Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Distinguished Flying Cross (U.S.)

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Major General Willis H. Hale (1893 - 1961)
    Hale commanded the Air Force detachment at Midway during the historic battle. Succeeding to command of 7 Air Force after its commander, Clarence Tinker, went missing in action in a raid on Wake, ...
  • Charles Tilden Grenat (1916 - 1942)
    Charles Tilden Grenat was a World War Two Naval Enlisted Aircrewman who died in the Battle of Midway in 1942. His pilot was Eugene E. Lindsey (July 2, 1905 – June 4, 1942). Lindsey was an officer and...
  • Frank E. Zelnis (1917 - 1995)
    United States Marine Corps Sargent back seat gunner for Marine Corps Pilot 2nd Lieutenant Allen Ringblom in the Battle of Midway. On June 5 1942 they were in Captain Richard Fleming's unit attacking fl...
  • Meade T. Johnson (1920 - 1991)
    Possibly the rear seat gunner for Marine Corps pilot Captain Elmer G. Glidden, Jr. on June 5, 1942 when Captain Marshall Tyler's Marine Corp SBD's attacked several Japanese capital ships near Midway. ...
  • Wallace Jordan Reid (c.1920 - d.)
    Back seat gunner for Pilot 1st Lieutenant USMCR Daniel Iverson, Jr. on June 5, 1942 in an attack on fleeing Japanese cruisers. from the Battle of Midway. Iverson was given the Navy Cross and the Silver...

This project is for the U.S. Distinguished Flying Cross. For the British Distinguished Flying Cross, see here. For the similarly-named U.S. Distinguished Service Cross, see here.

The Distinguished Flying Cross is a U.S. military decoration awarded to any officer or enlisted member of the United States Armed Forces who distinguishes himself or herself in support of operations by "heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in an aerial flight, subsequent to November 11, 1918.

The Distinguished Flying Cross was authorized by Section 12 of the Air Corps Act enacted by the United States Congress on July 2, 1926, as amended by Executive Order 7786 on January 8, 1938. This act provided for award “to any person, while serving in any capacity with the Air Corps of the Army of the United States, including the National Guard and the Organized Reserves, or with the United States Navy, since the 6th day of April 1917, has distinguished, or who, after the approval of this Act, distinguishes himself, or herself by heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in an aerial flight.