  • Union
  • Unionville
  • Vermillion
  • Walnut
  • Washington
  • Wells



National Register of Historic Places

IA GenWeb

Genealogy Trails