Regions, districts, towns, villages

Started by Jonathan Feig on Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Showing all 6 posts
11/2/2016 at 10:22 AM

I'll try this here also;
I have recently learned here on Geni that my family comes from Podboransky Rohozec/Deutschen Rust. (I always knew my grandfather was born in Prague...)
I am just getting started here so forgive me if this is ignorant. But sometimes its listed in Blsany/Flöhau. And sometimes it say Louny District.
I had guessed initially that Podboransky Rohozec was a village on the township of Blsany which thus existed as part of the larger district of Louny.
Is this entirely innacurate? Partially correct?
What is the relationship of these three places; Podboransky Rohozec, Blsany and Louny to each other?
Thanks,
Jonathan

11/2/2016 at 11:45 AM

Hi Jonathan. I try it. When nobody knows where he was born, he writes in Prague :-D
Podbořanský Rohozec (population 150), Blsany - villages and town Louny are differents places in Louny District, Usti Region. Podbořanský Rohozec and Blšany are very nearly.
Blsany are but two in this district. Blsany and second Blsany u Loun.
First nearly P.Rohozez and second nearly Louny.
Maybe help birth indexs. No jewish are her: http://vademecum.soalitomerice.cz/vademecum/index.jsp

Regards.

Martin

11/2/2016 at 4:01 PM

Thanks Martin.
I just looked at a map also.
I think I understand.
I have found my grandfather's birth record on the Badatelna from Vinohrady so he was actually born in Prague. Haha. ;)
I found HIS father's birth record from Blsany but I forgot to save the link so I'm not sure which Blsany it is though probably by Podboransky Rohozec since that was where HIS father was from. (Great-grandfather died in Prague too. That we know.)
Hopefully I will find time to visit the Czech Republic and see all this stuff up close.