Jacob Mantle - Jacob Mantle

Started by Private User on Sunday, April 19, 2020
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Showing all 2 posts
Private User
4/19/2020 at 6:19 PM

Jacob Mantle married Bethiah Langrell Hills on 9/13/1787. Is there any information on where Jacob came from, other than born @1755 in New London, CT?

6/15/2022 at 4:03 PM

I have been researching this Jacob Mantle I for over 40 years and can get nowhere. This is what I have. Do you have a document stating he was born in 1755 in New London, CT?

We first see him in 1785 buying land in Lebanon , CT. He marries Bethiah Langrill/Langrel Hills in Lebanon in 1787 and has children. His wife and children are baptized in the Goshen Congregational Church. He continues to buy and sell land in Lebanon and then disappears after 1830.

So we only see him in Lebanon , CT , and he is a mystery prior to 1785 and after 1830. His wife, Bethiah, dies and is widowed in 1850 in Watertown , NY .

The Lebanon Historical Society gave me what they could find.

Oral history has the Mantle family coming from England in 1685 (but I wouldn't rule out Scotland ) and settling in MA. Later drifting to CT, then Jefferson County , NY (around Ellisburgh) and then to Lewis County, NY, Harrisville in 1825.

This was part of the message I received from the Lebanon Historical Society with the results of their research: