Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Georgia General Assembly

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Uriah Irwin Bulloch (1808 - 1854)
    Uriah Irwin Bullock, soldier, was born in Georgia in 1808, the son of Batson and Comfort (Turner) Bullock. In 1835 Bullock was living in Macon, Georgia; he helped organize the Georgia Battalion for the...
  • Thomas Edward Blackshear (1809 - 1867)
    Thomas Edward Blackshear, planter, soldier, and politician, was born in Montgomery County, Georgia, on August 18, 1809, the son of Edward and Emily (Mitchell) Blackshear. During the 1820s he moved with...
  • Colonel Charles J. Williams (CSA) (1821 - 1862)
    Charles J. Williams married Mary Ann Howard in 1847 when he returned from the Mexican–American War. Mary Ann had presented his regiment with a flag made by the ladies of the city when they left in 1846...
  • John Woodward Sognier (1919 - 2013)
    WOODWARD SOGNIER is a native of Savannah, Ga. He was born December 17, 1919, to Joseph W. Sognier and Viola Trott Sognier, both also natives of Savannah. Judge Sognier was educated in the public school...
  • Lucius Q. C. Lamar, US Senator, US Sec'y of the Interior, Justice US Sup. Ct (1825 - 1893)
    Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar (September 17, 1825 – January 23, 1893) was an American politician and jurist from Mississippi. A United States Representative and Senator, he also served as United States Sec...

The Georgia General Assembly is the state legislature of the U.S. State of Georgia. It is bicameral, consisting of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Each of the General Assembly's 236 members serve two-year terms and are directly elected by constituents of their district. The Georgia State Constitution vests all legislative power with the General Assembly. Both houses have similar powers, though each has unique duties as well. For example, the origination of appropriations bills only occurs in the House, while the Senate is tasked with confirmation of the Governor's appointments.

The General Assembly, which is the legislative branch of the state's government, was created in 1777 during the American Revolution—it is older than the U.S. Congress. During its existence the Assembly has moved four different times when the state capital changed its location. The first location the Assembly served in was Savannah, then Augusta and Louisville, moving from there to Milledgeville, and finally to Atlanta in 1868.