Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • Ben Cayetano, Governor
    Benjamin Jerome "Ben" Cayetano (born November 14, 1939) served as the fifth Governor of the State of Hawaii from 1994 to 2002. He is the first Filipino American to serve as a state governor in the Un...
  • David Ige, Governor
    David Yutaka Ige (born January 15, 1957) is an American politician who serves as the eighth and current Governor of Hawaii, in office since 2014. A Democrat, he previously served in the Hawaii State ...
  • John A. Burns, U.S. Governor (1909 - 1975)
    John Anthony Burns (March 30, 1909 – April 5, 1975) served as the second Governor of Hawaii from 1962 to 1974. Born in Fort Assinniboine, Montana, Burns was a resident of Hawaii from 1913. Early li...
  • William F. Quinn, 12th Territorial and 1st State Governor of Hawaii (1919 - 2006)
    William Francis Quinn (July 13, 1919 – August 28, 2006) was the Governor of the Territory of Hawaii from 1957 to 1959 and the Governor of the State of Hawaii from 1959 to 1962. Originally appointed t...

The Republic of Hawaii was annexed by the United States in 1898. It was organized into Hawaii Territory in 1900, and admitted as a state in 1959. The Republic had only one president, Sanford B. Dole, who later was the first territorial governor. Between 1893 and 1894, Hawaii was under the Provisional Government of Hawaii, with no formal leader. Before 1893, Hawaii was a monarchy; see list of monarchs of Hawaii.

Governors of Hawaii Territory

Hawaii Territory was organized on June 14, 1900, remaining a territory for 59 years. Twelve people served as territorial governor, appointed by the President of the United States.

  • Sanford B. Dole
  • George R. Carter
  • Walter F. Frear
  • Lucius E. Pinkham
  • Charles J. McCarthy
  • Wallace R. Farrington
  • Lawrence M. Judd
  • Joseph Poindexter
  • Ingram Stainback
  • Oren E. Long
  • Samuel Wilder King
  • William F. Quinn

Governors of the State of Hawaii

Governors of the State of Hawaii

Hawaii was admitted to the Union on August 21, 1959, consisting of Hawaii Territory minus Palmyra Atoll. Since then, there have been eight governors.

The governor is elected to a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in the December following the election. The lieutenant governor is elected for the same term and, since 1964, on the same ticket as the governor. The 1978 constitutional convention established a term limit of two consecutive terms for both offices. If the office of governor is vacant, the lieutenant governor becomes governor; if the governor is out of the state or unable to fulfill their duties, the lieutenant governor acts as governor during such absence or disability.

  • William F. Quinn (21 August 1959 - 3 December 1962)
  • John A. Burns (3 December 1962 - 2 December 1974)
  • George Ariyoshi (2 December 1974 - 1 December 1986)
  • John D. Waihee II (1 December 1986 - 5 December 1994)
  • Ben Cayetano (5 December 1994 - 2 December 2002)
  • Linda Lingle (2 December 2002 - 6 December 2010)
  • Neil Abercrombie (6 December 2010 - December 1, 2014)
  • David Ige (December 1, 2014-