Angela Du Maurier

Is your surname Du Maurier?

Research the Du Maurier family

Angela Du Maurier's Geni Profile

Share your family tree and photos with the people you know and love

  • Build your family tree online
  • Share photos and videos
  • Smart Matching™ technology
  • Free!


Related Projects

Angela Du Maurier

Birthdate: (97)
Death: February 5, 2002 (97)
Immediate Family:

Daughter of Sir Gerald Du Maurier and Muriel Beaumont
Sister of Dame Daphne du Maurier, DBE and Jeanne Du Maurier

Managed by: Private User
Last Updated:

About Angela Du Maurier

Angela du Maurier (1 March 1904 – 5 February 2002) was a novelist who had eleven books published in total, including two volumes of autobiography, It's Only the Sister (1951) and Old Maids Remember.

The eldest of three daughters of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and actress Muriel Beaumont (maternal niece of William Comyns Beaumont), she was born in St Pancras, London. Her grandfather was the author and Punch cartoonist George du Maurier, who created the character of Svengali in the novel Trilby. Although three years older than her better known sister Daphne, she outlived her by thirteen years.

Originally aspiring to follow the family tradition of acting, she planned to be an actress and spent two seasons on the stage. She played Wendy Darling alongside both Gladys Cooper and Dorothy Dickson as Peter Pan. She worked on the land in Cornwall during the war and travelled extensively in Europe. She later turned to writing, with the release of her earlier works coinciding with the publication of her sister's Rebecca and Jamaica Inn. Her works of fiction include The Road to Leenane, Pilgrims by the Way, The Perplexed Heart, Reveille and Treveryan. She lived at Ferryside, the family house in Cornwall, for most of her life. She died in Wandsworth, London, aged 97.

According to the British Library Angela Du Maurier wrote the following:

1939 The Perplexed Heart

1940 The Spinning Wheel

1941 The Little Less

1942 Treveryan

1946 Lawrence Vane A novel

1948 Birkinshaw and other stories

1950 Reveille

1951 It's only the Sister An autobiography

1952 Shallow Waters

1963 The Road to Leenane

1965 Old Maids Remember, Autobiography

1967 Pilgrims by the way

1969 The frailty of nature

1979 S is for sin

view all

Angela Du Maurier's Timeline

March 1, 1904
February 5, 2002
Age 97