Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Jeane Kirkpatrick (1926 - 2006)
    Duane Kirkpatrick (née Jordan; November 19, 1926 – December 7, 2006) was an American diplomat and political scientist who played a major policy role in the foreign policy of the Ronald Reagan administr...
  • Lamar Looney (1871 - 1935)
    . Lamar Looney (January 16, 1871 - September 3, 1935) was the first female member of the Oklahoma Senate. Looney was elected to public office as the registrar of deeds for Harmon County in 1912 and lat...
  • Mary Fallin, Governor
    Fallin (born December 9, 1954) is an American politician who is the 27th and current governor of Oklahoma. A member of the Republican Party, Fallin was elected governor in 2010.
  • Nannie Mae Axton (1914 - 1997)
    Boren Axton (September 14, 1914 in Bardwell, Texas – April 9, 1997 in Hendersonville, Tennessee) was known in the music industry as the 'Queen Mother of Nashville'. She co-wrote the Elvis Presley hit s...
  • Wilma Pearl Mankiller, Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation (1945 - 2010)
    Wilma Pearl Mankiller (November 18, 1945 – April 6, 2010) was the first female Chief of the Cherokee Nation. She served as principal chief for ten years from 1985 to 1995.Wilma Pearl Mankiller was born...

Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame was established in 1982 by Oklahoma Governor George Nigh "to honor Oklahoma women who are pioneers in their field or in a project that benefits Oklahoma; who have made a significant contribution to the State of Oklahoma; who serve or have served as role models to other Oklahoma women; who may be "unsung heroes," but have made a difference in the lives of Oklahomans or Americans because of their actions; who have championed other women, women's issues, or served as public policy advocates for the issues important to women; and who exemplify the Oklahoma spirit."