Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Premiers, Prime Ministers and Politicians of New Zealand

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Sir David Monro, M.D. (1813 - 1877)
    Sir David Monro (27 March 1813 – 15 February 1877) was a New Zealand politician. He served as Speaker of the New Zealand House of Representatives from 1861 to 1870. 7th of 12 children. Emigrated ...
  • Theodorus Jacobus Leonardus (Dick) Quax (1948 - 2018)
    Theodorus Jacobus Leonardus "Dick" Quax (1 January 1948 – 28 May 2018) was a Dutch-born New Zealand runner and one-time world record holder in the 5000 metres, and local-body politician. Quax stood f...
  • John McNeil (1835 - 1904)
    John McNeil was the first Mayor of Balclutha, New Zealand.
  • Howard Kevin (Howie) Tamati
    Howard Kevin (Howie) Tamati, MBE, is a New Zealand former professional rugby league footballer and coach who played for his country. He is the cousin of fellow international Kevin Tamati.
  • William Wakatere (Willie) Jackson
    William Wakatere Jackson[1] (born 1961) is a New Zealand politician and former top Maori broadcaster and Urban Maori chief executive. He was an Alliance MP from 1999 to 2002, and in 2017 was elected as...

From Henry Sewell in 1856 to Bill English in 2016, New Zealand has had 39 premiers and prime ministers. In the 19th century these political Cabinet-makers were usually known as ‘premiers’. But since 1906, beginning with William Hall-Jones, all our leaders have been sworn in as ‘prime minister’.

Picture: Michael Joseph Savage the first Labour Prime Minister of New Zealand. He was given the title New Zealander of the Century by The New Zealand Herald in 1999.

Premiers and prime ministers who have held office in New Zealand


Prime Ministers

Please add all Premiers, Prime Ministers and Politicians of New Zealand to this project.

Links and sources