Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Bicycles - Racing and Manufacturing

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Matthew Gibson
    Matthew Gibson (born 2 September 1996) is a British professional racing cyclist. Gibson is on the British Cycling Olympic Academy Programme and rides for the 100% ME team. Gibson specialises in enduran...
  • Toni Merkens (1912 - 1944)
    Nikolaus Anton "Toni" Merkens was a racing cyclist from Germany and Olympic champion. He was born in the Eigelstein quarter of Cologne, where he grew up with three brothers and a sister at No. 20 Im ...
  • Christopher Miles Boardman
    Christopher Miles Boardman, MBE, (born 26 August 1968) is a British former racing cyclist who won an individual pursuit gold medal at the 1992 Summer Olympics and broke the world hour record three time...
  • Sir Chris Hoy, MBE
    Sir Christopher Andrew "Chris" Hoy, MBE (born 23 March 1976 in Edinburgh, Scotland) is a Scottish track cyclist representing Great Britain and Scotland. He is a multiple world champion and Olympic Game...
  • Chris Froome, OBE
    Christopher Froome (born 20 May 1985) is a Kenyan-born British professional road racing cyclist who rides for UCI ProTeam Team Sky.[3][4] Born in Kenya and brought up in South Africa, since spring 2008...

The first bicycle race is believed to have been a 1,200 meter race on the 31 May 1868 at the Parc de Saint-Cloud, Paris. It was won by expatriate Englishman James Moore who rode a wooden bicycle with iron tires.

The purpose of this project is to document international Bicycle Racing, Racers and Bicycle manufacturers, and to gather GENi profiles connected to the subject

There are various categories of bicycle racing and cycle sports which might require establishing sub-projects.

Road cycling

  • Single-day races
  • Time Trial
  • Single day nocturnal races
  • Stage Races
  • Ultramarothons

Track cycling


Mountain Bike


Cycle Speedway

Motor-paced cycling

To participate in any project

- you do need to first be a collaborator - so please join the project using the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page. Visit Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance. See the discussion

See also the following GENi projects

List of IOC country codes

Racing Cyclists



  • Ercole Baldini (ITA)
  • Yuri Barinov (URS)
  • Edward Battell (GBR)
  • Steve Bauer (CAN)
  • Ryan Bayley (AUS)
  • Willy van den Berghen (BEL)
  • Paolo Bettini (ITA) - Gold in 2004
  • José Beyaert (FRA)
  • Armand Blanchonnet (FRA)
  • Chris Boardman (GBR) - Gold in 1992; Bronze in 1996; Yellow Jersey Tour de France x 3
  • Bernhard Britz (SWE)


  • Fabian Cancellara (SUI) - Gold & Silver 2008
  • Fernand Canteloube (FRA)
  • Gösta Carlsson (SWE)
  • Fabio Casartelli (ITA)
  • Robert Charpentier (FRA)
  • Ed Clancy (GBR)
  • Bryan Coquard (FRA)


  • Erik Dekker (NED)


  • Ross Edgar (GBR)
  • Viatcheslav Ekimov (RUS)
  • José Antonio Escuredo (ESP)



  • Arnaud Geyre (FRA)
  • Walter Godefroot (BEL)
  • August von Gödrich (GER)
  • Alexi Grewal (USA)
  • Robert Grondelaers (BEL)
  • Bernd Gröne (FRG)
  • Frederick Grubb (GBR)


  • René Hamel (FRA)
  • Lasse Norman Hansen (DEN)
  • Henry Hansen (DEN)
  • Christian Henn (FRG)
  • Henri Hoevenaers (BEL)
  • Sir Chris Hoy (GBR) three gold medals Beijing 2008; 2 Gold London 2012


  • Miguel Indurain (ESP)


  • Alan Jackson (GBR)
  • Bernt Johansson (SWE)
  • Bobby Julich (USA) - Silver in 2004



  • Czesław Lang (POL)
  • Guy Lapébie (FRA)
  • Gustav Larsson (SWE) - Silver in 2008
  • Dag Otto Lauritzen (NOR)
  • Levi Leipheimer (USA) - Bronze in 2008
  • Maximilian Levy (GER)
  • Rudolph Lewis (RSA)
  • Olaf Ludwig (GDR)



  • Kiyofumi Nagai (JPN)
  • Gary Neiwand (AUS)
  • Ernst Nievergelt (SUI)
  • Mieczysław Nowicki (POL)
  • André Noyelle (BEL)



  • Sérgio Paulinho (POR) - Silver in 2004
  • Attilio Pavesi (ITA)
  • Gösta Pettersson (SWE)



  • Samuel Sánchez (ESP) - Gold in 2008
  • Carl Schutte (USA)
  • Max Sciandri (GBR) - Bronze in 1996
  • Clyde Sefton (AUS)
  • Guglielmo Segato (ITA)
  • Rolf Sørensen (DEN)
  • Frank Southall (GBR)
  • Harry Stenqvist (SWE)
  • Sergei Sukhoruchenkov (URS)


  • Livio Trapè (ITA)



  • Simon van Velthooven (NZL)
  • Pierfranco Vianelli (ITA)
  • Alexander Vinokourov (KAZ) - Silver in 2000; Gold in 2012
  • Gerrit Voorting (NED)



  • Mario Zanin (ITA)
  • Edi Ziegler (GER)

Racing Cycle Manufacturers



  • Hetchins - British - Founder Hyman Hetchin

Resources and References