Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Congressional Life Saving Medal

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Idawalley 'Ida' Zorada Lewis (1842 - 1911)
    Idawalley Zorada Lewis (later Lewis-Wilson) (February 25, 1842 – October 24, 1911) was an American lighthouse keeper noted for her heroism in rescuing people from the sea. Ida Lewis was born in New...
  • Marcus A. Hanna, Medal of Honor (1842 - 1921)
    Civil War Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient. Served in the Civil War as a Sergeant in Company B, 50th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. He was awarded the CMOH for his bravry at Port Hudson, Lou...
  • Joshua James, US Coast Guard (1822 - 1902)
    Legendary lifesaver Capt. Joshua James has come to represent the very embodiment of courage. And yet, it was a quality that James rarely spoke of. He was a deeply modest man who reserved his commen...
  • Rear Adm. Richard Evelyn Byrd, Jr./USN (1888 - 1957)
    Rear Admiral Richard Evelyn Byrd, Jr., USN (October 25, 1888 – March 11, 1957) was a naval officer who specialized in feats of exploration. He was a pioneering American aviator, polar explorer, and o...
  • George Smith Patton, Jr. (1885 - 1945)
    George Smith Patton is the third of that name, grandfather to father, father to son, but was always referred to as "Junior." That is the way the military did it, and that is the way it is. Both he and ...

The Gold Lifesaving Medal and Silver Lifesaving Medal are U.S. decorations issued by the United States Coast Guard. The awards were first established by Act of Congress, 20 June 1874.

These decorations are two of the oldest medals in the United States and were originally established at the Department of Treasury as Lifesaving Medals First and Second Class. The Department of the Treasury initially gave the award, but today the United States Coast Guard awards it through the Department of Homeland Security. They are not classified as military decorations, and may be awarded to any person.

The laws governing the awarding of medal were amended over the years, and is currently awarded by the Coast Guard. The Commandant of the Coast Guard makes the final determination in authorizing the award.

"The Gold Lifesaving Medal or the Silver Lifesaving Medal may be awarded to any person who rescues or endeavors to rescue any other person from drowning, shipwreck, or other perils of the water. The rescue or attempted rescue must either take place in waters within the U.S. or subject to the jurisdiction thereof, or one or the other of the parties must be a citizen of the U.S. or from a vessel or aircraft owned or operated by citizens of the U.S."