Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Shortland Street Actors

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 39


  • Temuera Derek Morrison
    Temuera Derek Morrison (born December 26, 1960) is a New Zealand actor. He has become one of the country's most famous stars for his roles as the abusive Jake "the Muss" Heke in 1994's Once Were Warrio...
  • Robyn Malcolm
    Robyn Malcolm (born 1965)[1][2] is a New Zealand television and theatre actress. She has appeared in numerous New Zealand TV shows and has toured New Zealand with a number of theatre productions. Mal...
  • Angela Marie Dotchin
    Angela Marie Dotchin (born 31 March 1974 in Auckland, New Zealand) is an actress best most known for her roles as Kirsty Knight in Shortland Street, and as Emilia Rothschild in Jack of All Trades and f...
  • Karl Heinz Urban
    Karl-Heinz Urban (born 7 June 1972) is a New Zealand actor. His career began with appearances in New Zealand films and TV series such as Xena: Warrior Princess. His first Hollywood role was in the 2002...

Shortland Street is a New Zealand prime-time soap opera centring on the fictitious Shortland Street Hospital, first broadcast on TVNZ 2 on 25 May 1992. It is the country's longest-running drama and soap opera, being broadcast continuously for over 6,000 episodes and 25 years, and is one of the most watched television programmes in New Zealand.

The show was originally screened as five half-hour episodes each week and initially receiving mixed reviews on its premiere. After its launch it dropped in ratings and would have been cancelled if TVNZ had not ordered a year's worth of episodes in advance. TVNZ renewed the production in early 1993 when the show's rating had picked up, and it now has "long-term public enthusiasm". Today, it is one of New Zealand's highest-rated shows, frequently making AGB Nielsen Media Research's top 5 programmes of the week.


  • Genre: Medical drama/Soap opera
  • Created by: Bettina Hollings, Caterina De Nave & Jason Daniel
  • Directed by: Oliver Driver, Kiel McNaughton, Katherine McRae, Ian Hughes, Richard Barr & Geoff Cawthorn
  • Starring: Ensemble cast
  • Opening theme: Graham Bollard
  • Ending theme: Graham Bollard; originally sung by Tina Cross
  • Country of origin: New Zealand
  • No. of seasons: 25 (as of 29 September 2017)
  • No. of episodes: 6,357 (as of 13 October 2017)
  • Running time 30 minutes (inc. adverts)

Production company(s) South Pacific Pictures, Grund* y Television, FremantleMedia Australia

  • Distributor TVNZ
  • Original release 25 May 1992 – Present

Current cast members

  • Michael Galvin (Chris Warner; 1992–1996, 2000–present)
  • Lukas Whiting (Finn Warner; 2016–present)
    • an uncredited actor portrayed Finn in 1993 before Lukas Whiting took over the role in 2016
  • Luke Patrick (Frank Warner; 2016–present)
    • an uncredited actor portrayed Frank in 1993 before Luke Patrick took over the role in 2016
  • Lucy Lovegrove (Sass Warner; 2016–present)
    • an uncredited actor portrayed Sass in 1993 before Lucy Lovegrove took over the role in 2016
  • Pua Magasiva (Vinnie Kruse-Miller; 2003–2006, 2011–present)
  • Benjamin Mitchell (TK Samuels; 2006–present)
  • Sally Martin (Nicole Kruse-Miller; 2009–present)
  • Jennifer Ludlam (Leanne Black; 2010–2011, 2014–present)
  • Sam Bunkall (Boyd Rolleston; 2012–present)
  • Kerry-Lee Dewing (Kylie Brown; 2012–present)
  • Ria Vandervis (Harper Whitley; 2013–present)
  • Reuben Milner (Jack Hannah; 2014–present)
  • Jarod Rawiri (Mo Hannah; 2015–present)
  • Jayden Daniels (Curtis Hannah; 2015–present)
  • Ben Barrington (Drew McCaskill; 2015–present)
  • Tane Williams (Ali Karim; 2015–present)
  • Ngahuia Piripi (Esther Samuels; 2015–present)
  • Laurel Devenie (Kate Nathan; 2016–present)
  • Tash Keddy (Blue Nathan; 2016–present)
  • Lionel Wellington (Leroy Raumati; 2016–present)
  • Rebekah Palmer (Dawn Robinson; 2017–present)
  • Reid Walker (Harry Warner; 2009–present)
    • Henry Williams, Callum Campbell Ross & Joshua Thompson previously portrayed Harry Warner at different times between 2002 and 2009 before Reid Walker took over the role in 2009
  • Leila Eketone (Tillie Potts; 2012–present)
    • Nalani Rose Tuhoe & Nathan Anderson previously portrayed Tillie Potts between 2011 & 2012 before Leila Eketone took over the role in 2012).
  • Feleti Aulika (Pele Kruse-Miller; 2014–present)
  • Grant Lobban (Damo Johnson: 2015–present)
  • Serena Cotton (Virginia McCaskill; 2015–present)
  • Zoe Fong (Lilly Flores; 2016–present)

Original cast members

  • Paul Gittins (Dr. Michael McKenna; 1992–95, 1997, 1998–99)
  • Michael Galvin (Dr. Chris Warner; 1992–96, 2000—present)
  • Stephanie Wilkin (Dr. Meredith Fleming; 1992–93, 1994)
  • Temuera Morrison (Dr. Hone Ropata; 1992–95, 2008)
  • Lisa Crittenden (Nurse Carrie Burton; 1992–93)
  • Nancy Brunning (Nurse Jaki Manu; 1992–94)
  • Andrew Binns (Nurse Steve Mills; 1992–94)
  • Rene Naufahu (Paramedic Sam Aleni; 1992–96, 2014)
  • Danielle Cormack (Nurse Alison Raynor; 1992–93)
  • Adrian Keeling (Paramedic Tom Neilson; 1992–93)
  • Martin Henderson (Stuart Neilson; 1992–95, 2017)
  • Elizabeth McRae (Marjorie Neilson; 1992–96, 1998, 2002, 2012, 2017)
  • Angela Dotchin (Kirsty Knight; 1992–98)
  • Maggie Harper (Jenny Harrison; 1992–98, 2002)
  • Karl Burnett (Nick Harrison; 1992–2005, 2017)
  • Josephine Davison (Gina Rossi-Dodds; 1992–95)

Notable cast members

  • Temuera Morrison
  • Martin Henderson
  • Robyn Malcolm
  • Karl Urban
  • Marton Csokas
  • Kieren Hutchison
  • Kimberley Crossman
  • Danielle Cormack
  • Sally Martin
  • K.J. Apa
  • Craig Parker
  • Manu Bennett
  • Anna Hutchison
  • Robbie Magasiva
  • Pua Magasiva
  • Rose McIver
  • Dean O'Gorman
  • Antony Starr
  • Duane Evans Jr.
  • Anna Jullienne
  • Peter Elliott
  • Tandi Wright
  • John Leigh
  • Olivia Tennet


Executive producer(s)

  • Don Reynolds
  • Alan Coleman
  • Caterina De Nave
  • Rachel Lang
  • Tony Holden
  • Simon Bennett
  • John Barnett


  • Caterina De Nave (1992)
  • Brian Lennane (1992–93)
  • Tony Holden (1994–95)
  • Gavin Srawhan (1995–96)
  • Alan Coleman (1995)
  • Judith Trye (1996–97)
  • Lisa Page (2000–01)
  • Harriet Crampton (2001–05)
  • Katie Wolfe (2005)
  • Jason Daniel (2005–08)
  • Steven Zanoski (2009–13)
  • Simon Bennett (1997–2000, 2013–2016)
  • Maxine Fleming (2016–)