Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The Tragedy of the 11th World Scout Jamboree

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • Ramon Valdes Albano (1947 - 1963)
    Ramon "Chito" Valdes Albano was born on 3 September 1947. He was the the fifth child and fifth son of eleven children of Dr. Paulino E. Albano and Dr. Pilar Valdes-Albano. The couple owned and managed ...
  • Patricio Dulay Bayoran, Jr. (1944 - 1963)
    Patricio "Tec" Dulay Bayoran Jr. was an Explorer Scout from the Pasay City Council; and was a senior patrol leader.  The Bayoran Memorial, erected in Manapla, Negros Occidental, also bears the names of...
  • Roberto Corpus Castor (1949 - 1963)
    Roberto "Bontsie" Corpus Castor was born on 28 April 1949. He was a First Class Scout from the Quezon City Council. He was among the members of the Philippine delegation to the 11th World Scout Jambore...
  • Jose Agcaoili Martinez (deceased)
    Rev. Fr. Jose Agcaoili Martinez, S.J., Assistant Scoutmaster and Chaplain, Misamis Oriental Council, was among those who perished in the crash that killed the Philippine delegation to the 11th World Sc...

The 11th World Scouts Jamboree was held at Marathon, Greece in August 1963. The Philippine contingent, boy scouts from ages 14 to 19, represented the best of the generation and the idealism of the Philippine youth.

On 28 July 1963, the Eqypt Air jetliner that was carrying the Filipinos crashed on approach to Bombay Airport into the Indian Ocean. Their bodies were never recovered. Three Filipino scouts were sent as a token delegation, days after the tragedy.

In remembrance of the scouts and scouters, a cenotaph* was erected outside the Manila North Cemetery in the Philippines the year after the accident. Streets in Quezon City's Barangay Obrero, Laging Handa ("Always Prepared", the Scouts' Motto) and Paligsahan, bear the names of the fallen. A monument for the Scouts was erected at the rotunda on the tip of Tomas, Morato in Quezon City. For a complete list of memorials to the scouts, please refer to this Google map.

More here:

The Scouts

  1. Ramon V. Albano, Air Scout, Manila Council
  2. Patricio D. Bayoran Jr., Explorer Scout, Pasay City Council
  3. Gabriel N. Borromeo, Air Scout, Manila Council - Born 24 March 1949
  4. Roberto C. Castor, First Class Scout, Quezon City Council
  5. Henry C. Chuatoco, Explorer Scout, Manila Council - Born 16 September 1945
  6. Victor O. de Guia Jr., First Class Scout, Baguio Benguet Council
  7. Jose Antonio C. Delgado, Life Scout, Manila Council - Born 11 August 1949
  8. Felix P. Fuentebhella Jr., First Class Scout, Camarines Sur Council - Born 19 July 1948
  9. Pedro H. Gandia, Star Scout, Manila Council - Born 06 February 1948
  10. Antonio M. Limbaga, First Class Scout, Zamboanga City Council - Born 14 June 1948
  11. Roberto P. Lozano, First Class Scout, Dagupan City Council - Born 7 February 1944
  12. Paulo C. Madrinan, Explorer Scout, Pasay City Council - Born 26 January 1943
  13. Jose Fermin G. Magbanua, First Class Scout, Negros Oriental Council
  14. Romeo R. Rallos, Star Scout, Quezon City Council - Born 22 April 1946
  15. Filamer S. Reyes, Explorer Scout, Cavite Council - Born 16 June 1942
  16. Wilfredo M. Santiago, Star Scout, Manila Council - Born 28 May 1949
  17. Benecio S. Tobias, First Class Scout, Tarlac Council - 23 August 1946
  18. Antonio R. Torillo, Eagle Scout, Cavite Council - 10 July 1946
  19. Ascario A Tuason Jr, Star Scout, Manila Council - Born 28 November 1947
  20. Rogelio C. Ybardolaza, First Class Scout, Quezon City Council - Born 9 September 1946

The Scouters

  1. Liberato Fernandez - Assistant Scoutmaster
  2. Bonifacio V. Lazcano - Scoutmaster and Physician, Manila Council
  3. Jose Agcaoili Martinez - Jesuit Chaplain, Misamis Oriental Council
  4. Florante Ojeda Jr. - the oldest Scouter in the delegation

The Token Delegation

  1. Guillermo Flores
  2. Louis Santiago
  3. Nicasio Fernandez