Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Trinity College, Cambridge

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • John Arthur James, MVO (1853 - 1917)
    ) John Arthur James, MVO DL (1853-1917) was the son of a wealthy Liverpool merchant who became a friend of the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII), sharing his interest in horse racing. In 1885 h...
  • Brig. General Thomas Walter Brand, 3rd Vicount Hampden of Glynde (1869 - 1958)
    Brig.-Gen. Thomas Walter Brand, 3rd Viscount Hampden of Glynde Born on 29 January 1869. Son of Henry Robert Brand, 2nd Viscount Hampden of Glynde and Susan Henrietta Cavendish. Married Lady Kat...
  • Lt. Col. David Francis Brand, 5th Viscount Hampden of Glynde (1902 - 1975)
    'Lt.-Col. David Francis Brand, 5th Viscount Hampden of Glynde1 'M, #37179, b. 14 June 1902, d. 4 September 1975 Last Edited=21 Dec 2011 Consanguinity Index=0.24% ' Lt.-Col. David Francis Brand,...
  • Dr. Michael Samuel Neuberger (1953 - 2013)
    Michael Samuel Neuberger FRS (2 November 1953 - 26 October 2013) was a British biochemist and immunologist. Born in London, he was educated at Westminster School, and then read Natural Sciences at ...
  • Professor Anthony John Neuberger
    Anthony Neuberger is an academic in the United Kingdom, currently Professor of Finance at the University of Warwick.

Trinity College is a constituent college of the University of Cambridge in England.

The college was founded by Henry VIII, King of England in 1546, from the merger of two existing colleges: Michaelhouse (founded by Hervey de Stanton in 1324), and King's Hall (established by Edward II, king of England in 1317 and refounded by Edward III of England in 1337). At the time, Henry had been seizing church lands from abbeys and monasteries. The universities of Oxford and Cambridge, being both religious institutions and quite rich, expected to be next in line. The king duly passed an Act of Parliament that allowed him to suppress (and confiscate the property of) any college he wished. The universities used their contacts to plead with his sixth wife, Queen Catherine Parr, Queen consort of England and Ireland. The queen persuaded her husband not to close them down, but to create a new college. The king did not want to use royal funds, so he instead combined two colleges (King's Hall and Michaelhouse) and seven hostels (Physwick (formerly part of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge), Gregory's, Ovyng's, Catherine's, Garratt, Margaret's, and Tyler's) to form Trinity.

Trinity alumni include six British prime ministers (all Tory or Whig/Liberal), physicists Sir Isaac Newton, James Clerk Maxwell, Ernest Rutherford, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1908 and Niels Bohr, Nobel Prize in Physics, 1922, mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan, the poet George Gordon Byron, 6th Baron Byron, philosophers Ludwig Josef Johann Wittgenstein and Bertrand Russell, 3rd Earl Russell, Nobel Prize in Literature 1950 (whom it expelled before reaccepting), and Soviet spies Kim Philby, Guy Burgess and Anthony Blunt.

Two members of the British royal family have studied at Trinity and been awarded degrees as a result: Prince William of Gloucester and Edinburgh, who gained an MA in 1790, and Prince Charles, who was awarded a lower second class BA in 1970. Other royal family members have studied there without obtaining degrees, including King Edward VII, King George VI, and Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester.

Masters of Trinity College

Links and Sources