Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Broome County, New York, USA

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Broome County, New York.


When counties were established in the Province of New York in 1683, the present Broome County was part of the enormous Albany County, including the northern part of New York State as well as all of the present State of Vermont and, in theory, extending westward to the Pacific Ocean. This county was reduced in size on July 3, 1766 by the creation of Cumberland County, and further on March 16, 1770 by the creation of Gloucester County, both containing territory now in Vermont.

On March 12, 1772, what was left of Albany County was split into three parts, one remaining under the name Albany County. One of the other pieces, Tryon County, contained the western portion (and thus, since no western boundary was specified, theoretically still extended west to the Pacific). The eastern boundary of Tryon County was approximately five miles west of the present city of Schenectady, and the county included the western part of the Adirondack Mountains and the area west of the West Branch of the Delaware River. The area then designated as Tryon County now is organized as 37 counties of New York State. The county was named for William Tryon, colonial governor of New York.

In the years prior to 1776, most of the Loyalists in Tryon County fled to Canada. In 1784, following the peace treaty that ended the American Revolutionary War, the name of Tryon County was changed to Montgomery County, for General Richard Montgomery, who had captured several places in Canada and died attempting to capture the city of Quebec, thus replacing the name of the hated British governor.

In 1789, Montgomery County was reduced in size by the splitting off of Ontario County. The actual area split off from Montgomery County was much larger than the present county, also including the present Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Steuben, Wyoming, Yates, and part of Schuyler and Wayne Counties.

In 1791, Tioga County split off from Montgomery County, along with Herkimer and Otsego Counties. Tioga County was at this time much larger than the present county and included the present Broome and Chemung Counties and parts of Chenango and Schuyler Counties.

In 1798, Tioga County was reduced in size by the splitting off of Chemung County (which also included part of the present Schuyler County) and by the combination of a portion with a portion of Herkimer County to create Chenango County.

In 1806, the present-day Broome County was split off from Tioga County.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns, Hamlets, Villages & Communities

  • Barker
  • Binghamton (County Seat)
  • Center Lisle
  • Chenango
  • Chenango Bridge
  • Chenango Forks
  • Colesville
  • Conklin
  • Deposit
  • Dickinson
  • Endicott
  • Endwell
  • Fenton
  • Glen Aubrey
  • Hillcrest
  • Johnson City
  • Kirkwood
  • Lisle
  • Maine
  • Nanticoke
  • Nineveh
  • Port Dickinson
  • Sanford
  • Triangle
  • Union
  • Vestal
  • Whitney Point
  • Windsor



Broome County History

The Bevier-Wright House

Binghamton City Hall

Broome County Forum Theatre

Broome County Courthouse

The Harlow E. Bundy House

The Alpheus Corby Residence

Drovers Inn

The Brinker House

The Cyrus Gates Farmstead

Old Hawleyton ME Church

The Gen. Edward F. Jones House

The Jonas M. Kilmer House

Lithuanian Nat'l Assoc. Hall

Marlborough Hotel

NY State Inebriate Asylum

Ouaguaga Lenticular Truss Bridge

Phelps Mansion

Roberson Mansion

Ross Park Carousel

St. Cyril & Methodius Slovak Roman Catholic School

S. Washington Street Parabolic Bridge

Washingtonian Hall

J. Stuart Wells House

The John T. Whitmore House