Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Bill Haslam, Governor of Tennessee
    William Edward "Bill" Haslam (born August 23, 1958) is an American politician who is the 49th and current Governor of Tennessee. A member of the Republican Party, Haslam was elected Governor in 2010 ...
  • Lamar Alexander, Governor, U.S. Senator and Secretary of Education
    Andrew Lamar Alexander (born July 3, 1940) is the senior United States Senator from Tennessee and Conference Chair of the Republican Party. He was previously the 45th Governor of Tennessee from 1979 ...
  • Capt. Gordon W. Browning, Governor (1889 - 1976)
    Gordon Weaver Browning (November 22, 1889 – May 23, 1976) was an American politician who served as Governor of Tennessee from 1937 to 1939, and again from 1949 to 1953. He also served six terms in th...
  • General Samuel Rutherford Houston, of the Texas Army, Won Battle of San Jacinto, Statesman, soldier (1793 - 1863)
    Sam Houston lived twice among the Cherokees, who first nicknamed him "The Raven,' then, during a low point in his life, "Big Drunk." He had a Cherokee wife and she is buried at Fort Gibson National Cem...
  • Gov. Edward H. East (1830 - 1904)
    East was born in Davidson County, Tennessee, one of ten children of Edward Hyde East and Cecelia Buchanan East. His paternal grandfather, Benjamin East, had migrated from England in the 18th century....

The governor's term in office is limited by the Tennessee state constitution. The first constitution, enacted in 1796, set a term of two years for the governor and provided that no person could serve as governor for more than six years in any eight-year period. The term of office was lengthened to four years, without the possibility of consecutive terms, by constitutional amendments adopted in 1953. Under the current provisions of the state constitution, as amended in 1978, the governor is elected to a four-year term and may serve no more than two terms consecutively.

For a period of nearly five decades in the 20th century, the Tennessee Democratic Party held the Tennessee governorship continuously. However, since 1967 no two successive governors have belonged to the same party.

Governors of Tennessee

List of governors of Tennessee