Thomas Gunn of Amelia Co., Virginia - Thomas Gunn of Amelia County, Virginia

Started by Hatte Anne Blejer on Friday, January 9, 2015
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Related Projects:

Showing all 10 posts
1/9/2015 at 10:18 PM

Do any of the experts from Virginia want to take on this family. I found them attached via a string of mythical ancestors to Dr. Jasper Gunn of pre-Revolutionary New England and detached them.

I haven't looked below the first generation to see if the Gunns of Virginia are already represented elsewhere in the WFT on Geni although I saw one standalone tree.

1/9/2015 at 10:19 PM

Donald Franklin Colvin Private User

I have added a link that seems sensible with good research on the earliest generation (Thomas and Sarah Boatwright and their children).

1/10/2015 at 12:41 AM

Hatte Anne Blejer and Private User

I've got no experience with Master Profiles, but I guess I've got to start somewhere...

1/10/2015 at 9:54 AM

The Gunns should be MPs as early Virginians although I only used one source and have not yet checked the parents / children / spouses to make sure they are all complete and correct. That one link seems to have listed all of the available information for Thomas Gunn.

I'm guessing that there are Gunn descendants on Geni considering the number of descendants they are said to have.

Private User
1/10/2015 at 8:44 PM

Donald has accepted the challenge and will curate the Gunn family. I'm on stand-by if he has any problems. We've already got a good dialogue going on as he gets started.

One of the Gunns married into the Boatwright family and I did tons of work on them, with excellent sources. I'm sure the sources for that particular generation will give us more information on the Gunn family. The Boatwrights have a well-developed family association, and they have developed documentation of the early members of the family.

1/10/2015 at 9:05 PM