Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Current United States Governors

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


The following is a list of incumbent governors of the states, and territories of the United States.

See the bottom of the project for the complete list of election cycles, excluding Gubernatorial Special Elections.


State Governors

Territorial Governors

  • American Samoa - Lemanu Peleti Mauga (D)
  • Guam - Lou Leon Guerrero (D)
  • Northern Mariana Islands - Arnold Palacios (I)
  • Puerto Rico - Pedro Pierluisi (NPP)
  • U.S. Virgin Islands - Albert Bryan (D)

Mayor of the District of Columbia - Muriel Bowser (D)

Election Cycles

All Governors are elected to a 4 year term, except for New Hampshire and Vermont. These two are elected to a 2 year term.

All Gubernatorial elections, except for Louisiana, are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. The Gubernatorial election in Louisiana is held on a Saturday in October as the primaries for the chair. If no candidate gets 50% + 1, then 4 weeks later, the Gubernatorial General Election is held.

The terms used below are centered around the election of the US President.

Presidential Election Year (2024)

Delaware, Indiana, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia.

The following 2 Territories hold their own Gubernatorial elections as well: American Samoa and Puerto Rico.

"Post-Presidential" Election Year (2025)

New Jersey and Virginia

Midterm Election Year (2026)

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The following 3 Territories hold their own Gubernatorial elections as well: Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and U.S. Virgin Islands.

A Mayoral election is also held in the District of Columbia.

Pre-Presidential Election Year (2023)

Kentucky, Louisiana and Mississippi