Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Alexander Cameron Rutherford (1857 - 1941)
    Alexander Cameron Rutherford was a Liberal Politician and the first Premier of Alberta
  • Rachel Notley
    Rachel Notley is a Canadian Politician and the 17th and current Premier of Alberta, And member of the New Alberta Democratic Party
  • Peter Lougheed PC CC AOE QC (1928 - 2012)
    Edgar Peter Lougheed , PC CC AOE QC, (/ˈlɔːhiːd/ LAW-heed; July 26, 1928 – September 13, 2012) was a Canadian lawyer and politician. He served as the tenth Premier of Alberta from 1971 to 1985 as a Pro...
  • Ernest Charles Manning (1908 - 1996)
    Ernest Charles Manning , PC CC AOE (September 20, 1908 – February 19, 1996), a Canadian politician, was the eighth premier of Alberta between 1943 and 1968 for the Social Credit Party of Alberta. He se...

The list of premiers of Alberta consists of the sixteen leaders of government of the Canadian province of Alberta since it was created in 1905. Three were Liberal, three were United Farmers of Alberta, three were Social Credit, seven were Progressive Conservative. The current premier is New Democratic.

Alberta uses a unicameral Westminster-style parliamentary government, in which the premier is the leader of the party that controls the most seats in the Legislative Assembly. The premier is Alberta's head of government, while the Queen of Canada in right of Alberta is its head of state and is represented by the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta. The premier picks a cabinet, usually from the elected members of the Legislative Assembly, to form the Executive Council of Alberta, and presides over that body.

Members are elected to the legislature during general elections or by-elections. Barring special legislation occasioned by a war or an emergency (which has never happened in Alberta's history, although it has federally), general elections must be called by the Lieutenant-Governor, at the Premier's advice, no later than five years after the previous election, but the premier may ask (and almost always has asked) for dissolution of the legislative assembly and a subsequent election earlier than that. And in fact under current fixed-election legislation, a general election will be held on a day (by custom, a Monday) between March 1 and May 31, 2019, and in the same three-month period in every fourth calendar year thereafter.

An election may also happen if the governing party loses the confidence of the legislature, by the defeat of a supply bill or tabling of a confidence motion, but in Alberta's history of massive majorities in the assembly, this has not happened yet in the province's history.

A leader of a party is chosen by the party, following an internal constitution unique to each party that comprises a framework to elect or appoint a leader. The leader, if he or she does not already have a seat, must then win a seat in a by-election or general election to sit in the Assembly. If a leader of a party does not have a seat, he or she must sit in the legislature gallery. While sitting in the gallery a premier cannot exercise any legislative powers.

Prior to 1905, Alberta was part of the North-West Territories and was governed by the Lieutenant-Governors of the North-West Territories until 1897, and the Premier of the North-West Territories from 1897 to 1905. Since 1905, Alberta has had four political party dynasties.

Liberal Premiers

  • Alexander Cameron Rutherford (2 September 1905 to 26 May 1910)
  • Arthur Sifton (26 May 1910 to 30 Oct 1917)
  • Charles Stewart (30 October 1917 to 13 August 1921)

United Farmers of Alberta Premiers

  • Herbert Greenfield (13 August 1921 to 23 November 1925)
  • John Edward Brownlee (23 November 1925 to 10 July 1934)
  • Richard Gavin Reid (10 July 1934 to 3 September 1935)

Social Credit Premiers

  • William Aberhart (3 September 1935 to 23 May 1943)
  • Ernest Manning (31 May 1943 to 12 December 1968)
  • Harry Strom (12 December 1968 to 10 September 1971)

Progressive Conservative Premiers

  • Peter Lougheed (10 September 1971 to 1 November 1985)
  • Don Getty (1 November 1985 to 13 December 1992)
  • Ralph Klein (14 December 1992 to 14 December 2006)
  • Ed Stelmach (14 December 2006 to 7 October 2011)
  • Alison Redford (7 October 2011 to 23 March 2014)
  • Dave Hancock (23 March 2014 to 15 September 2014)
  • Jim Prentice (15 September to 23 May 2015)

New Democratic Party Premiers