Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The 8 Cheshire Baronies created by Hugh Lupus

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Sir Robert de Stokeport, Baron of Stockport (c.1160 - c.1239)
    Cheetham, F. H. (1904) Haddon Hall: An Illustrated Account of the Fabric and its History . London: Sherritt & Hughes, p. 18. Google Books Robert married Maud (Matilda) DE BANASTRE, daughter of Robe...
  • Ralph De Monte Alto, 4th Baron of Chester (c.1050 - c.1141)
    The name of Montealt, Monte Alto, Mohaut, or Moivat, was first assumed by Robert, son of Ralph, baron to one of the Norman earls (Hugh d'Avranches (Lupus), died 1101 - the first Earl of Chester and one...
  • Hugh Fitz Norman De Monte Alto "Muhaut", 2nd Baron of Chester (c.1045 - 1130)
    Hugh FitzNorman , held of Hugh (d'Avranches), Earl of Chester, lands in Cheshire (Lawton, etc.), Yorks, Lincs, and Suffolk (a). With his brother Ralph he gave their share of Lostock to the abbey of St....
  • Niel /Nigel de Cotentin, Lord of Halton, Constable of Chester (aft.1030 - 1080)
    concerns Note from curator Pam Wilson: After much research on this very speculative family's origins, I am placing William FitzNigel as the son of Nigel of Cotentin (*not* one of the Neel de Saint-Sa...
  • Richard de Vernon, seigneur de Reviers (1060 - 1107)
    William's son Richard de Vernon, Seigneur de Reviers, Vernon, and Néhou was known to have fought at the Battle of Hastings along with his brother Walter, for which he was rewarded with lands in Cheshir...

Earl Hugh created several hereditary baronies. His first barons were:

Biography of Earl Hugh:

A county palatine or palatinate[1] was an area ruled by a hereditary nobleman possessing special authority and autonomy from the rest of a kingdom or empire. The name derives from the Latin adjective palatinus, "relating to the palace", from the noun palatium, "palace".[2][3] It thus implies the exercise of a quasi-royal prerogative within a county, that is to say a jurisdiction ruled by an earl, the English equivalent of a count. A duchy palatinate is similar but is ruled over by a duke, a nobleman of higher precedence than an earl or count. The nobleman swore allegiance to the king yet had the power to rule the county largely independently of the king. It should therefore be distinguished from the feudal barony, held from the king, which possessed no such independent authority. Rulers of counties palatine did however create their own feudal baronies, to be held directly from them in capite, such as the Barony of Halton.[4] County palatine jurisdictions were created in England under the rule of the Norman dynasty. On continental Europe, they have an earlier date. In general, when a palatine-type autonomy was granted to a lord by the sovereign, it was in a district on the periphery of the kingdom, at a time when the district was at risk from disloyal armed insurgents who could retreat beyond the borders and re-enter. For the English sovereign in Norman times this applied to northern England, Wales and Ireland. As the authority granted was hereditary, some counties palatine legally survived well past the end of the feudal period.

Profiles of the Barons and the history of the Principate.

List of Cstles in Cheshire:

Family names:

Barons Malpas ( St. Pierre, Malpas, Brereton)

Barons Kinderton ( Venables, Duttons)

Barons Shipbrook (de Vernon, Vernon)

Barons Dunham Massy (de Masci, Massey, baguley, Baggiley )

Barons Nantwich (Malbank, de Praers, Fouleshurst, Cholmondeley, Bostock, De Warin)

Barons Halton ( de Lacey, Bolingbroke)

Rhuddlan and Mold ( Edwin, Llewellyn ap Gruffyd, Mostyn, de Praers, Percy, Brereton)

Stockport was the first Barony created. ( de Stockport, Warren, Baguley, de Cheadle, de Hyde, de Baggyley, de Dene, Despenser, de Honford, de Offerton, de Bromhale, de Montalt, de Eaton, de Ardern. Eustace de Montalt was the first Baron appointed by Hugh Lupus.



Barons Durham

William the Conqueror founded the County Palatine of Durham, ruled by the Prince-bishops of Durham and the County Palatine of Chester, ruled by the Earls of Chester. Chester had its own parliament, consisting of barons of the county, and was not represented in the parliament of England until 1543,[5] while it retained some of its special privileges until 1830. The earldom of Chester has since 1301 been associated with the title of Prince of Wales which is reserved for the heir apparent to the throne or crown of the UK (or the throne of England, as it was then).

Update: there may have been 9 original baronies. See the photo from Brereton Hall.