Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Brig. General Francis Nash (1742 - 1777)
    DAR# A081563 Francis Nash (c.1742—October 7, 1777 ) was a brigadier general in the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War. Prior to the war, he was a lawyer, public official, and politi...
  • John Parker, IV (1759 - 1832)
    Birth: Jun. 24, 1759 Death: Apr. 20, 1832 Continental Congressman. Born in Charleston, South Carolina, he graduated from the Middle Temple, London, England, returned to South Carolina, was admitted...
  • Charles Stewart (1729 - 1800)
    ) Charles Stewart (1729 – June 24, 1800) was an officer during the American Revolutionary War and a Continental Congressman. Biography Stewart was born in Gortlea in County Donegal, Ireland. He e...
  • Jonathan Hazard (c.1744 - c.1824)
    Jonathan Hazard, 1744-1825, of Charlestown, was the driving force behind the creation of the Country Party in 1785, a protest movement designed to safeguard the interests of Rhode Island farmers. Hazar...
  • Senator Benjamin Hawkins, Colonel (1754 - 1816)
    Aide-de-camp to Gen. Geo. Washington DAR A053400, Patriotic service. NC There is no record of him as Aide de Camp to General George Washington In 1796 he was appointed by George Washington as an In...


The Continental Congress was a convention of delegates from the Thirteen Colonies that became the governing body of the United States during the American Revolution. The Congress met from 1774 to 1789 in three incarnations. The leader, moderator or presiding member was not officially given the title of President until the Articles of Confederation were ratified.

The First Continental Congress This met in Philadelphia on September 4, 1774. All colonies but Georgia were represented. Each colony had equal voting power. The Congress adopted a Declaration of Rights on October 14, 1774, and claimed that each colonial assembly had the right to make laws governing everything except foreign trade.

The Second Continental Congress This met in Philadelphia on May 10, 1775, not quite a month after the battles at Lexington and Concord. This body adopted the Declaration of Independence on July 2, 1776, after which it drew up the Articles of Confederation. These were the operating basis for government during the Revolution, but due to significant disagreements over the boundaries between the states they were not fully ratified until February, 1781.

The Congress of the Confederation The Articles of Confederation were in force from March 1, 1781, until the Constitution (ratified on June 21, 1788 by the ninth state, New Hampshire, giving the required 2/3 majority) went into effect on March 4, 1789.

George Washington took office as the first President of the United States on April 30, 1789, thus ending the role of President of the Continental Congress.

Related projects

Presidents of the Continental Congress

  1. Peyton Randolph
  2. Henry Middleton
  3. Peyton Randolph
  4. John Hancock
  5. Henry Laurens
  6. John Jay
  7. Samuel Huntington
  8. Thomas McKean
  9. John Hanson
  10. Elias Boudinot
  11. Thomas Mifflin
  12. Richard Henry Lee
  13. John Hancock
  14. Nathaniel Gorham
  15. Arthur St. Clair
  16. Cyrus Griffin


For a complete list of the 342 attending delegates and the 90 delegates who were elected but did not attend, visit these sites:

  1. Benjamin Franklin
  2. Alexander Hamilton
  3. Edmund Pendleton