Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

President pro tempore of the United States Senate

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Warren Magnuson, U.S. Senator (1905 - 1989)
    Warren Grant Magnuson, a Representative and a Senator from Washington; born in Moorhead, Clay County, Minn., April 12, 1905; attended the public schools, the University of North Dakota at Grand Forks...
  • William P. Frye, U.S. Senator (1830 - 1911)
    William Pierce Frye (September 2, 1830 – August 8, 1911) was an American politician from the U.S. state of Maine. Frye spent most of his political career as a legislator, serving in the Maine House o...
  • Augustus O. Bacon, U.S. Senator (1839 - 1914)
    Augustus Octavius Bacon (October 20, 1839 – February 14, 1914) was a U.S. politician. He served as a Democratic Party senator from Georgia. Biography Augustus Octavius Bacon was born in Bryan...
  • Henry Cabot Lodge, U.S. Senator (1850 - 1924)
    Henry Cabot Lodge (May 12, 1850 – November 9, 1924) was an American statesman, a Republican politician, and a noted historian from Massachusetts. While the title was not official, he is considered to...
  • Frank B. Brandegee, U.S. Senator (1864 - 1924)
    Brandegee, Hon. Frank Bosworth, United States senator, lawyer, and one of the most prominent Republicans in Connecticut, was born in New London, Connecticut, July 8th, 1864. He is a descendant of Jac...

President pro tempore of the United States Senate

The President pro tempore (/ˌproʊ ˈtɛmpəriː/ or /ˌproʊ ˈtɛmpəreɪ/), also president pro tem, is the second-highest-ranking official of the United States Senate. The United States Constitution states that the Vice President of the United States is the President of the Senate, despite not being a senator, and that the Senate must choose a president pro tempore. Since 1890, the most senior senator in the majority party has generally been chosen to be president pro tempore; this tradition has been observed without interruption since 1949.

During the Vice President's absence, the president pro tempore is empowered to preside over Senate sessions. In practice, neither the Vice President nor the President pro tempore usually presides; instead, the duty of presiding officer is rotated among junior senators of the majority party to give them experience in parliamentary procedure.

The president pro tempore is third in the line of succession to the presidency, after the Vice President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Following the death of Daniel Inouye on December 17, 2012, Patrick Leahy, a Democrat and senior senator from Vermont, was elected to the position by unanimous consent.

List of Presidents pro tempore of the United States Senate