Start your family tree now Is your surname Bhatnagar?
There are already 591 users and 3,374 genealogy profiles with the Bhatnagar surname on Geni. Explore Bhatnagar genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Bhatnagar Genealogy and Bhatnagar Family History Information

‹ Back to Surnames Index

Create your Family Tree.
Discover your Family History.

  • Build your family tree online
  • Share photos and videos
  • Smart Matching™ technology
  • Free!
view all


About the Bhatnagar surname

'Kāyastha or Kayasth (Hindi: कायस्थ)'

Kayasth is a caste/ethnic-group of India. They are the only sect who are referred to as direct descendants of a Vedic God in the religious texts and the only ancestor worshipping sect of Hinduism also called Chitranshi/Devputra. They are said, in the Vedas and Puranas, to have a dual-caste status i.e. Brahmin and Kshatriya. They are mainly spread across North India and are a sub-sect of Brahmins whose ancient profession was writing.

The Kayastha trace their genealogy from Lord Chitragupta. It is said that after Lord Brahma had created the four Varnas (Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and Shudras), Yama (Dharamraj) requested Lord Brahma to help him record the deeds, both good and evil, of men and to administer justice.

According to the scriptures, Lord Brahma went into meditation for 11,000 years and when he opened his eyes he saw a man holding a pen and ink-pot in his hands, as well as a sword girdled to his waist. Lord Brahma spoke: Thou hast been created from my body (Kaya); therefore, shall thy progeny be known as the Kayasthas. Thou hast been conceived in my mind (Chitra) and in secrecy (gupta); thy name shall also be Chitragupta. Brahma then enjoined him to dispense justice and punish those who violated the dharma. Thus, the Kayasthas were accorded a dual caste, Brahman/Kshatriya.

Shree Chitraguptaji married Devi Nandani and Devi Shobhavati and had twelve divine Sons. The 12 Sons started the 12 main branches of Brahma Kayastha.

Sons of Devi Shobhavati/Iravati

  1. Charu (Mathur), Sucharu (Gaur)
  2. Chitraksh (Bhatnagar)
  3. Matimaan (Saxena)
  4. Himvaan (Ambashth)
  5. Chitracharu (Nigam)
  6. Aruncharu (Karna)
  7. Jitendra (Kulshreshtha)

Sons of Devi Nandani/Sudakhina

  1. Shribhanu(Srivastava)
  2. Vibhanu (Suryadhwaj)
  3. Vishwabhanu (Valmiki)
  4. Viryabhanu (Asthana)

=Chitraksh (Bhatnagar):=

He was a disciple of sage Bhat, was married to Devi Bhadrakalini and worshipped Devi Jayanti. Maharaj Chitraguptji sent Shree Chitraksh to establish a Kingdom in the region of Bhat river at Bhattdesh and Malwa.They established Chittor and Chitrakoot He settled then there and his progeny came to be known as Bhatnagar. They are divided into 84 Als. 

By Atul Bhatnagar