Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Pearl River County, Mississippi

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


  • Cynthia Caroline Wise (1832 - 1870)
    From 1st wife of Joseph Wise Sr. Daughter of Alexander and Elleanor Moore Calhoun of Lincoln County, TN.
  • Joseph Wise, Sr. (1830 - 1910)
    From Joseph Wise Sr. was the son of John and Nancy Allen McLeod of South Carolina. Inscription This cemetery is on the west side of Dumas Wise Rd. 2.1 Miles North of Pine Grove Road. Located in the ...
  • Ruth Wise (1834 - 1897)
    2nd wife of Joseph Wise, Sr. Parents James Woods MeGeHee and Rebecca Perry MeGeHee.
  • Eastman Francis Tate (1868 - 1933)
    Eastman Francis Tate1868 - 1938 was the Founder of Picayune, MS which at the time was smaller than Poplarville, MS. Silbings were Everett, John, Monroe, Hattie, Joseph, Magnolia, James, Cora, and Rosa ...
  • (CSA), Eli "Coot" Lee (1832 - 1919)
    Lee enlisted on May 12, 1862 in Marion County, MS with Company B 7th Battalion Mississippi Volunteers of the CSA. He was enlisted by W.T. Baylis for a three year term. Eli 's military record reflects s...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Pearl River County, Mississippi.

Official Website

Pearl River County was originally formed as Pearl County in 1872. Because of low population density and a small tax base, Pearl County dissolved in 1878. Present-day Pearl River County was organized in 1890 by an act of the Mississippi Legislature utilizing the same land area as its predecessor Pearl County.

On August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina inflicted heavy damage on the small town of Poplarville. The storm's most powerful, unofficially recorded gust of wind was reported at Pearl River Community College, at 135 mph (217 km/h).

Adjacent Counties & Parishes

Cities & Communities

  • Caesar
  • Carriere
  • Crossroads
  • Henleyfield
  • Hide-a-Way Lake
  • Lumberton (part)
  • McNeill
  • Nicholson
  • Ozona
  • Picayune
  • Poplarville (County Seat)




Genealogy Trails

PR County History

Bogue Chitto Nat'l Wildlife Ref. (part)

De Soto National Forest (part)