Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Confederate States administration and cabinet members

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Brig. General William M. Browne (CSA) (1823 - 1883)
    William Montague Browne (July 7, 1823 – April 28, 1883) was a prominent politician and newsman, as well as a general in the Confederate States Army during the American Civil War.
  • Maj. General Gustavus Woodson Smith (CSA) (1822 - 1896)
    Gustavus Woodson Smith (November 30, 1821 – June 24, 1896), more commonly known as G.W. Smith, was a career United States Army officer who fought in the Mexican-American War, a civil engineer, and a ...
  • Wade Keyes, Acting Confederate Attorney General (1821 - 1879)
    Wade Rutledge Keyes (October 10, 1821 – March 2, 1879) was a prominent Confederate politician. He was born in Mooresville, Alabama, the son of General George and Nellie (Rutledge) Keyes. He was edu...
  • George Davis, Confederate States Attorney General (1820 - 1896)
    ) George Davis , Confederate senator and attorney general, was born on March 1, 1820 in Pender County, the son of Thomas F. and Sara Eagles Davis. As a young boy, Davis was sent to Pittsboro where he...
  • Thomas H. Watts, Governor (1819 - 1892)
    Thomas Hill Watts (January 3, 1819 – September 16, 1892) was the 18th Governor of the U.S. state of Alabama from 1863 to 1865, during the Civil War. Watts was born in the Alabama Territory on Janua...

Confederate States of America

The Confederate States of America (CSA), commonly referred to as the Confederate States (CS) or the Confederacy, was a government set up in 1861 by seven slave states (i.e. states which permitted slavery) of the Lower South that had declared their secession from the United States following the November 1860 election of Abraham Lincoln. Those seven states created a "confederacy" in February 1861 before Lincoln took office in March. After war began in April, four states of the Upper South also declared their secession and were admitted to the Confederacy. The Confederacy later accepted two additional states as members (Missouri and Kentucky) although neither officially declared secession nor were ever controlled by Confederate forces.

The United States (the Union) government rejected secession and considered the Confederacy illegal. The American Civil War began with the 1861 Confederate attack upon Fort Sumter, a fort in the harbor of Charleston, South Carolina. By 1865, after very heavy fighting, largely on Confederate territory, CSA forces were defeated and the Confederacy collapsed. No foreign state officially recognized the Confederacy as an independent country, but Britain and France granted belligerent status.

Confederate States Administration and Cabinet

[note: after opening link above, click on "OFFICE" titles (e.g., "President") for more details on the position]