Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Lieutenant Governors of Arkansas

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Winthrop 'Win' P. Rockefeller (1948 - 2006)
    Paul "Win" Rockefeller (September 17, 1948 – July 16, 2006) was an American Republican politician and businessman who served as the 13th Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas from 1996 until his death in 200...
  • Mike Huckabee, Governor
    Dale "Mike" Huckabee (born August 24, 1955) is an American politician who served as the 44th Governor of Arkansas (1996–2007). He was a candidate in the 2008 United States Republican presidential prima...
  • Jim Guy Tucker, Governor
    "Jim" Guy Tucker, Jr. (born June 13, 1943) is an Arkansas political figure. He served as the 43rd Governor of Arkansas, the 11th Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas, Arkansas Attorney General, and U.S. Rep...
  • Bob C. Riley, Governor (1924 - 1994)
    Cowley Riley (September 18, 1924 – February 16, 1994) was an American educator and politician who served as Governor of Arkansas for 11 days in 1975. He had previously been a member of the Arkansas Hou...
  • Capt. Maurice L. Britt, Medal of Honor (1919 - 1995)
    Maurice Lee "Footsie" Britt (June 29, 1919 – November 26, 1995) was an American professional football player, Medal of Honor recipient of World War II, businessman, and Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas....

The Lieutenant Governor of Arkansas presides over the Arkansas Senate with a tie-breaking vote, serves as governor when the governor is out of state, and serves as governor if the governor is impeached, removed from office, dies or is otherwise unable to discharge the office's duties. The lieutenant governor position is elected separately from the governor.

The position of Lieutenant Governor was created by the Sixth Amendment to the Arkansas Constitution in 1914, but was not filled until 1927. The Amendment was approved by the electorate in 1914, with returns showing 45,567 in favor and 45,206 opposed. The Speaker of the House declared the measure lost because it had not received a majority of the highest total vote, which was 135,517. In 1925, it was discovered that the Initiative and Referendum of 1910 had amended this majority requirement so that only a majority of those voting on a specific question was required. So, in 1926, the 1914 initiative was declared to be valid and Harvey Parnell was elected Arkansas' first lieutenant governor.

Three recent incumbents, Winthrop Paul Rockefeller, Mike Huckabee and Jim Guy Tucker, began their respective tenures in the midst of regular term periods, due to the elevation of their predecessors to the governorship. Tucker succeeded Bill Clinton as governor in December 1992, upon Clinton's resignation days before assuming his office as President of the United States, creating the need for a special election to fill the lieutenant governor's office. When Tucker was convicted of conspiracy and mail fraud charges in 1996, Huckabee succeeded him as governor, paving the way for the November 1996 special election of Rockefeller as lieutenant governor.

List of lieutenant governors