Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

English Settlement in South Australia

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • John Wade (bef.1822 - 1879)
    Biography John Wade was born before September 22, 1822 in Shenley, Hertfordshire, England, United Kingdom and was baptized on September 22, 1822 there the son of William and Mary Wade/Weed. John ma...
  • James Conigrave (1838 - 1908)
    Biography James Conigrave was born in 1838 in London, Greater London, England, United Kingdom. His parents were Benjamin Conigrave and Matilda Conigrave (Reeve) . He died on August 6, 1908 in Adela...
  • Jane Rose Holmesby (1816 - 1864)
    Jane Rose Hollingsworth married William Holmesby on the 16th of December 1838 in the Parish Church, Frindsbury, Kent, England. The minister was J. Formby and the witnesses were Benjamin Giles and Eliza...
  • Thomas Cant (1824 - 1903)
    Biography Thomas Cant was born in 1824 in Kimbolton, Cambridgeshire, UK and was baptized on August 9, 1824 in Northill, Central Bedfordshire, England, United Kingdom. His parents were Griffin Cant an...
  • Griffen Cant (1836 - 1920)
    Biography Griffen Cant was born on March 17, 1836 in Kimbolton, Bedfordshire, England, United Kingdom and was baptized on May 2, 1836 in Bedfordshire, England, United Kingdom. His parents were Griffi...

This is a sub-project of English Emigration to Australia

English Settlement in South Australia

28 December 1836 – the British province of South Australia was established. In 1842 it became a crown colony and on 22 July 1861 its area was extended westwards to its present boundary and more area was taken from New South Wales. South Australia was never a British convict colony and between 1836-1840 about 13,400 immigrants arrived in the area. 24,900 more arrived between 1841-1850. Some escaped convicts did settle in the area and no doubt a number of ex-convicts moved there from other colonies. There were also South Australian convicts who were convicted of colonial offences.

1863 – control of the Northern Territory is granted to the Province (later State) of South Australia. In 1825 the area occupied today by Northern Territory was incorporated into the colony of New South Wales. It was first settled by Europeans in 1824 at Fort Dundas, Port Essington. Its capital city, Darwin was established in 1869 and was originally known as Palmerston. On 1 January 1911, the Northern Territory as we know it today was separated from South Australia and became part of the Commonwealth of Australia.

1 January 1901 – the Federation of Australian States to form the Commonwealth of Australia.

1928 - Australian Government poster issued by the Overseas Settlement Office to attract immigrants.

  • 1945 After World War II, Australia launched a massive immigration programme, believing that having narrowly avoided a Japanese invasion, Australia must "populate or perish." Hundreds of thousands of displaced Europeans migrated to Australia and over 1,000,000 British Subjects immigrated under the Assisted Migration Scheme, colloquially becoming known as Ten Pound Poms. The scheme was initially open to citizens of all Commonwealth countries and after the war, was gradually extended to other countries such as the Netherlands and Italy. The qualifications were straightforward: migrants needed to be in sound health and under the age of 45 years. There were initially no skill restrictions, although under the White Australia Policy, people from mixed race backgrounds found it very difficult to take advantage of the scheme.


Related Projects



This project is included in The History Link Project - Trace your ancesters! you can add projects here